We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
124
109
29
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
109
29
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shopping centre across the road coolangatta beach great location front facing room level renovated unit direct access second bedroom large kitchen patrolled beach car park reception staff ceiling fan main bathroom enjoyable stay an update
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

First time here and will definitely be returning. Staff were wonderful and attentive. Location and Resort were just perfect for me, especially being attached to the Strand. Rooms were spacious comfortable and clean. No complaints from me.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GN_Aussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management M, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Hi GN_Aussies,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased that you had a great time at Ocean Plaza Resort. Our location is unique with so many facilities within a short walk.
Our entire team work very hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable time, all our apartments have awesome ocean views and good sized balconies.
We are looking forward to your next visit to us in Paradise.

Regards
Building Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Location is perfect. Easy access to the Strand Shopping Centre, restaurants galore just below the hotel, beach directly across the street.

The unit we stayed in clearly hasn't been renovated or repaired since the building was built. Kitchen and bathrooms well overdue for maintenance. Other than that great. Rooms were cleaned and presented well. Owner of this unit needs to spend some money.

Room tip: Views fantastic, access to everything is perfect.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alij772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management M, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Hi Ali J

Thank you fore your feedback, we are pleased you found our location perfect, having the Strand shopping centre accessible from within our building is very convenient. There is a Woolies and Aldi in the Strand as well as numerous cafes and restaurants, Timezone, cinemas, doctor surgery, chemist, dentist and lots of other specialty stores not to mention the Bottle Store. One of Australia's best beaches is directly across Marine Parade and Surf lifesavers are on duty every day.
All our apartments are individually owned and the décor reflects the tastes of the owners.
Our entire team from front office reception to maintenance and housekeeping work hard to present the apartments well and give our guests the most enjoyable time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed for the second time at ocean plaza. We love Coolangatta and the location the apartments are at. Coolangatta is in a prime surf location with many amazing eateries, cafes and boutique shops to visit.

The ocean plaza is a great complex but many rooms need renovating. I understand they are privately owned and as an investor owners should spend money on their investment to ensure good reviews.

The room is the first impression a guest has on arrival of the whole complex and if it’s not up to standard then it’s not a great start to a holiday. Both times I have booked with ocean plaza we had room 7-25. The decor is totally stuck in another era and urgently needs to be upgraded to current styles. View is amazing. Walks need cleaning, tile grout needs a steam clean, curtains don’t shut across properly, dust and chips in ceiling fans. Kitchen has loose tile and cabinets are dated and vinyl wrap peeling.

The floor rug and couch needs a desperate dry clean. Full of dust and sand!

Main bedroom bed should be replaced! I was up most nights because I couldn’t sleep properly and both my husband and I rolled into each other. A good sign the mattress is old and past it’s used by date.

Golf was lack lustre. Pretty crap actually and everything stored in front counter. Pool and spa was nice with a great views.

We will be back because of location and the strand but will certainly request a front facing updated room. I hope these reviews are passed onto the owners!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management M, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi Kath M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Ocean Plaza Resort. We agree our location is special in a prime location.

Many of our owners have renovated their rooms, our owners come from a wide variety of situations and backgrounds. The Apartments reflect the taste of each individual owner that is not always the same taste as our guests. We do encourage owners to renovate their rooms regularly and suggest owners follow a similar décor however the final decision rests with the owner.

We are looking forward to your return, if you call and book direct with us we can assist you to get an apartment to your liking.

Kind regards
Building Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit which had 3 bathrooms. It was very spacious, and comfortable. The views were spectacular. Shops and restaurants downstairs, no need to drive anywhere once you're there. We can't wait to go back.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management M, General Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Hi Carol C,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very pleased to hear you had a great time and are looking forward to coming back.
Our location is definitely unique with one of Australia's best beaches directly across the road and so many facilities and attractions within a short walk. There are 2 Surf Cubs either end of the beach, the Strand Shopping centre has numerous restaurants and cafe's, Woolies and Aldi Supermarkets, Doctors, Chemist, Dentist, Timezone, cinemas, Hotels in fact everything you need without even leaving the building.

Regards
Building Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

we booked this with some apprehension after reading previous negative reports on tripadvisor I am pleased to say my fears were totally unfounded we had a lovely apartment with magnificent views of snapper rocks, The staff were both cheerful and helpful it is an excellent position as we really appreciated as my wife was not well and it was easy to do any shopping. To a certain extent this spoiled our holiday this only made us more determined to return here to fully enjoy the place. It also has a great pool and spa which we were also very thankful for we were able to relax by the pool. Would definitely recommend this to anyone

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank anth0ny1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management M, Manager at Ocean Plaza Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hi Anthony1946,

Thank you for your feedback, we are very happy to hear you really enjoyed yourself and are looking forward to coming back when your wife has recovered.
All our apartments have amazing ocean views and our location with so many facilities and conveniences within the complex or just a short walk away is very unique.
We are looking forward to your return, our pool and spa are heated all year round so you can unwind by the pool then enjoy a BBQ.

Regards
Building Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews