We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough...but better suited for family fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Coolangatta
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice enough...but better suited for family fun!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Overnight stay summary:

- Excellent location: beach across the road, shops and restaurants all around you.
- Well sized/equipped room (only low point was the extremely soft bed).
- Pleasant staff.
- Nice pool (awesome for kids) with PLENTY of lounges...only comment on the spa is that there was never enough room for me to get in it!
- 3 lifts, 1 worked.

While we enjoyed our stay here, I do think the price we paid was slightly excessive ($150/night (1 bed apartment)/no breakfast). I think it's also worth pointing out that Calypso is catered to families with young kids - If you are a younger couple looking for a romantic getaway (which was the point of our stay) this may not be the place for you.

When you compare Coolangatta to other parts of the GC, it can be a little boring. However you can easily fill a night or two there. There are plenty of excellent places to eat (we had dinner at O-Sushi and weren't dissapointed) and if you are looking for a place to have a few drinks, skip the Cooly Hotel (unless you enjoy toilet smells and a lousy atmosphere). Instead, head up to the Surf Life Saving Club - best view, excellent staff and a relaxed vibe. We only stayed for an entre and a couple of drinks but from what we saw the mains look great too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at Oaks Calypso Plaza. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    222
    131
    41
    29
See reviews for
194
210
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband and i stayed here for three nights thanks to a wotif special of about $120 a night. The location is so central that we just parked the car and didn't drive for three days. THere was heaps of parking. We walked to everywhere. The small kitchen was well equipped and we were able to prepare some meals. The pool is quite large so there is room for all the kids, and all the people without kids. The staff were also very helpful. The only negative is that some of the rooms are quite a distance from the lifts but there is plenty of stair access. But being 8 months pregnant i found this difficult sometimes. The night time lighting of the grounds was non existent. So walking from outside back to our room in the rain was dangerous.
But highly recommend this place for families or couples. It's the same price as a caravan park, but much quieter and more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Oaks Calypso Plaza.

It is wonderful to know that we were able to play a part in making your holiday with your husband a memorable and enjoyable one.

I shall pass your feedback on to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again after the arrival of your new baby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Our room was on the 4th floor. Bedrooms are on the first level and the living room, kitchen and dining area and balcony are on the second level and I find it really cool. The view is spectacular. There are a lot of restaurants around the hotel and the beautiful coolangata beach is just across the street. The kids'playground is also just in front of the hotel near the beach. Went there in May, it was a bit cool but sunny. My son went swimming and everyone seemed to be in the hot pool so I can only wish it was bigger. But overall, it was a lovely experience. It was our first time in Australia and staying here was an absolute highlight of our trip. Will definitely go back and highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcm_1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort. We are so pleased that you chose us to accommodate you on your first trip to Australia and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future to enjoy our facilities and the amazing views we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

4 of us stayed for 3 nights last week, in a 3rd floor apartment. It was excellent with ocean glimpses and pool view. The accommodation was clean good bed linen and towels. We had 2 rooms 1 had twin beds, bathroom fridge coffee making Tv this room could be locked off, the other apartment had queen bed lounge 2 TV's both had large balconies. Staff excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Close to restaurants and beach, no need for a car unless you want to go to Surfers etc. Would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a pool room/
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and would very much like to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Our room which had a lovely view smelt of rotten fruit (no, we didnt have fruit in our room)! To be fair to management, we didnt complain as we had one of the best views in the hotel. The door to our room would not shut without a good solid yank which meant that the door was actually open most of the time without us realising it. It is a very tired hotel well below par for a 4&1/2 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelfreakAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
We are concerned to read of your recent review of our Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort. We apologise that there were elements of your room that you found unsatisfactory. Please be assured that Housekeeping and the Hotel Manager have been made aware of your comments.

We hope you consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coolangatta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coolangatta hotels
0.1 km away
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
Mantra Coolangatta Beach
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
1.2 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.5 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Beach House Seaside Resort - Classic Holidays
0.2 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,353 reviews
0.1 km away
Ocean Plaza Resort
Ocean Plaza Resort
#9 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort

Property: Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Address: 99 Griffith Street, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coolangatta
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coolangatta
Price range (per night): $139 - $339
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks Calypso Plaza is a 4.5 star resort centrally located in the heart of Coolangatta, minutes from the airport and a variety of Gold Coast attractions and is located opposite the beautiful Coolangatta Beach. The resort features one and two bedroom self-contained apartments with full kitchen and laundry facilities, most with sheltered balconies that provide ocean or hinterland views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotelopia so you can book your Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Calypso Plaza Hotel Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Coolangatta
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort Coolangatta, Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing