We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jodi”

Baskk at Kirra Point
Ranked #25 of 175 Restaurants in Coolangatta
Description: Don't leave Coolangatta until you have tried Bassk offering a Progressive Australian Menu designed to share. Baskk has fast become a social destination, embracing the home-grown surfing culture and offering a casual but sophisticated dining space and outdoor setting with idyllic ocean views, beachfront. The latest venture by renowned locals by the Archdeacon family owners of the ever popular Dbar Café, Baskk offers an exceptionally crafted menu. The woodfire oven and state of the art kitchen impart elements of fresh, local produce throughout the tastefully inspired dishes. Offering our new June 2018 Winter Menu with a passion for local fare with a creative twist by Chef Hamish Wilson. A carefully selected wine, cocktail, gin and whisky bar has been created by the ever talented sommelier Andrew Crabtree, along with owner and operator Briellen Archdeacon. With seating for 150 patrons 7 nights a week and long Lunches every Fri Sat and Sun we invite you to book now online at Baskk.co
Restaurant details
Description: Don't leave Coolangatta until you have tried Bassk offering a Progressive Australian Menu designed to share. Baskk has fast become a social destination, embracing the home-grown surfing culture and offering a casual but sophisticated dining space and outdoor setting with idyllic ocean views, beachfront. The latest venture by renowned locals by the Archdeacon family owners of the ever popular Dbar Café, Baskk offers an exceptionally crafted menu. The woodfire oven and state of the art kitchen impart elements of fresh, local produce throughout the tastefully inspired dishes. Offering our new June 2018 Winter Menu with a passion for local fare with a creative twist by Chef Hamish Wilson. A carefully selected wine, cocktail, gin and whisky bar has been created by the ever talented sommelier Andrew Crabtree, along with owner and operator Briellen Archdeacon. With seating for 150 patrons 7 nights a week and long Lunches every Fri Sat and Sun we invite you to book now online at Baskk.co
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Popped in for just a coffee, and ended up having the $49 tasting menu !! Amazing flavours, beautiful presentation, and friendly blue-eyed service, from our waitress Em.
The Creme Brûlée Cocktail for dessert - definitely a must have !! We will be back for sure.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Jodi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018

Dined here over the weekend, the food and service was good - but come on - can this
place get the music any louder!!! It was crazy loud, we couldn't hear each other talk. Had I not been with a group I would of left and not bothered eating here.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank wevans2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We were searching for fine dining on a Sunday night. Unable to find anything in Byron Bay. Ventured to Coolangatta and last resort finished up at Baskk. Strange decor on the walls. Seating fairly basic but sufficient. Music very loud.

Ordering a meal and drinks was made very easy by Sophie. By the time we were ready to leave we came to the conclusion: The shared rack of lamb and accompaniments was fantastic, the cocktails great and the service wonderful.

Five stars.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Great spot with fusion tapas food. Great bartender with delicious cocktails Food interesting Octopus good. Would recommend eggplant pizza iffy Great ambiance in a sea of hot spots

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank ltwiggs2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Our first time at Baskk and our last. We went on the “special” roast night and we arrived just after 6:00pm to be told there were only a few pork and chicken roasts left. We ordered three pork and one chicken and to be fair, the pork was done OK but the chicken was rock hard and had never seen the inside of an oven. I’ve cooked and eaten enough roast chicken dishes to know the difference and Baskk should have had the good grace to be embarrassed to claim that chicken as representing the standard of their restaurant. I believe they had run out of roast chicken and instead of telling me, decided to throw any old piece of chicken at me in the hope that I wouldn’t notice or say anything. That was never going to happen.
I don’t care if the meal is $15 or $500, the meal the restaurant sends out should be something that they are proud of and not something that will do because it’s the roast night. I sent the chicken back and was informed that, yes, they had run out of chicken and gave me the option of their Louisiana Blackened Chicken. At least it wasn’t as hard as the ‘roast’ chicken but it was perhaps the most boring, tasteless, loveless piece of chicken and it wasn’t even worth the calorie intake and I left it after one bite. The waitress didn’t even bother to ask what was wrong with it when she took it back to the kitchen.
The vegetable may be better if you get there around 5:00pm but ours were cooked through but were missing the deep flavour and crispness of a proper roast and the lovely caramelised flavours that come with that. The pumpkin didn’t have any colour at all and tasted as if it had been parboiled and given ten minutes in the oven. Lastly, the Woolworths precooked bread rolls that you only have to reheat in the oven. Seriously, how do you manage to get them wrong?!
We were looking forward to trying the dessert but decided that, based on the main, we should just cut our losses and run.
On paying our bill, my husband told them how disappointing my dish was and how poorly the chicken was cooked. Her response ....... the apathetic “I’ll pass it on to the chef”

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank happytraveller2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
737Donna, Manager at Baskk at Kirra Point, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Due to your review we have decided to cancel Roast Night our idea was to offer a cheaper alternative for Monday nights it was very successful...we prepared 50 roast dinners each Monday and on the night you came we sold out by 6pm.

The staff should of said sold out but they tried to offer what we had and we apologise it wasn't to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baskk at Kirra Point also viewed

Coolangatta, Gold Coast
Currumbin, Gold Coast
 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 

Been to Baskk at Kirra Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing