We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities, and nice to be treated like we are special :-)”
Review of Shakespeare Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shakespeare Motel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Great room including two queen sized beds. Though we didn't use the full facilities, we would have done so if we stayed longer, and had more time (i.e. cooking and microwaving capability). We were recommended to use the restaurant (Romeo and Juliet's) for dinner and were definitely not disappointed (see review for today). No doubt that we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Just ask when booking. You will get honest advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Burgo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at Shakespeare Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Thankyou for choosing to stay with us and we're very happy you had a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

While the room is really quite basic, Shakespeare offered everything I needed and the same as what most other hotels charge twice as much for. Super friendly team and waited up for my late arrival.
If you're going to be at MECC it's a really short walk and the best value accommodation.
I wasn't feeling so well so didn't try the restaurant - but have only heard good things about it, and for mid week, it seemed busy with locals - which is always a good sign!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Imissafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here overnight and was so happy as soon as we walked in the room! Clean and spacious, great shower and comfy bed, which was exactly what we were looking for! Friendly staff made us feel very welcome! Lovely restaurant and continental breakfast was perfect ! Thank you !

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed here in the week after cyclone debbie and despite the weather event that had happened the hotel was fully operational with an amazing menu to boot! Rooms were serviced for us and the staff were absolutely amazing the whole time! Everything I ordered off the menu was 5 star and could not fault it! Even if it's just staying one night, a week or just visiting for dinner I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Pigalatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Great service and friendly staff,good menu delicious food. comfortable well appointed room, fast service. Staff are happy to accomodate special requests. Lovely outdoor area and sparkling pool. Lovely stocked bar for relaxing after a busy day.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendysunshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
3.3 km away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
249 reviews
1 km away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#9 of 34 in Mackay
268 reviews
3.4 km away
The Windmill Motel and Events Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#16 of 34 in Mackay
131 reviews
2.3 km away
Potters Oceanside Motel
1.8 km away
Mackay Resort Motel
Mackay Resort Motel
#22 of 34 in Mackay
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare Motel

Address: 309 Shakespeare St, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Price Range: $114 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shakespeare Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet and centrally located, the Shakespeare Motel is an ideal choice for accommodation in Mackay. The Motel is 5 minutes from the CBD, with a modern restaurant and superior facilities. Service is our priority, and you'll find every staff member friendly and helpful, making you feel like you're at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Shakespeare Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing