We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!!”
Review of Hunters Quarter

Hunters Quarter
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: USD 13 - USD 29
Description: Hunters Quarter, known as HQ to locals and regulars, offers an elegant dining experience with modern Australian cuisine, driven by high quality seasonal local produce, and relaxed and attentive service. Head chef, Brian Duncan brings a wealth of global and local experience in fine dining to HQ, having worked at the Dorchester Hotel and Claridges Hotel in the upmarket area of Mayfair in London, and also at Level 41 and The Establishment, two of Sydney’s premier restaurants. Brian’s breadth of experience and exposure to a variety of world cuisines bring a unique and refined quality to his product, and his philosophy on food is based on simple, fresh, local and seasonal produce. The HQ wine list mainly focuses on local wines, and also offers some interstate and international wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Hunters Quarter, known as HQ to locals and regulars, offers an elegant dining experience with modern Australian cuisine, driven by high quality seasonal local produce, and relaxed and attentive service. Head chef, Brian Duncan brings a wealth of global and local experience in fine dining to HQ, having worked at the Dorchester Hotel and Claridges Hotel in the upmarket area of Mayfair in London, and also at Level 41 and The Establishment, two of Sydney’s premier restaurants. Brian’s breadth of experience and exposure to a variety of world cuisines bring a unique and refined quality to his product, and his philosophy on food is based on simple, fresh, local and seasonal produce. The HQ wine list mainly focuses on local wines, and also offers some interstate and international wines.
Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

My husband and I had the five course degustation wine matched last night, the night after our wedding. It was absolutely amazing!! We couldn’t fault a single thing about the food, wine or the service. Thank you to all of the staff for making us feel so relaxed and spoilt! We couldn’t recommend this restaurant more and we will definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank megano_9102
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia T, Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thank you Megan and Alex for taking the time to leave your recent dining experience here on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience and are honoured to have been a part of such a special time in your lives. I will be sure to pass your lovely words on to our staff and we would love to welcome you back to Hunters Quarter in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

253 - 257 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2019 via mobile

We had lunch here and the service, food and location were all fantastic.

Everything that we ordered was extremely tasty. Could not fault of thing.

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank tedc226
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia T, Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent dining experience at Hunters Quarter here on Trip Advisor. We pride ourselves on our talented kitchen team and also our dedicated wait staff. We are certainly lucky to have a wonderful view to add to the experience and we are very pleased you enjoyed all aspects. We would love to welcome you back to Hunters Quarter in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019 via mobile

We celebrated the marriage of our daughter Lisa to Zac Scotman at this simply amazing venue. Don’t really know where to start as venue, staff, food are all five star plus. It honestly felt you where being looked after by close friends. A very big thank you guys for everything. You help made the day something very special.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank 753darrylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia T, Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent experience with Hunters Quarters here on Trip Advisor. I will certainly pass this lovely feedback on to our dedicated staff. We are so pleased you were satisfied with the experience and we are very honoured to have hosted such a special day with Lisa and Zac. We would love to welcome you and/or any of the guests back to Hunters Quarter in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2019

The Information Office recommended Hunters Quarter to us for lunch and it was truly stunning. The food, the service, the view and the relaxed atmosphere contributed to a longer than intended lunch. Thank you! I’ll definitely be back and am happy to recommend you to anyone.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank ruthsE8321SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia T, Guest Relations Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2019

Thank you for spending the time to review Hunters Quarter. We have received your review at the start of our day and it makes all the differance to the team. We would be delighted to look after you again on your next visit to the Hunter Valley. Kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019 via mobile

We tried to go to Hunters Quarter on Sunday but they were closed but the staff member we spoke with told us about Monday night local night

Best decision - fabulous food at a great price - worthy of hats -

Will be back again

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Megsyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia T, Public Relations Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2019

I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at Hunters Quarter and you were able to experience our Monday locals night, this is always a great night. Your comments regarding our menu will certainly be passed on to the kitchen. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunters Quarter also viewed

Pokolbin, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Hunters Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.