We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,245)
Filter reviews
2,246 results
Traveller rating
1,264
727
183
45
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,264
727
183
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milk bar enclosed balcony town beach great location indoor pool hotel room across the road scampi bowling club ocean view restaurant downstairs main beach the penthouse one bedroom apartment short break stunned mullet thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 2,246 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The Observatory is in a great central position for the beach, walk to town and walk to other beaches. It is a little tired as our air conditioner rattled so loudly we couldn't have it on at night. Also there is only one lift which can make the waiting long. Otherwise it was clean and handy.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lockepolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location, we are vey lucky to be located so close to Town Beach and only a 15 minute walk from the CBD. We hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The location was great and room was good. Clean and comfortable. The bathroom is very small and there is no exhaust fan so it gets really hot when blow drying your hair. Hard for 2 people to get ready at the same time.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank n0mes902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Check in was efficient and professional... located across the road from a large park only minutes from park beach so while not water front it’s close... it’s a bit of a walk to the shops/clubs /dining precinct and as we stayed on a public holiday A LOT of close dining venues were closed ... room...booked an ocean view as the website led me to believe we would have a balcony.. this was a key decision maker for us... however while the room was clean we had an enclosed area with window lovers ... no balcony and no option to discuss as accomodation was full... room was very small for the cost... see pictures... not a room to relax in due to size... more like a business room with bed ... desk and fairly small shower / toilet room...disappointed as it was not what we had looked for or thought we booked.. 2 bed rooms may be better in size. I feel website is misleading and for that alone I will most likely not return

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Margyd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your kind and detailed review. I am please you found the check in process efficient and professional, I will pass on your kind words to our reception team. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your ocean view hotel room, this room type does only have the enclosed balcony with glass louvers, I apologise if you felt the photos and the room description on the website was misleading, this is something we will look into. if you choose to stay with us again, I would highly recommend staying in a 1 bedroom ocean view apartment, as it has more space and a full open balcony.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We enjoyed our time spent in Port Macquarie and highly recommend the observatory we had a great time and definitely will return again soon we had dinner at the bows club which was good we had travelled from Broadbeach on the Gold Coast so it was a big drive an a bit tiring so it was good to sit outside with a glass of wine had a stroll around town so it was good to go back to our room an have a nice hot shower up early again an hit the road for Batemans bay

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The bowling club is definitely a great place to relax, have a drink and a meal. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Great location near main surf beach. Short and pleasant walk on the beach boardwalk to the town centre. We stayed in a one bedroom Ocean view apartment. View does not disappoint. Apartment is comfortable and relaxing.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janetA7626JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey B, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

What a wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the ocean views! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews