We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and great price!”
Review of Koala Tree Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koala Tree Motel
Ranked #31 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
1 review
“Great place and great price!”
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

This place is great! We stayed here for 3 nights on our way to Sydney. Very clean rooms and very comfy large beds! It was a bit hard to find at start as we came in the back way but once we had out bearings it was easy to find everything. Bit of a walk to the shops but a bit of Excercise never hurt anyone. I think the only thing that I didn't particularly like was the $9 per wash expense for a load of Washing! Tvs are great although foxtel was not working at the time we stayed, not the motels fault I'm sure! Would stay again if ever over this way again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    75
    30
    13
    35
See reviews for
78
99
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2012

If you are seeking an elegant superbly finished 2 bedroom house in a tranquil river forest setting only 5 mins drive from the town centre then stay at the River House. Exceptional value for money! The service is first class.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Official_reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Difficult to find on a GPS. Navman is impossible. The reception is great and helpful. My children and I ended up with a great new room with a queen bed and bunk for two. A$119 Room was clean and neat. All mod cons: frig, microwave, big shower, cable TV and free wifi!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have been coming to the Koala Tree for many years now and thought that at last we should make a comment to let others how good it is. All the rooms are lovely but I always try to book the rooms down the back by the pool and BBQ which is surrounded by palm trees. If you feel like an evening meal and don't want to go out, there is room service with a smile, and the breakfasts made by Belinda and James are a delight. There is also free (really fast) broadband.

On my last visit... I brought my extended family for a Jones Family get together. This time we booked a huge house which is also beautifully run by the Koala Tree. It is right on the coast road (Pacific Drive) with breathtaking views of the ocean and the mountains to the north, and there is a fabulous coastal walk from Nobby's Beach, which starts right in front of the house.

Bill and Pat from Tamworth

Room Tip: If you are after larger accommodation for a big family they have a house on the beach and another on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We recently stayed here, just overnight, but it was not what I would give a 4.5 rating. It is basically a very old fibro Motel in a terrible position that has been made over with a few trendy touches, big TV's and free wi-fi. We stayed in a standard unit which was comfortable enough but smelt a bit musty. As it was Easter it was not cheap at all but it was full and we could hear every footstep on the wooden floors from adjoining rooms and almost every conversation and flushing toilet. Also being pet friendly (which I did not know about when my friend made the booking) we could hear a small dog yapping.... No chance of a lie in at all....
The good points are the bed was big and comfy and the mini bar prices were very reasonable. The bathroom was spotless if not a bit basic. The breakfast room is a nice touch with cereal, toast, fruit juice and tea or coffee.
The pool looked good but the rest of the surroundings are in poor condition with a gravel driveway that could do with some attention.
It may well deserve 4.5 as a Dog Friendly motel (as there are very few of them) but for non doggie people a 3 would be more accurate.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaBeachbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
4.7 km away
Major Innes Motel
Major Innes Motel
#28 of 42 in Port Macquarie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.5 km away
Port O'Call Motel
Port O'Call Motel
#25 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 km away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
Macquarie Barracks Motor Inn
#14 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
1.7 km away
Hastings Valley Motel
Hastings Valley Motel
#18 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.9 km away
East Port Motor Inn
East Port Motor Inn
#4 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koala Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koala Tree Motel

Property: Koala Tree Motel
Address: 179 Gordon St, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price range (per night): $106 - $157
Hotel Class:4 star — Koala Tree Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable, stylish rooms with modern touches in a great location only three blocks from the main street and only minutes walk to shops and clubs. We're Pet Friendly, so you can bring your best friend along for the ride! All of our accommodations have been recently renovated and our Deluxe rooms have been recently built. We have a new pool and BBQ area, free parking, either at your door or undercover parking and have easy access parking available for large vehicles and trailers. Our rooms feature mini-bars, kitchenettes, free high-speed wireless broadband internet, PlayStation 3 consoles, open access plasma TVs, DVD and BluRay, game console rentals and air-conditioning. Discounted group and weekly rates are available. Just ask, we're always happy to help with anything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koala Tree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koala Tree Hotel Port Macquarie
Koala Tree Motel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing