We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Absolute amazing experience

Omg what an absolute amazing experience! Just like a treasure hunt for all ages! Absolute beautiful... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
corinnee364
Lots of fun

A great activity to do with the kids. The koalas are amazing. Great art. It was disappointing that... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Newytraveller53
,
Newcastle, Australia
via mobile
Read all 390 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Port Macquarie
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
282
93
12
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
282
93
12
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great idea hand painted local artists great fun koala hospital rainforest centre a lot of fun sea acres sculptures photos koalas port awareness wauchope glasshouse project merchandise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2020

Upon arriving at my hotel in Port Macquarie the first thing I noticed was a sculpture of a koala outside the hotel. I soon learnt that there were many other koala sculptures like this around Port Macquarie and that the aim was to try and find all of the sculptures. If you go to Sea Acres Rainforest Centre they have a map you can take which shows you where all of the sculptures are, you can also get a map from the offical Hello Koala's store where they work on the sculptures and sell merchandise.
I met the Woman behind Hello Koala's Margret Meagher, she invited me into the shop and kindly shared with me the history of Hello Koalas. During a trip to the UK Margret came across the Larkin With Toads Public Art Project which inspired her to create Hello Koalas, she felt that these sculptures would be a good way to engage and up lift the community, Margret also explained that these sculptures can be beneficial to people with Dementia as art has been proven to help people with Dementia as it can increase brain stimulation and improve memory.
The sculptures are all hand painted by Australian artists, I think this project is amazing and I wish we had this here in Sydney, it was great fun going around with my map and one by one ticking the sculptures off.

Date of experience: September 2020
1  Thank TheSydneyDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a comprehensive and complimentary review and one of delight for the Hello Koalas team who work very hard to achieve an outstanding visitor experience..

We are preparing to take a travelling exhibition to Australian Botanic Garden, Mt Annan, near Campbelltown for the month of April so I hope you can come and see our display 22 Hello Koalas in this beautiful natural environment.

And when you come to Port Macquarie next time please give me a bell on 0416 641 482 and l'll take you on a short walking tour near our Shop where we have around 20 Hello Koalas on location.

Thanks again for a great review. Best wishes Margret


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

Just love the concept of the Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail. There are over 70 of these beautifully painted Koalas dotted across the Port Macquarie and the surrounding area.
There is a trail brochure you can download or pick up which tells you where they are located.
Having a quite a large population of Koalas in Port and being home the the Koala Hospital it is a fitting place for the sculptures. They bring joy and raise awareness of these cute, adorable and unique creatures. But the sculptures also raise a more serious awareness to these marsupials plight, with dwindling numbers due to habitat destruction by firs and urban development.
My favourite one was tucked in front of a motel in Port Macquarie depicting lovely sea creatures. Being a lover of the ocean and a scuba diver this had to be my pick.

Date of experience: November 2020
2  Thank 993anitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you .. you have highlighted the key attractions about the Hello Koalas sculptures and picked one of our standout sculptures.

The owners of the Ocean Breeze Motel have created their own home for their Hello Koalas sculpture, Australia Below the Surface, by Sydney artist Chanetelle Ferri, sits right on the verge outside the property for all to see who pass by. The sculpture is lit up at night time.
The artwork glistens in the sun and makes you want to have a dip in the ocean nearby.
Lovely family who operate the motel. Totally service oriented. Highly recommended.
Hello Koalas is lucky to partner with some excellent tourism providers and local businesses and community groups.

Look forward to you returning sometime soon and please get in touch for a guided tour.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020

My wife and I started to take photos of the Koalas as we walked around town. We then found the brochure and the next day started to travel to all of the Koalas around Port. What a great way to see the town and adjoining areas. Would highly recommend this trail.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank kdrennan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2020

We very much appreciated you sharing your Hello Koalas experience with us this afternoon when you visited our Hello Koalas Memorabilia Shop and now with this review.

It means a lot to us to hear we are kicking goals when presenting a free public sculpture trail which engages people with our conservation messages while also providing lots of good fun and enjoyment exploring our region - and showcasing the exquisite talents of our local fibreglass manufacturer and many local artists on the Mid North Coast.

Hello Koalas is a team effort and we all thrive on positive feedback. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

You don't need an excuse to exercise, you just want to see the next one! There are others around the shopping centres too!

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank Analyse2029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Yeh! Thank you for that thought. Heartwarming to read your review and yes they make us all smile too ...
We have just set up a shop at 10 Bellbowrie Street in Port Macquarie and we have 10 Hello Koalas sculptures on display so it's all smiles here every day! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2020 via mobile

We’ve visited port and the area a number of times since the Koala Trail started. The kids never never get tired of it.
We were there the first year it started, as a result the Koalas have a very special place in our kids memory, they just love hunting the town for them.
What a brilliant idea.

Date of experience: October 2020
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hellokoalas, Owner at Hello Koalas Sculpture Trail, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2020

Thank you for your wonderful review. In September we celebrated our 6th anniversary and take pride in the way our Hello Koalas sculptures have captured people's hearts. Many families measure their children's heights over years of photos with the sculptures.

We have now just opened the Hello Koalas Tree House and Shop to give people a place to come to chat about their experiences with us, learn more about the Hello Koalas sculptures on the Trail and pick up a magnet of a favourite koala for the fridge or a colouring book as a reminder of their holiday.

We look forward to meeting you and your family on your next visit to Port and thanks again for you reaffirming words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews