We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle Museum at the Powerhouse”

Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Tamworth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum houses a private collection of over 50 motorcycles in pristine working order from the 50s, 60s, 70s and 80s. The collection of bikes includes Ducati, Triumph, Honda, Velocette & Laverda. All motorcycles have been immaculately restored to concourse condition, plus there are some limited edition current models. Open every day from 9am - 5pm (except Christmas Day).
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum in Tamworth, NSW is a must see for any bike enthusiast. The museum houses a private collection of over 50 motorcycles in pristine working order from the 50s, 60s, 70s and 80s and they are all immaculate.

The location is funded by donations however, there is an awesome gift shop to buy the little nik-naks to remember the day you stopped in.

Don't be a tight fist, throw some coin their way and help keep this place running while enjoying a trip down memory lane from where the motorcycle started, to where it is today.

Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHPG, General Manager at Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you for the fantastic review & for your appreciation of the Museum! It is nice to hear your thoughts on our collection & gift shop where we sell an extensive range of motorbike memorabilia. The bikes often evoke pleasant memories for our visitors - what a great thing to be able to do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2017

The price of entry allows you to see someone's private collection that has been made public. Not the best range but then the price for entry is cheap. A couple of machines would be most welcome in my shed.

Thank Alyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHPG, General Manager at Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

We're delighted you found a few motorcycles in our collection that would feel at home in your shed! Thank you for stopping by & for sharing your review - it means a lot from such an avid Trip Advisor traveller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in Quality Powerhouse Hotel in Tamworth and the Museum is just a walking distance from where we stayed.

They have varities of motorcyles, but not as many as I expected. I hope they are going to add more motorcycles in the future by using the second floor of the building.

And i hope it is not that much to ask that if you stayed in their hotel you will have free access in the museum because both places is owned by the same person.



Thank arvtravz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHPG, General Manager at Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

We appreciate you visiting the museum & for your suggestions on how we can improve your experience. The owner will definitely look to extend the motorcycle collection in the future. Thank you for visiting The Powerhouse & Tamworth on your recent travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Good little museum with a number of interesting bikes. Attendant was a wealth of knowledge and information.

Thank Mumma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHPG, General Manager at Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2017

Thank you for stopping by to enjoy our bikes! We're delighted you enjoyed your time & that our volunteer was a great guide. Safe travels & thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Absolutely fabulous and a must see. The gentleman on site is full of knowledge of all the bikes. He can even tell you when they arrived at the museum. The variety of bikes and history along with them is brilliant and well presented. A definite Must see for all ages.

Thank Satan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QHPG, General Manager at Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

What a terrific review - we're so pleased you dropped in to view our motorbike collection! Thank you for the wonderful feedback about our volunteers - they really have an infectious passion for bikes. Happy New Year to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum also viewed

 
Tamworth, New South Wales
Tamworth, New South Wales
 

Been to Powerhouse Motorcycle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing