We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
21
8
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
8
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main streetheron islandroom was cleancarolsydney
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Walked in off the street got a great standby rate. Manager was lovely and very accommodating with kids she even gave them some toys to play with. Clean room a little dated and bed a bit saggy but overall happy with stay for the price. Pool was clean and location close to takeaway shops and restaurants for cheap eats.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustysMotel, Manager at Econo Lodge Rusty's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thanks for your review. We are sorry that you found the bed a bit soft and are looking at replacing that mattress in the near future. We will be doing a check on all the beds this week. It was lovely to met you all and i was happy to give the children the toys to play with. Please come and stay again if you are passing through.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The first comment about Rusty's is that the manager, Carol, takes her job seriously and does her best to ensure that people are well treated and have a good stay. We were unable to make it to Gladstone for our booked night because of being marooned at Bundaberg on the Tilt Train because of the recent heavy rain and flooding which cut the railway line and roads between Bundaberg and Gladstone. We phoned ahead and Carol said it didn't matter what time we arrived as a key would be in the door. In fact we had to return to Brisbane and arrange a rather expensive last minute flight with Virgin/Alliance to get to Gladstone the next morning and make the launch crossing to Heron Island. So we phoned Carol who booked us a room at a very reasonable rate for an overnight stay at the end of our week on Heron Island, before flying back to Brisbane and Sydney. We couldn't fault Rusty's as the room was clean, comfortable and convenient to eating places including the Fresh Fix coffee shop across the road and the Thai Basement next door, both of which were good. If we had managed to get through to Gladstone on the Tilt Train, it is also very convenient to the railway station. If we manage to do another trip to Heron Island in the future, we would definitely book at Rusty's for a night at the beginning or end of the trip. Thanks Carol for your help.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be OK. There is a pool though we didn't use it. Rusty's is simple and clean.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustysMotel, Manager at Econo Lodge Rusty's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi Helen
Thanks for your wonderful review. I am glad I was able to help you out with the unexpected delays because of the rain. We are happy you were still able to enjoy your holiday and hope to see you one day again.
Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Stay no where else if you want the best of personalised service and attention to detail.

Great location too, with restaurants and amenities all a stone's throw away.

Lovely pool and BBQ area, where you could bring kids and cook up a feed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Wow what a fantastic place, made so very special by the fabulous Carol and her family. When my husband was rushed to Gladstone hospital off a cruise ship, Carol made me feel very welcome and she really went the extra yards to help. The room was huge, really clean and had everything you could possibly need including microwave, toaster, kettle and coffee making items. But really, it's the welcoming attitude and kind, helpful staff that make this place so awesome.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tour552315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RustysMotel, Manager at Econo Lodge Rusty's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Hi there,
Sorry for the slow response. it was a pleasure to help you in your time of need I can only imagine the stress you were under with being stuck in a strange town with your husband unwell. I hope all is well now and back to normal. Thanks for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Cant complain Everything was great, Room was very clean and spacious, bed was so comfy, Price was perfect . The management and staff were sooooo helpful as i can be abit annoying with questions. They gave me perfect directions to the places i had to be and were very helpful with my needs. Will definitely stay again. Keep up the good work to you all.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews