We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
129
93
16
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
129
93
16
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here cooked breakfast home away from home extra touches free continental breakfast modern bathroom shower cap comfortable beds will stay there again main road biscuits staff are very friendly and helpful leagues club nice stay fast food outlets room was large town centre
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at this Motel over the weekend and had a very pleasant experience. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious,and were fully stocked with everything we needed. There was ample parking, right outside our room, and the motel is located close to the cbd.
They have a lovely, clean breakfast room with a buffett stocked with everything you could possibly want to pick from, our hot breakfast was cooked fresh and was delicious. The owner is an amazing woman who we had the pleasure of meeting over breakfast. She told us her goal is for people to feel this was their home away from home, she certainly has achieved this.
We have stayed at alot of Motels in the Canberra/Queanbeyan region and this one certainly is above the rest! The tarrif was very very fair, infact I would have definately paid more for my stay. We will definately be returning to this lovely Motel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for 1 night this week. Clean rooms, comfortable bed, very presentable furnishings etc. Had restaurant quality meals in dining room, delicious food, good menu choices and very generous servings. The staff we came in contact with were extremely pleasant and accomodating. Nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

If they lose the creepy dolls!

Service was pretty good, bed was comfortable, room was clean. I was in a room facing the main road, but it wasn't too noisy at all.

I think some of the other reviews are expecting far too much from a country town motel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelchanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your response.

We are trying to aim for the comfort and needs for people who are traveling to Queanbeyan & Canberra, wanting accomodation conveniently close to the main roads linking to the city.

We are glad you found our rooms & beds to be comfortable as our one of our main priorities is guest comfort in the rooms.

Hope to see you again at The Golden Age soon.

Kind regards,

Madelaine & Daniel (Managment)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We had to stay here because it was the only place we could find with rooms, Canberra was booked out because parliament is sitting. The motel is quite pleasant and clean, the beds are very comfortable and the rooms have large digital TVs. The room was very clean so no complaints there. The only things that detracted from our stay were a) we actually wanted to be in Canberra not 'struggletown' b) The staff were quite rude and unfriendly c) We found the room very noisy

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

1. Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our motel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests and would like to respond to your comment.

Queanbeyan has a country atmosphere and is very close to the ACT and when parliament are sitting Canberra hotels do fill and people have to go to the outskirts of Canberra to find rooms. We are pleased to hear that you found our rooms to be comfortable as we have had focus on this by recently buying new sealy posturepedic pillowtop beds, updating our TV’s to large flat screen televisions, modernising bathrooms and offering free internet.

We are however sorry to hear also that you found the service to be unsatisfying, we will take your feedback onboard and focus on improving our overall service levels with our current staff.

The noise levels compare favourably to any large city, with very short peak traffic periods. However if you were to book with us again you can request one of our Deluxe rooms on the other side of the building as they would suit the more noise sensitive traveller.

We hope you will consider returning to stay with us in the future.

Regards, Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This motel is located on one of the busiest roadways in Queanbeyan. Many of the rooms are designed so that they have only small windows facing to the back so that they reduce the roadway noise. The rooms are generally clean and comfortable with reasonably sized ensuites. Someone has a weird sense of interior decoration with finishing touches of creepy dolls. The food in the restaurant is overpriced, over crumbed, fried, tasteless and disatisfying. I have tried salads, soups and breads to try to find something fresh and tastier. Unfortunately they do not seem to be able to make a simple, fresh, tasty meal. I am confused about how the breakfast menu works. One day I was greeted by a staff member in the breakfast room who appeared to be sick with the flu. She took my order for a cooked breakfast and offered to cook my toast. The next day I waited for my order to be taken for half an hour before realizing there was a cooked buffet on this day. The cooked breakfast method seems to be different on different days? The motel is located within a short walk to fast food chains such as McDonalds which is convenient if you arrive late and want a quick late night snack or dessert. The rooms have free access to tv channels and in house movies. Overall rooms are not bad, if you don't mind being a bit closed in with a small window and if you can get one with some protection from the front road noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guydii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenAgeQueanbeyan, Manager at Golden Age Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our motel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests and would like to respond to your comment.

You mentioned some of our rooms having smaller windows. The smallest windows we have are 1200 x 1550 mm, we have options where if you wish to have larger windows or even a balcony you can try our deluxe suites with a choice of queen & king beds.

In regards to the restaurant we have recently hired a new chef , sous chef & waitering staff and we are currently working together improving our restaurants choice of meals, such as; Lamb shanks, Moroccan Chicken Pasta, Rump Steak, Chicken Avocado Mignon amongst others. We have specials on every week now, and are changing the menu every 3 months keeping the most popular dishes but trying to give some variation for guests who stay with us on a regular basis. We hope that you will enjoy our new choices if returning to us in the future.

Our breakfast we offer a room service breakfast menu or a breakfast in our sunny breakfast room offering:
A continental breakfast at $15 per person, which includes:
A selection of 5 cereals, 4 juices, Fresh fruit salad, a fruit platter, Toast with a large variety of jams & other spreads, yoghurts, Bottomless Teas, hot chocolate & Coffees from a cappuccino maker.

A fully cooked breakfast for $20 per person includes: the entire continental above, in addition to: Bacon, Scrambled eggs (or if you prefer fried or poached we make this to order), Rissoles or lamb chops, beans, spaghetti, mushrooms & tomatoes.

We would hope that this breakfast covers most people’s expectations and the quality of the food is a high priority.

As we have very busy weekdays we have a buffet breakfast available to all guests, however on quieter days f.eks. weekends we try to personalise our breakfast room and keep the food fresh for our guests buy cooking to order. This must have been one of the days you have mentioned, however it is staff responsibility to inform you of this change, so we do apologise that there was not proper communication explaining this to you, and we will work on our routines around this.

We hope you will return to visit us in the future and do not hesitate to contact us when booking.

Kind regards, Madelaine & Daniel (Managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews