We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch”
Review of Hunters Quarter

Hunters Quarter
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: USD 13 - USD 29
Description: Hunters Quarter, known as HQ to locals and regulars, offers an elegant dining experience with modern Australian cuisine, driven by high quality seasonal local produce, and relaxed and attentive service. Head chef, Brian Duncan brings a wealth of global and local experience in fine dining to HQ, having worked at the Dorchester Hotel and Claridges Hotel in the upmarket area of Mayfair in London, and also at Level 41 and The Establishment, two of Sydney’s premier restaurants. Brian’s breadth of experience and exposure to a variety of world cuisines bring a unique and refined quality to his product, and his philosophy on food is based on simple, fresh, local and seasonal produce. The HQ wine list mainly focuses on local wines, and also offers some interstate and international wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Hunters Quarter, known as HQ to locals and regulars, offers an elegant dining experience with modern Australian cuisine, driven by high quality seasonal local produce, and relaxed and attentive service. Head chef, Brian Duncan brings a wealth of global and local experience in fine dining to HQ, having worked at the Dorchester Hotel and Claridges Hotel in the upmarket area of Mayfair in London, and also at Level 41 and The Establishment, two of Sydney’s premier restaurants. Brian’s breadth of experience and exposure to a variety of world cuisines bring a unique and refined quality to his product, and his philosophy on food is based on simple, fresh, local and seasonal produce. The HQ wine list mainly focuses on local wines, and also offers some interstate and international wines.
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

Spur of the moment get away and our favourite cafe was full so tried HQ. We were lucky and got a table with lovely view. Would recommend you book a table at this restaurant. We thoroughly enjoyed roasted barramundi and the roasted lamb rump with a side of roast potatoes. Food was delicious. Well worth a visit to this restaurant if you are in the Hunter.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Caryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQ576, Guest Relations Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2019

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of HQ. We are very lucky to have such a lovely view and glad you enjoyed your dining experience at HQ. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 265 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2019 via mobile

Visited HQ on a Friday evening for dinner, we thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals - delicious flavours and great produce, just with the exception of one dessert which unfortunately was a dry so that was a little disappointing. Would definitely dine here again

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Justine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia T, Guest Relations Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

Hi Justine, I'm sorry that you had a fault with one of your desserts, I do hope you mentioned to your wait person as we pride our menu to present faultless, so our apologies on this occasion. Pleased to hear you enjoyed all other aspects of the menu and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

We went to Hunters Quarter for dinner on a Friday night when staying in the Hunter Valley for the weekend. We booked ahead and were pleased that we did so - it seemed to be quite busy and there were only one or two other tables available when we arrived.

After a long week, nothing was more tempting for us than picking the five course chef’s selection tasting menu with paired wines - take the thinking out of the ordering process and let the chef serve up what he thought would go well together. We were not disappointed. The tasting menu was sublime.

After enjoying the blue swimmer crab and salmon dumplings as one of the earlier courses, we thought it would be tough to beat. But the masters stock glazed kipfler potato (yes, a vegetarian dish) and the crisp pork belly with confit pork jowl that followed were absolute knock outs.

The wines - most of which were local - complimented each dish magnificently.

The service also could not be faulted. The staff managed to sit nicely in that sweet spot of waiting upon us diligently and engaging warmly with us when introducing each course and wine, but also allowing us enough uninterrupted space to enjoy each other’s company and the food together.

A very reasonable price for an excellent dining experience. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia T, Public Relations Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

Good afternoon Mike and thank you for your extensive and detailed review from your recent dine with us. It's nice to know our customers comments on how they enjoyed Hunters Quarter and by the sounds of things you are 'foodie' people who enjoy the whole dining experience. I will certainly pass your comments over to the kitchen and floor and we look forward to seeing you again when you may like to try the al la carte option next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2019

We visited here twice in the one day! The first visit was for a wine tasting during the day with a very funny, friendly man who knew so much about the history of Hunter Valley and wine as he grew up there as a child and has now returned! We enjoyed plenty of tastings and the famous cheeseboard! Following this, we then returned for dinner than evening (booking in advance is required, the restaurant was full its so popular) The meal was unbelievable, great attention to detail and very attentive staff. This was by far my favourite visit to the Hunter and will recommend this to anyone visiting and would love to return one day during my stay in Sydney!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ashashc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia T, Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2019

Thank you Ash for taking the time to leave your recent dining experience at Hunters Quarter here on TripAdvisor. We are grateful that we have the opportunity to provide a full experience with both dining and wine tasting from Cockfighter's Ghost. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we would love to welcome you back to HQ on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

We have been visiting the Hunter for some 26 years but had not been since 2015, our biggest break in that time, so when we decided to stop in on our trip back from Ballina last week we thought we really should try somewhere “different” for a long lunch and given the passage of time we had a plethora of choice even though many of the favourites are still thriving there.
That “different” spot was to be Hunters Quarter visited last Thursday 12/9, and we were not disappointed. We opted for the degustation lunch with matching wines, “heaven on a plate” would be an understatement, every plate served up was sensational from the oyster starter right to the final dessert offering (pictured below)
The service from Elsie, and Casey, one of the chef’s who actually prepared our meal, was delightfully informative, friendly, accommodating and relaxed, it’s not every day you get served by a chef!
This place has got it right: great ambience, excellent service, delicious food, it ticks all the boxes!
And as everyone we spoke to said “don’t wait another 4 years to visit”, with the kind of experience we had at HQ we sure won’t be waiting too long to re-visit!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 720hillaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia T, Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2019

Thank you for leaving your recent dining experience at Hunters Quarter here on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased you so thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. We are certainly lucky to have such wonderful staff, to whom I will pass on your lovely review. We would certainly love to welcome you back to Hunters Quarter on your next visit to the Hunter Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunters Quarter also viewed

Pokolbin, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Hunters Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.