We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully fresh and tasty”

Bills Fishhouse + Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 17
Description: A casual, modern dining space that embraces locally sourced, seasonal and sustainable ingredients to produce simple, uncomplicated food. A space that boasts a buzzing vibe. A place for a casual evening drink, a shared feast with friends or a light bite after a beach day. Aimed to bring people together over a mutual love of good food, good wine and good times.... this is BILLS Fishhouse.
Restaurant details
Description: A casual, modern dining space that embraces locally sourced, seasonal and sustainable ingredients to produce simple, uncomplicated food. A space that boasts a buzzing vibe. A place for a casual evening drink, a shared feast with friends or a light bite after a beach day. Aimed to bring people together over a mutual love of good food, good wine and good times.... this is BILLS Fishhouse.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Decided to try this place whilst visiting family in the area.

Service was great, very professional and friendly.

Specials and menu very well explained.

Thought the menu was very good, the right number of dishes to allow quality to be maintained.

We had fried squid and oysters to start. Both excellent, very fresh and good portion size.

Mains were all off the specials - Blue Eye Cod, Yellowfin and whole Red Snapper.

Everyone was impressed by their respective meals.
Again the focus was on fresh well cooked fish with a great choice of accompaniment to make for great tasting dishes of a good size all round.

Thank Ladderinthebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Great to hear Ladderinthebush ! Thanks for the fabulous feedback.

Warmest regards,
Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This was one of the best meals I've ever experienced.
The service was great.
Yes its a bit expensive but the meal was to die for and shay what a hostess

Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Many thanks Chris C for the great review. We appreciate your feedback. We will pass on your kind feedback to our Host Shae. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best, Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

My friend and I eat there last night, they weren't particularly busy thank heavens as the service was poor. The menu is very restricted 5 entrees and 5 mains one of which was steak. We both ordered Barramundi I thought the fish was nice but my friend didn't like the texture, our problem was that Barramundi has subtle flavors and it was served on a base that was like a Thai yellow curry (he said Keens curry powder) it was an overpowering flavour that meant you couldn't taste the fish, same with the sauce served with the chips. We eat out a lot, 4 or 5 times a week, we felt it was over priced lacked a decent selection and had untrained staff. Will never eat there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Chris N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really appreciate it.

We're very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience at Bills. We do have a small menu that changes regularly. We also have a 'Market Board' with specials and our Seafood Share that change sometimes daily. This allows us to change our dishes depending on what fresh seafood and produce we can source, locally were possible. All of our menu is cooked fresh and from scratch by our train Chefs.

In relation to our team, our team are mature, trained hospitality professionals, again we're disappointed to hear your comments regarding our service, we do try our absolute best to provide above and beyond service and a memorable dining experience for all of our guests.

We're lucky to be surrounded by an array of wonderful dining options in Port Macquarie.

Thank you again for sharing your review.

Warmest regards,
Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We looked bills up and saw it has awesome reviews and it didnt not disappoint at all!!!! Everything we ate & drank was fab & tasted amazing. My husband is big on oysters & said they are some of the best he's ever had - fresh, tasty & moreish. We had 2x seafood platters and 1 of our party had the kingfish starter and salmon main. All food that was meant to be hot was hot & flavours were very present. Squid was soft and melt in your mouth, fish was perfectly cooked, soy prawns were yum as. Service was great & everyone knew what was going on. The manager with dark hair gave me some tourist tips & things to do which was so helpful! Thank you! The owner, Chris was attentive and really cared that everyone was having a good time unlike some owners who you don't even see! If we could come back for the next 7 nights, we would!!!! Yum yum yum- a must eat in Port mac.

Thank Amy-Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you Amy-Jane N for you kind review and comments.

Our team are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the food, and our Host Shae and owner Chris's service.

You have made our day ! We hope to see you next visit to Port Macquarie.

Warmest regards,
Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

A hidden gem of a restaurant in Port Macquarie. The service was first rate and the menu options was very generous. The seafood options was more that we could ask for. The freshness of the seafood was amazing and portion size just right.
Overall great value and I would gladly recommend Bill's Fish House to others.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ivod354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leasa H, Owner at Bills Fishhouse + Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Many thanks ivod354 for the fabulous review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed our team's service and menu.

Thanks for the recommendation too, much appreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best,
Leasa, Chris and team Bills Fishhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bills Fishhouse + Bar also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to Bills Fishhouse + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing