We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Getting underground in the town centre

The area is renowned for sunken gardens created by volcanic activity. This garden is in the town... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
KBofLB
,
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Cave Gardens in the CBD

The Gardens are well laid out with lookouts at every level. However, it appeared to be incomplete... read more

Reviewed 6 January 2024
Christine K
,
Mildura, Australia
Read all 453 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Gambier
from AU$1,795.00
More Info
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
159
178
75
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
178
75
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town light show sink hole viewing platform art gallery an easy walk worth a visit cave library steps walkway winter limestone lookout
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2019 via mobile

We went during the day, there was no water flowing and a trolley was at the bottom. It’s a quick must-see if you’re in the town and only takes a few minutes to see. The viewing platforms are easily accessible and I feel it would be better at night (maybe after dinner). Sinkholes are incredible, but this one is small and alternatives can be found.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank jessicatheredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

Sinkhole was cool however the garden wasn’t very nice inside the sinkhole not well maintained and there was also a trolley dumped in there. Being a garden enthusiast I found it did not live up to expectation.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Inspirashans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 October 2019

Cave Gardens is right in the city of Mount Gambier and is easy to visit. Unfortunately it is not wheelchair or pram friendly, but it is a safe, reasonable walk for children. Take time to look at teh rose gardens themselves. If you enjoy Cave Gardens, be sure to visit Umpherston.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 October 2019

Visiting in winter, this beautiful natural sinkhole right in the center of town, surrounded in manicured gardens; produces a rushing waterfall after rain . Stunning both day & night with sound & light show ; telling of the Dreamtime of local Aboriginal the Bungananditj or Boandik people; the Dreamtime images move across the cave rocks and walls

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank carolyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2019

This sinkhole garden is pretty, but doesn't rate against the one just out of town. Would be good if you could go right to the bottom.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank eliciaf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews