We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of The Austral Hotel

The Austral Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Quick Bites in Mackay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Here at the Austral Hotel we want you to be able to relax and enjoy spending time with your family and friends. Our Bistro offers a spacious dining area with great value meals along with a relaxing family atmosphere. The Bistro menu has a wide range of seasonal dishes available to suit all tastes. All meals are reasonably priced with specials and a fun childrens menu available. Our Sports Bar offers great value dining with all your favourites from snacks to schnitzels and burgers. It's great meeting place to unwind with a meal after a long day at work. If it's great value dining with a friendly atmosphere you are after, then look no further than the Austral Hotel.
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

Came here last night for dinner/- food was amazing!- hot,fast & well priced. The only small hiccup was confused staff who had a bit of a language barrier. Served us the wrong dessert & adamantly insisted sticky date was banana fritter!-/-to the rescue:- the lovely Roxy /- explained to us the confusion being there was banana IN the sticky date & fixed the problem.
Proceeded to serve us the most delicious banana fritters possibly ever made!!! Huge round of applause to the kitchen staff /- beautiful meals!!
The atmosphere was lovely, drinks were made perfect!- will dine again!!!
Suggest some of the staff is made aware of the specials and what they look like (one young lass had no idea what the special was and hubby had to take her to the board to show her)- as they were quite adamant in trying to get us to take the first dessert. Overall tho- a lovely, lovely experience. Well done management!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank maiesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeriD04, Manager at The Austral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Thank you so much for your review on your recent visit, I am delighted that you enjoyed your meals and in particular the banana fritters! I had already been told about your ordeal with the banana fritters and I do apologise for the mix up and assure you it rarely happens. Roxy was watching it unfold but was unable to get to you as she was serving another patron, the girls generally do a fantastic job. Again I apologise for the mix up and I thank you for understanding and we look forward to serving you again. I will share these comments with all involved and we will use it as a learning tool. Kind regards, Geri davison (Venue manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Oldish pub with a nice front bar and a great little restaurant. The steaks are superb but rather expensive. Fast and prompt service though.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeriD04, Manager at The Austral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post the positive comments on your recent meal here with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your steaks and our service. We would love to see you back at some stage so possibly you may find better value in our great 300g and very popular Austral lunch rump, we have this available 7 days a week in both sports bar and restaurant from 11 am until 5 pm. Again thank you for the great review it is really appreciated. Kind regards, Geri Davison (Venue Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Well known for its steak in town.Awesome food and service along with descent prices. Kids are entertained with coouring in pencils and pictures. Great family restaurant

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeriD04, Manager at The Austral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Hi Rebecca. Thank you for posting a review on your recent meal here. We really appreciate the time taken to post a review and your positive comments. I will share this with the team and we all hope that we can serve you again. Many thanks. Geri Davison (Venue Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Had a really nice meal here on our last night in Mackay. Being just a short walk from our accommodation it was a great choice. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeriD04, Manager at The Austral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thanks Mel for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit to our bistro. It is always great to receive reviews and assists us in improving or maintaining our standards. Thanks very much for your kind words and I will most certainly share your comments with the team. We hope that if you are ever back in mackay that we will be able to serve you again. Warm regards. Geri Davison (Venue Manager}

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We have been to the austral numerous times for meals in the past few months. If you order steak you are in for a treat! The steak is always cooked exactly how you order it and is flavoursome. The toppers and sauces are also very nice. Seafood is not done quite so well. The variety of chicken schnitzels and Parmys are nice, cooked beautifully. Choice of salads and veggies is more extensive than other pubs which is also great. Unfortunately on most occasions we have waited up to 45 minutes just for kids meals and on more than one occasion our garlic bread has been forgotten by the kitchen completely. On a recent visit my husband asked for a fried egg on his mixed grill and the chef said ‘no he could not add a fried egg to it’ seems a bit odd not to be able to add a simple egg to a mixed grill. The staff in the bistro and bar are always friendly and professional and this gives the place a great atmosphere. Recommend for a great steak but you may have to wait a fair time for your meal .

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeriD04, Manager at The Austral Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Hi Rebecca....Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and review on your recent visits to the hotel. It really disappoints me to hear that you waited so long for your children's meals and of the trouble with the garlic breads. I will follow up with the chef and kitchen staff about the fried egg on your husbands mixed grill as I see no reason why this couldn't have happened as it is a request that is made often with no problems. I think we may just include it as an option on our next menu to save further problems. I take all reviews seriously and again I would like to thank you for yours and I hope we see you back again soon and we can improve on your previous experiences. Kind regards, Geri Davison (Venue manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Austral Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Austral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing