We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here for one night during a week long drive from Sydney to Brisbane so didn't spend much time in the hotel itself. The room was clean and tidy. Nicely located on the river and a short walk into town. We had a nice dinner in a bar called 'The Pier', which had good live music - Just check your bill before paying! We had time for a quick swim in the morning before checking out - nice pool and spa.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    203
    90
    26
    27
See reviews for
139
240
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
queensland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We recently stayed at te Resort for 2 nights and had a room with a river view, second floor; room was clean and bed was comfortable. No ramps or lifts to second floor so if you are traveling with more than 2 pieces of luggage (as we were) you must put your luggage on a luggage carrier to the stairs and then carry your luggage up the stairs. There is assistance if required.

Resort extremely tired and crying out for a major refurbishment. Daytime temps were 32 and as there is no air con in the huge foyer that is like a large conservatory with a glass roof, it gets hot!!

COMPLIMENTARY INTERNET BUT ONLY FOR THE FIRST 2 HOURS after that you pay. It is all outsourced to a company who handle this. After having words with a guy at the front desk who initially was too busy to look into it, we did finally receive complimentary internet. Both in their inroom directory and online they advertise 'complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel' however on reading another review someone had the same problem back in November of last year!! They are not in any hurry to update their advertising and so at present it is false advertising.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balgownieQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We were in a lovely deluxe room overlooking the pool and river. The room was set out well so that using the bathroom or kitchenette didn't disturb anyone sleeping. You also couldn't hear any noise from neighbours, in particular you couldn't hear any shower or toilets operating. The pool area was great although some additional umbrellas wouldn't go astray. It's an easy walk to shops and entertainment. The staff were very helpful. I was able to keep my kayak in a vacant conference room. The jetty at the front was handy and I was also able to walk my kayak 150m north or south to launch it. The internal/external Koi Carp pool and the big water dragons (lizards) that sometimes sat around it provided additional interest. We thought that Sails was amongst the best of this type of accommodation that we have stayed in. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

I had a really good night here with my husband, we stopped in for the night during a long road trip from Sydney to the Gold Coast. I got the room at short notice during the peak season for $199 on wotif.com so I guess that's what you get under those circumstances. The room was pretty average but the pool was great and we had a fair few long island ice teas from the bar which were top notch and set the pace for the night. The Nightlife in Port MacQuarie is a little slow but we had a good night and wandered back to the room which only took 10 minutes or so. If you book in advance you could probably get a better rate but I wasn't bothered. My husbands only gripe was that he felt the place was a retirement home, no one under 40 anywhere to be seen. No hot chicks by the pool.

Room Tip: Get something that doesn't look onto the carpark, not sure what those prices are though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lansom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Relaxed atmosphere....staffs are not very friendly...the rooms are quite small but nice views.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marybeatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
1.1 km away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
897 reviews
1.8 km away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#2 of 42 in Port Macquarie
329 reviews
1.2 km away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
Waters Edge Port Macquarie
#19 of 42 in Port Macquarie
386 reviews
2.0 km away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
1,405 reviews
2.2 km away
Sandcastle Apartments Port Macquarie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges

Property: Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Address: 20 Park St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Macquarie
#4 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
#8 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price range (per night): $144 - $355
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges on Pelican Bay - Port Macquarie's only absolute waterfront resort. Whether you're travelling for work or play we will endeavour to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. Enjoy the relaxed, tranquil setting and experience the highest level of service and leisure facilities, now with Free Unlimited Wi-Fi. Our Port Macquarie Hotel has 83 fully appointed rooms provide room service and 24 hour reception for our guests.Conveniently located a few minutes from the CBD. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges Hotel provides easy access to the Glasshouse entertainment venue, main beach, shops, restaurants, bars and night spots. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is a unique venue providing professional conference facilities in tranquil surroundings. Every conference, meeting and event is tailored to suit your need. Our Port Macquarie Hotel offers 6 versatile meeting rooms, catering for up to 150 delegates. Our experienced team will personally manage your event from the initial enquiry through to the successful completion. Sails Resort Port Macquarie by Rydges is half a day's drive north from Sydney and three hours from Newcastle. Port Macquarie is serviced by multiple daily flights from Sydney and Brisbane. Travelling by car from Sydney, follow the Pacific Highway and take the Port Macquarie exit turning right onto Hastings River Drive. Follow this road until you reach a roundabout and turn left into Park Street. Complimentary parking is available in the resort's off-street private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Sails Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Hotel Port Macquarie
Quality Inn Port Macquarie
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - By Rydges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing