We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
45
17
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
17
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family room separate bedroom great room rooms are clean a great place to stay motel accommodation unit carnival australia flowers hospital
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2015

hotel is right next to the highway....noisy noisy noisy...... save your money..........toilet was leaking contuiniously on to the floor wifi was so slow you could have used aus post would be faster...for the money they charge it is poor value.

Room tip: go to another hotel
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jon b B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgate R, Owner at Eastgate on the Range, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Thanks for your review. We have some rooms closer to the highway than others. Most rooms are double insulated, insulation under floor and in ceiling. As a builder with 30 years experience all you had to do was call reception about the toilet running and I would have fixed it for you or given you a new room. I tried calling to apologise but got nothing but a furious guest ranting and raving that I knew the toilet was leaking. After checking out it was fixed within the hour. As for our WIFI we have the fastest WIFI available. Soon the NBN will be installed so it will be faster again.

Regards
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

Good location, albeit a little noisy. Great hosts, although the rooms lack personality. Decent value, although not for more than 2 nights.

Recently stayed at Eastgate for 4 nights and found that while the bed was comfortable and the room was large, the facilities lack any personality and this place could easily be mistaken for an over-niter anywhere in Australia.

No reading lamps, wall-mounted soap dispensers and a general feel of 'mid-range', we'll definitely search further the next time we're in Toowoomba.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheSurfchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastgate R, Owner at Eastgate on the Range, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Thanks for your reveiw. We dont have reading lamps but above every bed we have a light for reading. I think the layout of the motel makes it a little diferent to other motels. Thanks for big tick on service. We do try to go out our way for our guests.
Regards
Scott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2015

Wonderful place to stay. Perfectly clean and meticulously presented. Our room was perfect for our one night stay and so nice to book something online and find it even better than expected. Lovely staff a real pleasure to have stayed here...I cant say it enough clean clean clean!!!

Date of stay: February 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccharmi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, Owner at Eastgate on the Range, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thankyou for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

This motel had everything we required for a one night stay. We thought a "Bungalow" with a spa sounded like fun. It wasn't quite as romantic as we expected and the unit was a duplex type building, of which there are quite a few. Although the motel seemed largely vacant, we were placed in a "bungalow" in full view of reception and to be honest, for two professionals in our 40s, we felt a little bit like 20 somethings who might potentially cause trouble. If only.

The room was reasonably well appointed and clean. A dining table isn't always provided and certainly a porch with furniture would have been well utilised in the cool of the evening, had we been placed with a little more consideration to our privacy.

Checkout in the morning is best left as a key in the door, because I barely raised a "thank you" from the owners, but got a decent staring down for some reason. Yes two adults in two separate cars meet in motels on weekends. Who knew? Did it do the trick? Not really. The motel we checked into up the road the next night was much more welcoming.

Room tip: Don't bother asking for a spa, or give away the intent of enjoying yourself and you'll possibly get a private room.
Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, Owner at Eastgate on the Range, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

I remember you as we were new to the motel. So I just wanted to clear up a few things. You were in room 36 which is one of the units further away from the street. I can't see you from reception at all. There is a dinning room table inside the room. All of our rooms have them. The deck has table and chairs as well. In front of the deck there's a hedge that's 1.2m high while standing on the deck,= privacy.
I can guarantee we had no problem with you and certainly had no reason to be keeping an eye on you. You could have asked for another room. At the time of your check in I was just going to evict a number of teenagers. Three booked in and then more showed up and I had to ask them to leave. They left peacefully but I didn't know what was going to happen as there was 13 of them. You took it the wrong way and I'm sorry about your stay but without saying anything to us you go online and didn't give us a chance to help you..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

Often I find incorrect facts regarding both great places with poor reports and terrible places with great reports. Last night, we found an unexpected treat. The Eastgate Motel on the range, in Toowoomba, Queensland is amazing. It has been taken over by a new owner, Scott Gelling 3 1/2 weeks ago. Spotlessly clean, great beds, huge bathroom and an amazing restaurant. We were sorry we could only stop 1 night as we had already booked the flight back to Adelaide today. Eastgate on the range definitely deserves the highest rating possible. Staff and Scott and his family are so friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

Room tip: We had a room at the back which was quiet. No stairs.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G, Owner at Eastgate on the Range, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Your review is wonderful and is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews