We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
67
40
4
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
40
4
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews romeo and juliet served promptly stayed here main north off road parking rooms are spacious great restaurant cooked breakfast separate bedroom breakfast was included the ground floor would definitely stay here again comfy bed family room comfortable stay an overnight stay linda
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017

While the room is really quite basic, Shakespeare offered everything I needed and the same as what most other hotels charge twice as much for. Super friendly team and waited up for my late arrival.
If you're going to be at MECC it's a really short walk and the best value accommodation.
I wasn't feeling so well so didn't try the restaurant - but have only heard good things about it, and for mid week, it seemed busy with locals - which is always a good sign!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Imissafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here overnight and was so happy as soon as we walked in the room! Clean and spacious, great shower and comfy bed, which was exactly what we were looking for! Friendly staff made us feel very welcome! Lovely restaurant and continental breakfast was perfect ! Thank you !

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed here in the week after cyclone debbie and despite the weather event that had happened the hotel was fully operational with an amazing menu to boot! Rooms were serviced for us and the staff were absolutely amazing the whole time! Everything I ordered off the menu was 5 star and could not fault it! Even if it's just staying one night, a week or just visiting for dinner I highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Pigalatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Great service and friendly staff,good menu delicious food. comfortable well appointed room, fast service. Staff are happy to accomodate special requests. Lovely outdoor area and sparkling pool. Lovely stocked bar for relaxing after a busy day.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendysunshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Stayed here recently for recovery work. The room was large, spacious, spotlessly clean and had everything you needed. It was also nice to have the personal touch of a welcome note for recovery workers from Linda.
The food was delicious, served promptly and nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. They are all so friendly - and yes do get to know you by name. Linda your staff are a credit to you and obviously because you are so friendly it rubs off on the staff. Loved staying here whilst working long hours, felt like home away from home. Thanks everyone

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B, Owner at Shakespeare Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2017

Thankyou Susan for your kind words. It was our absolute pleasure to have you stay with us and you all made our job very easy. We appreciate your staying with us and supporting small businesses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews