We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very ordinary service”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra The Observatory
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location, very ordinary service”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We chose this hotel because of the great location and it didn't disappoint from that perspective. A one bedroom apartment overlooking the beach cost $358.00 for two nights so we were expecting service comparable with that price and that of other simlar hotels in Port Macquarie. Our very early flight from Sydney was two hours late so by the time we arrived at the Observatory at 11.30 we felt as though we had already done a day's work. We enquired if we could check in early (check in was 2pm). This seemed to cause afront to the woman on reception who informed us that our check in wasn't until 2 pm and they were very busy!!!! We were attending a conference and wanted to change our clothes and have a shower before going on to the conference. The hotel offered to keep our bags for us until we could check in. The receptionist directed us to the disabled toilet which also had a shower that we were welcome to use. The shower in the disabled toilet didn't work and the staff either didn't know or didn't care. The receptionist then asked me for my mobile number in case our room was ready early. Needless to say she never called and I returned to check in shortly after 2pm. I checked in and the same receptionist asked me if I "needed help with the luggage" as I had two large suitcases (my colleague's and mine) and two cabin luggage bags. I thanked her for her assistance and she then directed me to the luggage trolley I could use to take our bags up to our room. The room was fine, the view was great, the coffee cups in the cupboard were dirty with coffee drips down the outside of all four. The bed was kingsize and very comfortable. A word of warning there is no in house catering. Breakfast can be purchased downstairs at the Milkbar cafe but not before 7.30am. Hotel reception is open from 7.30am until 8pm otherwise you are on your own. There is no room service but you can order a meal by phone from Scampi's restaurant downstairs, choices are very ordinary and very limited and then you go down and pick it up yourself. The road outside the hotel is quite busy during the day with local traffic so if you have the balcony doors open you can hear the traffic noise. It didn't bother us and at night the traffic was minimal.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom apartment on the fourth floor with our own large balcony with table and chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    420
    103
    17
    7
See reviews for
312
792
34
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is quite nice and has a free undercover parking which was the main reason to book it. It is quite far away from the central restaurants, so we had quite a long walk and got back on a taxi. The views from the room were amazing, the bathroom was clean. But the bed was so uncomfortable, so we couldn't sleep well. It was so soft and felt like a jelly so then your partner moves during the night it feels like an earthquake. We would not stay there again as a good sleep is more important than the nice decorations and the views.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey20100, General Manager at Mantra The Observatory, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Hi there,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you didn't find the bed comfortable. Next month will see the arrival of new beds for the rooms.

Hopefully you can stay with us next time, enjoy the views and trial the new beds!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Stayed in an oceanview hotel room. great view, well priced and a short stroll from beach. Pool was handy and proximity for me to meeting was great. Will say again and again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Opposite the main beach. Great facilities on site (milkbar, pool and gym) and close proximity to great restaurants (The Stunned Mullet) . Staff are about as friendly as I have experienced and the hotel is very well maintained- would be great is wi-fi was included as mobile wi-fi can be patchy in the building. Thanks again, great stay

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

a well appointed, well maintained and comfortable hotel in a good location offering an inexpensive holiday experience. the indoor pool was heavily chlorinated and noisy. an overhead fan in the main bedroom would be an advantage.

Room Tip: request a high floor room for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.9 km away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
899 reviews
0.3 km away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
329 reviews
0.9 km away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
0.7 km away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
2.0 km away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Mantra The Observatory

Property: Mantra The Observatory
Address: 40 William St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia (Formerly The Observatory)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#1 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price range (per night): $144 - $263
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra The Observatory 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra The Observatory offers seaside accommodation in the heart of Port Macquarie. Located directly across from the beach, this contemporary hotel boasts spectacular views over the ocean, river and hinterland, and provides close proximity to many of the areas natural attractions. Secure onsite car parking with an electric car charging station is complimentary for all guests along with free in-room wireless Internet access. Accommodation is modern and spacious with the choice of the Hotel Room, One, Two or Three Bedroom Apartment, and the Three Bedroom Penthouse. Apartments boast private balconies, air-conditioning, fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities, and large TVs with Foxtel channels. At Mantra The Observatory you’ll enjoy an excellent range of facilities including a heated lap pool, spa, sauna, BBQ area, and onsite dining options. Sample the region’s freshest seafood at Scampi’s Seafood Bar and Grill, or visit The Observatory Milkbar for a refreshing holiday beverage. A day spa is situated onsite for your convenience if you’d like to treat yourself to massage or facial during your stay. If you’re planning to soak in the sun there are countless beaches and picnic spots to explore, or for a little retail therapy the town centre is just a short walk away with a collection of boutique stores and retail chains at your fingertips. There is an abundance of activities on offer from the more adventurous including kayaking, fishing, horse riding and camel safaris, to family friendly activities such as wildlife and nature parks, local markets, golf, and ten pin bowling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra The Observatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Hotel Port Macquarie
Observatory Resort Port Macquarie
Mantra The Observatory Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing