We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
250
49
11
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
250
49
11
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the gold coast plunge pool across the road restaurant downstairs spa bath sub penthouse close to the airport main bedroom coolangatta airport family holiday a wonderful stay stayed in a bedroom apartment short walk down stairs restaurants and shops perfect location beds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
246 - 251 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We shared the 3 bedroom sub-penthouse suite with ocean views. The apartment is well appointed with Miele appliances and modern fittings. A great selection of crockery, platters and glassware. The terrace area is huge although strong winds during our stay really made this unusable. The bedrooms aren't big by any standard and it's a shame that there is only one ensuite, especially while sharing with others. A hair dryer in each bathroom is also a basic provision, you'd think.
The windows in the third bedroom were filthy, and the bedroom door clunked annoyingly all night (I had to push a pillow up against it). And I can't understand why a premium property is still charging for Internet? Foxtel is available but limited and perhaps a pack of cards for guests would be a nice touch?
Kirra Surf Apartments are a little out of the way, although there is a good coffee shop next door that serves a great breakfast (but don't eat dinner there!!!) But if you don't want to leave the apartment building, this is for you.
Coolangatta next time...
Glossy, yes, but unwelcoming and lacking in character.

Room tip: Ask to see a floor plan
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latte62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaccol666, Manager at Kirra Surf Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thankyou Latte62 for your comments - it seems that you are very experienced in travelling as I am. I too have stayed in a multiple of apartments and other accommodation around the world. During your stay, and even for a couple of weeks after, we had dreadful winds coming in from the ocean. Living right on the beach means that our windows are always a constant concern and understandably, the views are a big part of the reason for staying with us. We have our balcony glass cleaned 3 times a year and we try and keep up with the apartment glass regularly but it doesn't make sense during a very windy period as the glass will be smeared within hours. If, however, we get a particular request to clean the glass during a guests stay, we happliy oblige!! You are correct that there should be 2 hairdryers in each apartment & a quick visit to reception would have taken care of that.The 3rd bedroom windows are only accessible by abe-sailing by professionls so unfortunately, we could not rectify the glass in that regard. Regarding the wiifii, it is the owners who have to pay for the instalation of this and as we are still growing, it is helpful to keeps cost down for them. It is provided for use of the guests and there is an internet kiosk in the foyer area. The Foxtel package is a standard package throughout the resort industry. Recently, I stayed at the Crown Plaza in Melbourne - couldn't even find a free movie channel, at least we have 2 of those amongst the 8 Foxtel channels and up to 20 or more free to view channels. Our building has never been discribed as 'glossy' before and I am sorry that you felt it unwelcoming. We have 13 different floor plans in the building and I am sure that should you wish to visit us in the future, we could provide one that might suit you better. In the meantime, happy travels and thank you for taking the time to write a review on our location at beautiful Kirra - all feed back is welcome!
Jackie, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

What a fantastic place Kirra Surf Apartments are! We stayed for a week in the September school holidays in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit which included an amazing roof top area. The apartment was modern, clean and well appointed. The kitchen had everything you needed to make life for the chief easy. The staff were very friendly and helpful and security was great. A highlight of the trip was the whale watching which could be done from the balcony or roof top area. With fantastic views of the ocean and beach you could sit and watch a variety of activities including sky divers who landed on the beach each morning. It is a great location with a path that follows the beach just across the road. Following our morning stroll we would grab a coffee from the Cafe located at the front of the apartments. Will definitely be staying at Kirra Surf Apartments in the future.

Room tip: Rooms on the top floor include a large roof top area which are great for outdoor dining.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed at Kirra Surf Apartment for the third time and loved it just as much. Fantastic views, Well equipped rooms with everything you could ever want. Great restaurants nearby and Kirra Surf offers everything a surfer could want. HIghly recommend staying at this lovely apartment with fantastic staff.

Room tip: The southern end apartments are certainly much better than the northern end.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinecoastgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 7th floor for a girls weekend away. The apartments appear to be individually owned and as such have unique decor - we had a very clean and calm apartment with a modern beach aesthetic which we enjoyed. We enjoyed cooking a fair bit, and the kitchen was really lovely to work in (except for the under counter sinks, although they look so nice). No proper sharp knives, but apartments never do! There was a teapot and a large coffee plunger - yay!
7th floor meant perfect ocean views - many whale spouts were spotted with the occasional breaching, glorious sunrise over Coolangatta, easy access to the beach, walkways, restaurants, and a lovely pool (I could see my kids absolutely loving it). The best restaurant (Burger Lounge), wonderful gelati shop, a lovely beauty spa (Kirra Beach Beauty) and the NightOwl were a 750m easy walk away.
The main bedroom and ensuite were massive and spacious with huge amounts of storage. The 2nd and 3rd bedrooms were cosy - would be perfect for a family, a little squishier for us. And one room had unreliable air-con, so it got hot at night. My bed was a bit soft for me, but that's probably just me. The 2nd bathroom was tiny - make sure you are nice to whomever is in the big room. Free Austar with movie channels and DVD/CD player - we couldn't find an Ipod dock for those to whom that is important. We hardly saw reception - we were so comfortable with where we were we didn't ask for much. Any check in requests were easily accommodated. Only a few picky cleaning issues - the glass balustrades and sliding doors were a bit grimy as was the outdoor table - although keeping them clean would be very difficult, but it did cut down on the view. There was such a wind the first couple of days that we often had to keep the doors closed, but on the last couple of perfect days, you wouldn't change location for anything!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cravingescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaccol666, Manager at Kirra Surf Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Thank you 'Cravingescape' for your wonderful comments and valuable feedback!
We tend to have a lot of 'girls weekends away' and understand how important this little break is - who can pass up some fabulous 'Girl time?'.
We have recently purchased a commercial machine to sharpen the knives in the resort. Being a hobbie chef myself, it is very frustrating to find blunt knives on holiday & we apologise for the lack of sharp knives. Those jolly aircon units do need some assistance from time to time & we would have loved to have had the opportunity to help you out with that but have investigated that anyway for our next guests.
With our location being right in front of the ocean, the windows are forever being cleaned. As you mentioned, we went through a blustery period which always defeats any cleans for the glass areas. However, whilst in house, once the wind dies down, we would have happily cleaned them again. Unfornately, the balustrades are only cleaned 3 monthly because of they are on the outside of the building, so we leave that to the experts!!
As always, thank you for visiting us here in gorgeous Kirra, we look forward to weloming you all back in the future - sharp knives included!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a fantastic 4 night stay Aug/Sep and never wanted to leave. Beautiful modern apartment on the 7th floor with fabulous ocean views - even saw the whales. The apartment itself was faultless! The only drawback was hearing the traffic (particularly noisy buses/trucks) whilst the balcony doors were open, however we never heard the neighbours in other apartments so night time was quiet. Happy to return anytime!! Thank you for having us!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherNMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews