We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Getting underground in the town centre

The area is renowned for sunken gardens created by volcanic activity. This garden is in the town... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
KBofLB
,
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Cave Gardens in the CBD

The Gardens are well laid out with lookouts at every level. However, it appeared to be incomplete... read more

Reviewed 6 January 2024
Christine K
,
Mildura, Australia
Read all 453 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Mount Gambier
from AU$1,795.00
More Info
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
159
178
75
28
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
159
178
75
28
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town light show sink hole viewing platform art gallery an easy walk worth a visit cave library steps walkway winter limestone lookout
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I'm trying to be charitable when I give this attraction a 2. We read that there was a sound and light show each evening - turned up the first evening to find the place in total darkness, hardly any illumination even from street lights. We could just make out that the sound and light show was from 8-8:30 & 9-9:30 nightly with an aboriginal presentation at 8:30 & again later. Rather than hang around for over an hour we decided to come back the following night.

We stopped by while in town during the day. The surrounding park looks pretty good, the sinkhole looks bit tired & uninteresting. There are a couple of viewing platforms, with a view of "not much". However, we could see that there were lights and projectors set up under the viewing platforms so thought the light show might provide a good illumination of the sink hole.

Imagine the disappointment when at 8pm there was a silent B&W film (with subtitles) projected on the wall of the building next door. The film was basically an ad for the Bank of South Australia using some historical footage. This was followed by a slide show of old photos and finally a silent film of some aboriginal dancers. No sound. No illumination of the sink hole. 1 lone dim blue light pointing at nothing in particular in the garden. At least the street lights were on this time though. Gave up after 45 minutes. Complete waste of time. Even though it was free I'm feeling I paid too much.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Gardens are beautiful.
Very disappointed with the state of cleaning. Rubbish all over the place . A Section of fence and even push bike in the bottom. Detracted from the beauty of the cave

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 July 2016

the cave gardens are stunning in summer with all the beautiful roses, and just as stunning in winter after a heavy rainfall, the waterfall that thunders down from the top into the cave at the bottom makes for great photos. You can walk right down to the lowest lookout platform on the stairways which are not too steep, or take advantage of the higher lookouts to get some great shots. In summer time have a picnic on the grounds among the roses, under the shade of the beautiful old trees. The library and coffee shop is just a 1 minute walk away and so is the main shopping district. Set in the heart of Mount Gambier, it's an attraction you don't want to miss

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Kaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Worth a look, it was closed from the first viewing area, but still could enjoy the views and look around, will go back when its open all the way just to look around again.
It had been raining, so there was a large waterfall when we visited, which made it all the more attractive. In the center of town, so very convenient to call past. A must do if your in the area!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Leigh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Really unusual place which we were unable to properly view, due to it being restricted for renovation of the railings. Not many towns can boast a cave in the CBD and the way it is presented with the gardens is well wort a look - when it is once again properly accessible.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Shaliqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews