We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation in Wollongong”
Review of City Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Beach Motel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and affordable accommodation in Wollongong”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We've stayed at City Beach Motel a number of times, purely for the budget price it offered. However, this weekend we stayed again, only this time is under new management, and the new people were warm and friendly, and cared. They've put real style into the grounds simply by adding plants, (lots of them) and it looked great. The rooms didn't look much diferent, but I noticed we had new coloured towels (matching mats, handtowels, facewashers). It felt very comfortable. It's a bit dated, but it was spotlessly clean. Cooking facilities a great bonus. Great for a family, or a couple like us. We would highly recommend this place. It's a walk into the centre, a walk to restaurants, coffee shops, and only a short stroll to the beach. Who could ask for anything else???? Love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne_bill_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    11
    6
    10
See reviews for
10
14
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed for a concert & found the new owners just lovely.The room was very clean and the service was excellent. Yes some of the fittings are dated, but we thought it added character. Studio Room even had a bath!!! Very good position close to beach and shops. BBQ area available, undercover parking, guest laundry and free tennis courts next door. AA++

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueMax H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

we booked city beach motel wollongong and had to cancel our booking due to poor health of a family member. We were charged $120 plus booking fee $25. The owner didnt care, was a money grabbing person. They had nearly two weeks notice. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank delaneydelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wollongong hotels

NSW Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My husband & I decided to make a surprise visit to my brother in Wollongong so we booked this hotel - studio room. It was VERY over priced and in bad need of repair!
The noise from the street was so bad that we hardly slept at all- it felt like we were in a bed on the street. The smell of 'room freshener' was so overpowering we had to leave the door and window open for nearly 1 hour to try to make it bearable. The carpet was filthy and the towels were so thin and hard and small that even having a warm shower was not pleasant. Certainly a place I shall not be returning to.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanna24NSWAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Booked this motel as we were attending a family wedding with the reception just across the road at the Five Islands Brewery. As some family members were coming from interstate we requested and were kindly given, an early check-in to enable them to get ready before the wedding ceremony. We had three rooms and were pleasantly surprised, after finding and reading the below reviews (and wondering what have we done?), to find that all the rooms were clean, with no odour and were quite large. The kitchenette (which was also clean) in each of the rooms were also a surprise (and would be very useful if staying for an extended time), as I've only come across these in motels in New Zealand. Granted the rooms are retro 60's in design but very comfortable. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod_in_SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.3 km away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#3 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.3 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.3 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
1.4 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Beach Motel

Property: City Beach Motel
Address: 22 Crown St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Wollongong
Price range (per night): $119 - $170
Hotel Class:3 star — City Beach Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your City Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Beach Motel Wollongong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing