We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
34
44
37
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
44
37
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the airport family room reception staff would stay here again undercover parking
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

If you follow my reviews I really do try to be fair. The hotel is clean and the rooms are quite large , great location near the beach no roads to cross so that's great

It has a nice bar area near the pool and the pool looks great and well maintained. Neat and tidy gardens with abundance of nice walks.

So over all should get a higher rating from me , however I felt the staff could have been more customer service focused after staying at international hotels and most have service to die for , I can't say the same about this one , As I said coffee was good , but the rest of breakfast was slow and the eggs were so far over cooked that we could have played squash with them

I would stay here again just to see if I had come on a bad weekend which of course is possible as everyone has bad days

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank johnsy123aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Front Office Manager at Ocean International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2016

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Glad to hear you you thought the hotel is clean, rooms are quite large and a great location near the beach. It was disappointing to hear our service was slow and the eggs over cooked, we pride ourselves on delivering a high level of customer service and unfortunately on this occasion we failed to deliver. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

we found this motel very friendly the staff were amazing. we found the room was clean neat and tidy thank you cleaners. we ate in the very well presented restraint the food was incredible. we found the view from our room great

Room tip: higher floors have best view
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Front Office Manager at Ocean International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Judy! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we will pass your feedback onto the staff! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Convenient location for town centre and airport.The rooms were spacious, clean and were serviced every day. All the staff were friendly and helpful and there was on site laundry facilities. The restaurant was usually busy and the food was excellent. I used the hotel as a base to visit my wife in hospital and a planned 7 day stay morphed into 3 weeks - the original stay plus 2 weeks for her recuperation prior to flying back to the UK.
All the staff helped us through our trials and tribulations with many kind words, smiles and encouragement.

Room tip: we were on the top floor with a sea view
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ML C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Front Office Manager at Ocean International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was under unfortunate circumstances. We hope that Mrs C is fully recovered and keeping well. All the best to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Good location - great staff - surprisingly excellent ( I don't throw that word around lightly in reference to food #highlyfussy)

Rooms clean good view - restaurant pleasant decor overlooking lagoon style pool with waterfalls

Next time in Mackay will definitely stay again

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank eyeonproperty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Front Office Manager at Ocean International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Thank you for your review Tracey. Great and Excellent are wonderful compliments to our staff and Chef's which have passed on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ocean International!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Yummy meals and great service:) Beside the ocean. Lovely meal selections and yummy cocktails. Will be coming back again. Dinner had beside the pool. Have been a number of times and always great to visit

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sharleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin C, Front Office Manager at Ocean International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Thank you for your great review Sharleen! Its always nice to pass this kind of feedback onto our staff! We look forward to seeing you again for dinner and cocktails by the pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews