We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate steak restaurant”
Review of The Barn

The Barn
Ranked #1 of 101 Restaurants in Mount Gambier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 21 - USD 43
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We select the best export quality beef available in the country. Our preference is for beef that is finished on grass as this provides meat with maximum flavor, just as nature intended. What we do differently at the Barn is that we age our beef on the premises for 8 weeks or longer. When you consider the work, the cost, the waste, is it really worthwhile to age beef for a long time? Most people and places say beef is aged when it is two weeks old. Like great wines that improve for 50 years, great beef gets sweeter, more tender and acquires a taste that cannot be duplicated except with proper aging.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Why do we return here again and again - because the food is always cooked to perfection, is well presented, and the service is good but not overwhelming. The food is delicious - of course being primarily a steak house that is the basic, but there are other limited choices, which also are great. Children are welcome and there is a children's menu. This is definitely one restaurant we will continue to enjoy.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We found this place by accident and were so impressed we came back again the next night.
The steak of course is excellent but the service is about as good as you will ever get anywhere. Super professional, polite, accomodating and precise. Then of course are the desserts which were unbelievable. My wife is a French dessert expert and was blown away by what we had.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank GeneT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Absolutely delicious steak! I had the rump steak and it was 10/10, cooked perfectly! I couldn’t fault the meal and the service was friendly and attentive. Highly recommend

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank katee_oconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent C, Manager at The Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks for your complimentary review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal, especially the rump steak as it is the cut with the most flavour and when aged from our cattle has a remarkable texture. We encourage our guests to try our rump.
Best regards,
Kent Comley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Steak cooked to perfection and to your liking with a large range of sauces to choose from, huge wine menu made choices difficult. Great location

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Possibly the best steak we have ever eaten served by friendly and knowledgeable staff who went out of their way to help us and guide us to the right wines to complement the mouthwatering food. A memorable experience

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Dollery2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barn also viewed

Mount Gambier, South Australia
Mount Gambier, South Australia
 
Mount Gambier, South Australia
Mount Gambier, South Australia
 
Mount Gambier, South Australia
Mount Gambier, South Australia
 

Been to The Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing