We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“When demand is high it's important not to let standards slip. They have not managed this.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“When demand is high it's important not to let standards slip. They have not managed this.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I booked the penthouse for my wife and I for our wedding anniversary. The room was clean and the view spectacular, the price was high and the counter service poor. I had also booked an outside table for 2 at the restaurant, which I called a few days prior to confirm. We went down to dinner only to be told that there was no room outside. There was a large table (14 or 16) outside and they had obviously just decided to give our table away to accomodate this group. I complained but was told that they didn't have the booking. When I explained that I had not only booked, but confirmed a few days in advance I just got a blank look. A request to speak to the manager revealed that the unconcerned person to whom I was speaking was the very same man. We left and ate elsewhere. We have returned to the restaurant one time since only to be given very poor drinks service and then have our main meals brought out before our entree's. This place is a bit of a joke. The demand for hotels/restaurants in Mackay is very high so they have decided they don't need to work hard to get your money. Do yourself a big favour, avoid this place and go somewhere that they care about you and not just what they can get from you.

Room Tip: To get a good room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
60 Thank Indiman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    88
    50
    19
    18
See reviews for
65
108
15
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

My husband and I had lunch today at the newly opened Stripey Bass on Mackay Marina Harbour. Both entrees were huge and would be plenty for a main meal - Mine was Ceasar Salad (approx $14) and an extra $6.50 for prawn topper - I was surprised when 6 huge ocean king prawns arrived and I've never tasted better, both the salad and prawns. My husband had salt and pepper calamari for an entre - my goodness, it was amazing (approx $14) about 20 pieces of thick soft lightly coated calamari chunks on a bed of salad.
For mains I had a platter of hot mixed seafood $45, it was presented on a stand with a plate of salad and tropical fruit. It was really tasty and plenty of food but unfortunately I could hardly touch it as I was so full. I thought for $45 it was a little expensive compared to a whole mud crab and salad around $50 mark. Hubby ordered coconut prawns, he had a plate full of huge prawns (10) on a bed of salad and some tropical fruit as well. I think we were so full after the entre we should have cancelled the mains. Beer was $5.50 stubbie and NZ Sav. Blanc $8 glass. Unfortunately, there was no dessert menu, not that we could have fitted it in - just lettling you know. The menu for starters, entrees and mains was very good, they also have plenty to choose if you prefer steak, lamb, pork and pasta. Service was with a smile and nice and friendly.

One complaint - today in Mackay was stinking stinking hot!! The doors should have been shut to keep the air con in, it was very hot in there...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

As we had not pre booked anywhere there were virtually no decent rooms left in Mackay when we arrived mid afternoon. When we checked at the Clarion the Duty Manager was very helpful and advised us that he may have a room for us by 6pm so when the clock ticked over he was able to accommodate us in one of their spa suites. Now the room was expensive but on par with any town that has a large mining population. The suite ( more like an apartment) was beautifully appointed, very clean and had a fabulous view over the marina and ocean.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and a special mention to Shane, the Manager, who went out of his way to talk to his guests and ensure their stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Pay the price for a sea view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My hubby and I stayed at the Clarion for a couple of days as he was working in Mackay. The hotel is fine - pool a bit small but the rooms spacious and staff friendly as usual. We tried the new restaurant, the Stripey Bass, which is a few doors away. Sitting down around 7pm we were sipping some wine and overheard quite a bit of shouting going on in the kitchen. A middle aged chap, the manager?, was really yelling at staff. We felt pretty uncomfortable after that but as we'd ordered couldn't really go. The food was rather good - oysters kilpatrick and a big platter - but we didn't feel relaxed and felt sorry for the waitresses who seemed miserable and nervous.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
59 Thank Sherene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Good, clean hotel, good food at restaurant. Staff very helpful.
Overall a vewry good stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
5.2 km away
Riviera Mackay
Riviera Mackay
#3 of 34 in Mackay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.3 km away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#7 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
8.1 km away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#12 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
5.3 km away
Oaks Carlyle
Oaks Carlyle
#8 of 34 in Mackay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
6.6 km away
Ocean International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina

Property: Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Address: Mulherin Drive | Mackay Marina, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Mackay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mackay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price range (per night): $130 - $188
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina is considered as Mackay's premier hotel. Located on the relaxing waterfront setting of the picturesque Mackay Marina, the hotel is only a short drive from Mackay's city centre and 20 minutes from Mackay Airport and is Mackay's only hotel with marina views over the tropical blue waters of the Coral Sea. The 4.5 Star hotel provides a selection of high quality accommodation rooms, from Deluxe Studio rooms and 1 Bedroom Apartments through to Executive Suites and Superior Spa suites. All rooms are superbly appointed with all the modern conveniences you would expect to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible including; i-pod docking stations, flat screen televisions, fully appointed kitchenettes and private balconies providing fresh sea breezes and views over the marina setting and out to sea. Our onsite Latitude 21 Bar & Restaurant provides modern Australian cuisine and is open for breakfast daily and dinner Monday to Saturday, room service menu is available daily. The Mackay Marina, voted Australia's number 1 marina precinct, is also right on the doorstep providing a choice of bars, cafes and restaurants including George's Thai, Angelo's on the Marina Italian, The Deck Steakhouse and Mackay's famous fresh seafood at The Lighthouse. Harbour Beach is also just a short stroll providing long stretches of golden, sandy beaches. Other facilities include 24 hour reception and on-site security, secure parking, swimming pool, fitness room, complimentary guest laundry on each level, fully air-conditioned hallways as well as unlimited FREE guest WiFi. The Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina provides the perfect setting for conferences, meetings, functions and weddings providing a number of versatile and high quality function rooms and breakout areas. Our dedicated function staff can help tailor an event to suit any occasion. The hotel provides a range of excellent guest services that have built a strong reputation with business travellers and holiday makers and has been awarded best hotel in its category by Choice Hotels Australasia and AHA's Best Superior Accommodation Australia. Our waterfront location and comprehensive facilities combined with friendly and professional service will ensure your stay in Mackay will be comfortable, enjoyable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Choice Australia, Hotels.com and Wotif.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Mackay
Mackay Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing