We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant”
Review of Rookie Eatery

Rookie Eatery
Ranked #9 of 493 Restaurants in Wollongong
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 October 2018

We chose the 'feed me 2' option with dessert. The food didn't come out too quickly which allowed us to pace ourselves, and each dish was yummy. Staff could have explained a bit more about what each dish contained as we were genuinely interested in the flavours and pairings. Best thing was - we actually left the restaurant FULL! This place is well worth the money if you want to treat yourself.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephariffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018

We dined at Rookie due the reviews of the food and we weren’t disappointed...the Feed me 3 selection was delicious, plated well and the staff were very friendly. Our only complaint would be we were seated, decided on our course selections, served our 6 courses and all done in 50mins. We felt very rushed and didn’t truly appreciate the food experience. We couldn’t fault the flavours and selection of the dishes....so will be back but will ask for a more paced dining experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We decided we would try Rookie on the recommendation of a couple of people and were not disappointed. We ordered the Feed Me 2 option, @$65 as head, which consisted of 3 entrees and 2 mains to share between the two of us.

Service was excellent from being greeted at the door to ensuring we were enjoying our dining experience.

The starter of roti and yellow curry dipping sauce was fantastic.

The selection on offer was kingfish sashimi; pork belly & scallops; lamb neck; snapper; Wagyu beef. All were different & very tasty.

Having tried the Feed Me option we identified the dishes we really liked and when we return we will try the a la carte menu.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TroyB634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Went for the "Feed Me 1" menu which is a Dégustation. Wow ...that's pretty much it. Whilst the venue in itself is unpretentiously relaxing, the efficiency and service second to none. The knowledge staff had for each of the various courses and wine confirms just how important and relevant the chef devotes to the whole experience. Whilst that does come at a premium over some contemporaries, it is also what sets them so far above them.
Definitely returning to experience other delights from the menu.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Visited last week and had the “Feed me” menu and it exceeded my expectations. My friend is vegan and I am not and the staff were so accomodating. As we were having seperate meals, I was able to have more than the standard serving leaving me feeling g so full and satisfied. The food was cooked so beautifully and the staff were so knowledgeable. Will definitely be back, it’s a real treat!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rookie Eatery also viewed

Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
Wollongong, New South Wales
 
Wollongong, New South Wales
 

Been to Rookie Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing