We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Genius tourist attraction

The gorgeous sculptures are a credit to this who made them and thought of such a simple, genius... read more

Reviewed 28 May 2021
jillyo88
,
Reservoir, Australia
A fun family exercise - Koala Hunting

Amazing amazing project!!!!! My teenagers had a blast chasing these koalas all over town. Met the... read more

Reviewed 21 April 2021
TravellingAsthmatic
,
Maitland, Australia
Read all 395 reviews
  
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
285
94
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
285
94
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great idea fun finding hand painted treasure hunt great art great fun lovely town free activity all ages koala hospital rainforest centre a lot of fun sea acres visiting port macquarie sculptures photos koalas
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2021

By accident, we found more and more of these beautiful koalas as we go around the city in shops, cafes, and hotels,

Date of experience: March 2021
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail has 79 one metre high fibreglass koala sculptures, hand painted by local artists in the Port Macquarie-Hastings region.

So we are glad you found lots to see and say "hello" on your visit to Port Macquarie.

Thank you for letting us know about your discovery of our Hello Koalas. We are working on our 80th koala right and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. We offer a 24/7 information hotline by text and email too. Just visit our website for details. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021

Omg what an absolute amazing experience! Just like a treasure hunt for all ages! Absolute beautiful koalas which get you to see all around Port Macquarie and surrounds! The artistry on them is amazing and they all tell a specific story! The amazing woman Margaret who created them was an absolute pleasure to meet who took time out of her weekend to meet us and wow so clever! Thank you so much, I am in love with these koalas!

Date of experience: February 2021
2  Thank corinnee364
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Thanks for your glowing comments. It's lovely for the Hello Koalas team to receive this feedback.

And I personally enjoy the opportunity to meet and chat with people like yourself who enjoy our Hello Koalas.

We are not able to remain open every day in our Hello Koalas Gift Shop but we are happy to open by appointment or request if we can do so. We live an hour out of town so a little notice is always appreciated! Looking forward to welcoming you back on your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021 via mobile

A great activity to do with the kids. The koalas are amazing. Great art. It was disappointing that the hello Koalas shop was closed. Very limited hours and not open every day.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank Newytraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

Glad you and your family enjoyed the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail.

I'm sorry our Hello Koalas Gift Shop is not open every day (we'd like to be!) but our shop is new and we are still working out the best days and times to open that will suit locals and visitors and letting people know where we are.

Unit 16, 10 Bellbowrie Street, off Hastings River Drive is our address but we are not situated at street level so people need to drive a short way into the business park. There is usually plenty of parking right outside our Shop and when we are open we usually place 3 or 4 Hello Koalas sculptures out the front.

Outside of our usual hours of opening, we are happy to open up on request via a text or email, it we are able to do so. but as we live out of town, it is not always easy to meet those requests. But we do our best!

At present we open 10am to 3pm, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. During the school holidays we aim to extend our hours of opening. Information is accessible via our website or social media.

Thank you for sharing your comments - we really value feedback to enhance the Hello Koalas experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2021

What an amazing fun family activity. We searched for as many as we could in one day and found over 40. We wish we would have started this earlier on our holiday. My teenage kids loved not only finding them and ticking them off but the art work and appreciating the effort such a great cause brings to our wonderful native animals. A fun free activity that I highly recommend. Loved it!

Date of experience: January 2021
5  Thank Jorjaim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2021

Thank you so much for your review. It ticked so many boxes for us.

I am sorry we didn't meet personally at our Hello Koalas Memorabilia Shop where we have around 10 Hello Koalas sculptures to say "hello" plus I love meeting people who are locals or visiting Port Macquarie and are interested in the history of the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail.

At this stage we are open three days a week (Tues, Wed and Thurs, 10am to 3pm) but planning to open longer during school holidays. Check the website or our facebook page for further details.

And thanks again for your valued comments ..which inspire us to continue our koala conservation and artistic journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

We did this last year and absolutely loved it. What a great way to see Port Macquarie and also get my boys walking around a bit more. Great fun for all the family

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2021

So delighted to receive your review. Thank you. "Fun" is a key word in our vocabulary along with hearing people getting out and about, discovering Port Macquarie and enjoying our Hello Koalas sculptures by such talented local artists.

Our 5th annual Hello Koalas Festival is on 25 and 26 September this year if you are planning another visit to Port Macquarie and come and say hello to me too at our Hello Koalas Shop. I can tell the boys about how we make our koalas and show them the moulds we use in the fibreglass manufacture. A bit like making surfboards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews