We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$132
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Expedia.com
AU$132
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$112
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Corinne V
Perth, Australia

Great location

Review of The Commodore
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Dec 2022
Great location and it is easy to walk to the centre of town.

The rooms were neat and spacious, the toiletries were excellent.
Parking was easy.

It was good value , especially with breakfast included ( although , my husband said his poached egg had a slight vinegar tang.)
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Tripadvisor
AU$167
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Commodore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$180
  • Expedia.com
    AU$200
  • Hotels.com
    AU$200
  • Priceline
    AU$180
0.6 km from The Commodore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Great value breakfast
Booking.com
AU$102
  • Priceline
    AU$111
  • Vio.com
    AU$98
  • Expedia.com
    AU$103
1.6 km from The Commodore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Superior room: Bigger bed, better room facilities and amenities
Booking.com
AU$104
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$108
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
  • Hotels.com
    AU$105
0.8 km from The Commodore
Free parking
Pool
Outside Entrance
Booking.com
AU$154
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$154
  • Vio.com
    AU$131
  • Expedia.com
    AU$154
2.1 km from The Commodore
Free parking
Restaurant
2 Bedroom Deluxe Room -  Queen Single Single
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$110
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from The Commodore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Indoor heated pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$215
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from The Commodore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$180
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from The Commodore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
8.5 km from The Commodore
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$150
  • Priceline
2.0 km from The Commodore
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mount Gambier
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
79
121
67
17
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
121
67
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiet room visiting mt comfy bed stayed two nights centre of town motel gambier
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2022 via mobile

The good news is that they were genuinely friendly, the room was spacious and comfortable, the location is quite good and if you want to you could walk into town and the breakfast that was included was really nice and plentiful.

The bad news is the wifi was very patchy, the TV was very old and the box that enables Foxtel and casting is a little hard to use. Finally, on Sunday morning at breakfast it was a chaotic scene with a full restaurant and only a couple of servers that were really out of their depth.

Overall, it was a good stay and I’d recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank wary_trvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 September 2022

This is a very modern motel with all the necessary room facilities. The rooms are spacious and very clean.

The motel is situated on the edge of the city centre, but it is quite walkable.

When visiting Mt Gambier this motel is recommended.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahambCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Sutton, Marketing at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and for choosing The Commodore for your stay in Mount Gambier.
We hope to have the opportunity to be able to welcome you again.

Enjoy a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2022

We had a magnificent time at The Commodore recently. We had a wonderful, spacious room; as well as a very attentive bartender who helped us enjoy and choose a few pre-drink gins from their enormous selection. Dinner was fantastic, be both had amazing steak and sides, and beautiful wine. Breakfast the next morning was also lovely. I would stay here again next time I'm in the Mount, no questions.

Date of stay: June 2022
1  Thank YourFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kate Sutton, Marketing at The Commodore, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

YourFrequentFlyer, you've made our day! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to hear about your recent experience and cannot wait to welcome you again next time you're visiting Mount Gambier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2022

Regional Australia is packed with outdated motels that represent poor value. The Commodore is not one of them. Our experience here was pleasant with a price point (room rate- $167.00 per night), which was about right for this standard of place. The room was in good order and repair with quiet air conditioning and a clean, large bathroom. We stayed two nights and the room was serviced on the morning of Day Two (no longer a given in Australian motels). Car was right outside the room and the location of the motel was close enough to the C.B.D. that you could walk. One small point was that we were beside a main road, ask for a quiet room away from the busy road.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gary_Childers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2022

This room is very misleading as there is nothing grand about it at all. It's priced more than the standard room but has no balcony. What are we paying for? It is advertised as "an exceptionally spacious suite and the most premium accommodation in Mt. Gambier." The room isn't spacious at all but rather the space is wasted in a big bathroom, which doesn't even have a bath in the space. When we entered the room it appeared as though we had the wrong one as it was so unlike the website's description that we enquired at reception. They assured us that it was the grand room and when we asked for another room we were declined. Maybe it was full. I don't know but there was no attempt by staff to amend the situation.
There is one comfy chair. Where is the other person supposed to sit? There is a small table for eating with only one chair. Where is the other person supposed to sit? The website mentions large double door robes. No. Just one. The room isn't very soundproofed so unfortunately we could hear next door through the night.
Parking should be just outside the room but as it is not clearly marked, we returned from dinner to find other guests had parked in front as they were staying in the corner and their parking was opposite instead. Challenging because we had multiple bags from an extensive trip. To summarise, don't bother with a grand room because it definitely isn't.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fionah741
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews