We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast”
Review of Engine Room Cafe - CLOSED

Engine Room Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 20
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days 7am to 4pm, Engine Room Cafe is conveniently located on the edge of Toowoomba's CBD. Whether it's an intimate coffee for two, a corporate lunch or a whole family gathering, we will be happy to look after you. The perfect choice for your next casual dining experience. We have a number of areas to chose from, including: our open air garden courtyard deck, our lounge foyer or our spacious air conditioned dining areas. Engine Room Cafe offers Toowoomba's Best Brekky and our menu incorporates hand made, wholesome meals sure to please. Why not try our amazing Benny Trio (3 different Eggs Benedict on one plate: Smoked Salmon, Bacon and Mushroom) or maybe even an old favourite, Lamb's Fry. We offer All Day Breakfast as well as Lunch from 11am. Meals can be ordered until 2.30pm when our kitchen closes. Coffee and a wide selection of hand made cakes and slices are available from 7am until 4pm daily. Reservations are encouraged, particularly for weekend dining.
Reviewed 14 January 2020

We decided to go for breakfast (first time) and it was awesome. We had the bruschetta and arancini breakfasts and they were great, good size and so tasty. Great coffee and fantastic service, will be back!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lesli_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEngineRoomCafe, Owner at Engine Room Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Hi Lesli_9

Thanks for your kind words. We really appreciate when guests take the time to pop a review on our profile! Great meal choices there by the way!

Ohhhhh, I love the arancini!!! We can even add just the arancini balls themselves to other meals as an added side. [I may do that occasionally too... ;) ]

Thanks again and be sure to say Hi next time you pop in.

Cheers!
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2019 via mobile

Really enjoyed their burrito bowl. It was pretty much meat on salad, which was a healthy lunch. Very satisfying

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Oscarsmith7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEngineRoomCafe, Owner at Engine Room Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2020

Thanks Oscarsmith7!

Glad you enjoyed it. We love giving our guests some yummy healthy alternative meal options! Believe it or not this particular option was inspired by a guest on a "Keto" diet and this is what we came up with. Very similar to our Nachos but on a bed of salad instead of corn chips.

We appreciate you taking the time to pop up a review. It is greatly appreciated. Be sure to say G'Day next time you visit.

Cheers!
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2019

We go to the Engine Room on average one a fortnight for about a year we have noticed the food is hit and miss lately which I mean sometimes its good and sometimes its not for ecample I ordered Thai Beef salad on the Thai Beef Salad recently the meat very over cooked tough tasteless toomuch dressing not a enjoyable meal husband ordered a special not much on the plate waste of money but sometimes the meal we ordered wad teally nice not sure if we will continue to go back there again

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEngineRoomCafe, Owner at Engine Room Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Hi Marilyn S

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

We pride ourselves on serving up amazing food and drinks with exceptional customer service.

That is sad to hear that you a have not had a fantastic experience every time you have visited. If ever there is something you are not happy with, we are more than happy to work with you to make amends. In order for us to give you the best possible help, we need you to let one of us know as soon as there is something amiss. Finding a less than glowing review on Trip Advisor days after your visit limits how we can respond to your concerns.

Next time you are in, please introduce yourself and mention that last time your meal was not satisfactory and we will go out of our way to make sure you get a meal that is amazing!

If I can be of any further help please let me know.

Kind Regards,
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019

We visited the Cafe for the first time a month ago with a tribe of kids, and absolutely loved it. Some got pancakes, others eggs benny, and the eggs benny on a croissant. There were 6 meals in total and everyone loved them! I also enjoyed the AvaGoGo juice made in house and have swung by multiple times again just for this drink. The servings were really generous and good value for money. Staff are very helpful and friendly and the shop area at the back was interesting to look at once were done eating. Highly recommend and will be back plenty of times no doubt!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEngineRoomCafe, Owner at Engine Room Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Thanks for the great review Lauren.

As parents ourselves (although they are now teenagers...) we understand that families want to be able to go out together and get a great meal regardless of their tastes - or their age for that matter!

I LOVE AvoGoGo and I must admit I have one myself almost every shift. So good! That whole range of Dairy Free Smoothies have been really popular which was a bit of a gamble for us kicking them off over the colder months, but I'm sure they are going to be a HUGE hit as weather warms up even more. (and as people find out how amazing they are.)

We appreciate you taking the time to leave such an awesome review, in an age when everyone is so busy it means a lot to us all.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019

The steak sandwich was outstanding, however the nachos were a tad better than mediocre. Freindly and effiecient service, reasonable price. Restuarant clean and tidy. Didnt have coffee so cannot comment. High 4 out of 5.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Magruta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheEngineRoomCafe, Owner at Engine Room Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Hi Magruta,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I must say you picked 2 all time favourites there! Almost every time I put a steak sanga in front of a guest for the first time they go " Oh my God!" so glad you enjoyed it.

A bit disappointed to hear our nachos didn't knock your socks off though... one of our regulars has just done a stint in hospital and she couldn't wait to get out and come in for some. ( We did sneak her in a serve though while she was still in). Anyway thanks again for the review!

Be sure to say G'Day next time you're in!

Kind Regards,
Leanne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Engine Room Cafe also viewed

 
Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.