We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Review Highlights
Getting underground in the town centre

The area is renowned for sunken gardens created by volcanic activity. This garden is in the town... read more

Reviewed 13 March 2024
KBofLB
,
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Cave Gardens in the CBD

The Gardens are well laid out with lookouts at every level. However, it appeared to be incomplete... read more

Reviewed 6 January 2024
Christine K
,
Mildura, Australia
Read all 453 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Gambier
from AU$1,795.00
More Info
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
159
178
75
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
178
75
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town light show sink hole viewing platform art gallery an easy walk worth a visit cave library steps walkway winter limestone lookout
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2024

The area is renowned for sunken gardens created by volcanic activity. This garden is in the town centre adjacent to the library and the Riddoch Art Gallery. The garden is well tended and the steps down from the street are easy to negotiate for walkers but unfortunately are a problem for the physically disabled.
This is certainly an unusual town centre attraction.

Date of experience: February 2024
Thank KBofLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

The cave looked like it was being used as local a rubbish bin. The council should be embarrassed by the presentation of its most accessible sinkhole.

Date of experience: March 2024
Thank 491JaneM491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2024

Located in the centre of Mount Gambier, the outside of this garden is fairly unassuming, though it's decorated with various flowers. Sadly, the actual cave garden is exceptionally diminutive (much smaller than the other sinkholes) and you would be done with your visit in just 5-10 minutes. The garden is also atrociously maintained, as it has been vandalised with a Coles trolley and other garbage. Overall, this is an extremely mediocre cave garden.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank 401was
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024

The Gardens are well laid out with lookouts at every level.
However, it appeared to be incomplete as work was still ongoing.
Noteworthy were some unusual trees and plants along the way.
If you are going in for a coffee to the Mt Gambier CBD do a leisurely walk to the Cave Gardens.
Detailed historical information available at the site on how it was created from a sinkhole etc

Date of experience: December 2023
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024

2 consecutive nights we went to the cave gardens and twice we were disappointed. The sound & light views were not on at all. No information regarding the cancellation of this activity. At least the authority should have informed tourists about it. So many families waited for at least 30 mins and really felt let down by the authority.

Date of experience: January 2024
Thank Lim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews