We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised....”
Review of Bellakai

Bellakai
Ranked #10 of 170 Restaurants in Coolangatta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 3 - USD 40
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Come and sit opposite the beautiful Coolangatta beach and enjoy our hospitality. Our kitchen team has put together a great menu for you, look out over the water while sampling our extensive beverage list. Down to earth staff, hearty modern Australian dishes, freshly baked sweets daily, and amazing Vittoria coffee. What are you waiting for?
Reviewed 6 May 2018

We stay up the road about 4 times a year and Bellakia was always our favourite.
When we walked in Friday night, I said to my wife something's not right as it was only about 20% full. We learned that it changed hands late last year.
So we had to ask for our bread 3 times, and when it came out it was garlic..... we ordered plain bread. Sincere apologies...... and we'll fix it up at no charge. So after 40 minutes we get what we ordered.
The squid entrees were good.
I had duck for main which was just a pass. Good flavours but it just didn't tie together with veggies. Wife had the steak which is normally a knockout. The steak although cooked was barley warm but the veggies were fresh and hot. Go figure how whey got that wrong!!!!
My wife tried to politely point out the issues and despite numerous apologies and free bread you could tell the waiter wasn't listening......
It seemed their was no interaction between waiters and kitchen.
It'll be easy to keep walking straight past next time.

17  Thank branno25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellakaiCoolangatta, Owner at Bellakai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks Branno for your feedback.
As a small family-run business, we are proud of the creativity from our kitchen team, and strive for our staff to offer genuinely warm and attentive service.
We apologise that we missed the mark with food quality and level of service during your last visit.
Kind regards, Bellakai @ Coolangatta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

We have been travelling along the whole east coast and feel compelled to give this restaurant a “good” rating. The welcome was warm, the service both efficient and friendly, and the choice and quality of the food was excellent. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending this restaurant for an evening meal - thank you all at the Bellakai

1  Thank Wendy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellakaiCoolangatta, Owner at Bellakai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks so much Wendy for choosing to come in to Bellakai during your east-coast travels, and especially for taking the time to leave us a positive review regarding the service of our wonderful staff, and the quality of our food.
As a small family-run business, we greatly appreciate your support.
We hope to see you again if you travel to the Gold Coast.
Kind regards from all the team @ Bellakai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Stumbled upon Bellakai along the beachfront of Coolangatta on my way back towards Point Danger and it was a great find. Feeling peckish we grabbed one of the casual outside dining tables with a beach view and ordered a sharing plate of stuffed jalapeños and some calamari. Both of these dishes were delicious, particularly the jalapeños which were crispy on the outside and filled with soft cheese which oozed with each bite. Happy hour was on offer during our early afternoon stop which was an added bonus on a warm Sunday arvo.

1  Thank galavanterAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellakaiCoolangatta, Owner at Bellakai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks so much for coming in to Bellakai, and taking the time to leave us a positive review regarding your enjoyment of our tapas plates and our location - we are so lucky to have an 'office' with ocean views!
As a small family-run business, we greatly appreciate your support.
Our Happy Hour specials are available Wednesdays - Saturdays from 2-5pm, and we hope to host you again soon for some of those cheeky specials :-)
Kindest regards from the team @ Bellakai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

One of the few very early opening restaurants around - I was there around 6 am but I think they open even earlier. Very good service - relaxed - but attentive. Great coffee (needed 2 thanks) and cooked breakfast. Full of locals when I went. I will be back next time I am in Coolangatta.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank anzacsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellakaiCoolangatta, Owner at Bellakai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks so much for coming in to Bellakai, and taking the time to leave us a positive review regarding the attentive service you received from our wonderful staff, our fantastic food and coffee.
As a small family-run business, we are proud of our team who love serving our Coolangatta locals and we greatly appreciate your support.
You're right - we are early birds - open from 5 am weekdays and 6 am on weekends!!
We look forward to seeing you next time you're in town.
Kind regards, Bellakai @ Coolangatta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were very lucky to have breakfast at Bellakai just before the Commonwealth Queen's Baton passed along at 7 am on 3 April. Great "special" scrambled eggs and best coffee in Coolangatta. Staff are wonderful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellakaiCoolangatta, Owner at Bellakai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks so much Roy for coming in to Bellakai, and what an opportunity to be part of the Commonwealth Games action right on our doorstep!
As a small family-run business, we greatly appreciate your support.by taking the time to leave us a positive review regarding our wonderful staff, fantastic food and our amazing coffee.
Kind regards, Bellakai @ Coolangatta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bellakai also viewed

Coolangatta, Gold Coast
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 

Been to Bellakai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing