We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best nights sleep I've had in years!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Age Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, very comfortable beds, great location and great food. What more could you ask from a budget hotel?

Ambience....the place had a very homly feel to it that will remind you of the Golden ages

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ongoncatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased to hear that you loved our meals and that you had a great sleep in our new beds! Hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Madelaine & Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 220 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at this Motel over the weekend and had a very pleasant experience. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious,and were fully stocked with everything we needed. There was ample parking, right outside our room, and the motel is located close to the cbd.
They have a lovely, clean breakfast room with a buffett stocked with everything you could possibly want to pick from, our hot breakfast was cooked fresh and was delicious. The owner is an amazing woman who we had the pleasure of meeting over breakfast. She told us her goal is for people to feel this was their home away from home, she certainly has achieved this.
We have stayed at alot of Motels in the Canberra/Queanbeyan region and this one certainly is above the rest! The tarrif was very very fair, infact I would have definately paid more for my stay. We will definately be returning to this lovely Motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 night this week. Clean rooms, comfortable bed, very presentable furnishings etc. Had restaurant quality meals in dining room, delicious food, good menu choices and very generous servings. The staff we came in contact with were extremely pleasant and accomodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

If they lose the creepy dolls!

Service was pretty good, bed was comfortable, room was clean. I was in a room facing the main road, but it wasn't too noisy at all.

I think some of the other reviews are expecting far too much from a country town motel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelchanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your response.

We are trying to aim for the comfort and needs for people who are traveling to Queanbeyan & Canberra, wanting accomodation conveniently close to the main roads linking to the city.

We are glad you found our rooms & beds to be comfortable as our one of our main priorities is guest comfort in the rooms.

Hope to see you again at The Golden Age soon.

Kind regards,

Madelaine & Daniel (Managment)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had to stay here because it was the only place we could find with rooms, Canberra was booked out because parliament is sitting. The motel is quite pleasant and clean, the beds are very comfortable and the rooms have large digital TVs. The room was very clean so no complaints there. The only things that detracted from our stay were a) we actually wanted to be in Canberra not 'struggletown' b) The staff were quite rude and unfriendly c) We found the room very noisy

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

1. Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our motel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests and would like to respond to your comment.

Queanbeyan has a country atmosphere and is very close to the ACT and when parliament are sitting Canberra hotels do fill and people have to go to the outskirts of Canberra to find rooms. We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be comfortable as we have had focus on this by recently buying new sealy posturepedic pillowtop beds, updating our TV’s to large flat screen televisions, modernising bathrooms and offering free internet.

We are however sorry to hear also that you found the service to be unsatisfying, we will take your feedback onboard and focus on improving our overall service levels with our current staff.

The noise levels compare favourably to any large city, with very short peak traffic periods. However if you were to book with us again you can request one of our Deluxe rooms on the other side of the building as they would suit the more noise sensitive traveller.

We hope you will consider returning to stay with us in the future.

Regards, Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queanbeyan
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn Airport International
10.1 km away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 60 in Canberra
1,960 reviews
1 km away
Best Western Central Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
Hamiltons Townhouse Motel
#5 of 14 in Queanbeyan
78 reviews
2.5 km away
Quality Inn Country Plaza Queanbeyan
0.8 km away
Mid City Motor Inn
Mid City Motor Inn
#4 of 14 in Queanbeyan
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Age Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Age Motor Inn

Address: 56 - 58 Macquoid St, Queanbeyan, New South Wales 2620, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Queanbeyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Queanbeyan
Price Range: $105 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Age Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Motel is a modern soundproofed full brick 2 storey building. We are 100% Australian owned and operated. We have been providing hospitality here for over 13 years to date. Our hospitality is second to none and we invite you to stay and experience country comfort 10 minutes from the heart of Canberra. All rooms are spacious,our beds are extremely comfortable pillow top models with lots of comfort layers. You can enjoy our big screen televisions with free to air and many Foxtel channels for entertainment. We have free wired internet available in all rooms. Breakfast is available 7 days to your room or in our sunny breakfast room. Dinner is available Mon to Thursday evenings in our restaurant or as room service. There are stacks of eateries a short walk into the main street of Queanbeyan available 7 days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Golden Age Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Age Motor Hotel Queanbeyan
Golden Age Motor Inn Queanbeyan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing