We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor value”

Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 67 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: AU$75 - AU$150
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Esca Bimbadgen showcases Bimbadgen wines by matching them with simple, elegant food in a jaw-dropping setting. A pioneer of fine dining in the Hunter Valley, Esca Bimbadgen exemplifies the unique nature of a winery restaurant. The spectacular entrance suspended above the winery is second only to the view from your table. Mark Marshall, Esca Bimbadgen Executive Chef and his team have created our new menu showcasing our passion for the Hunter Valley and the abundance of local produce at our doorstep. Taste it today!
Reviewed 11 June 2023

I would like to start by saying as season travelers we all have dinned in some of the best and worse places in the world and unfortunetly ESCA is at the lower end of the scale , we had waited a very long time to eat there but becuse other commitments we couldn't until now and it was so disappointing the cost for the four was $640.00 wich was also to include 5 glasses of wine but we only got a tasting amount in the glass all up it would have been the equivalent to 2 standard drinks as for the food OMG.

On arrival a very small piece of focaccia bread with a tiny glass of sparkling Cuvee.
Couse 1 King fish Crudo 2 grapes cut in half and a finger lime.

Course 2 A Persimmon cut into 4 pieces a few hazel nuts thrown on with a 25 year age balsamic wich is only 25 years old because they dont put very much on the dish .

Course 3 Half of uncooked cauliflower again some more almonds frown on the plate .

Couse 4 A piece of sirloin that couldn't be cut and that bleed into the parsnip puree on the plate with a few mushrooms .

Couse 5 Carrot cake cream cheese and yoghurt all tasted like it was made days prior .

Sorry people we had crispy Barramundi at the The Vintage for $40.00 the night before and it was senstional I think the chief should walk up the road and give them some hints .

Apart from the food there was no attention to detail not one person asked why most of the food was being sent back still on the plate , none of the food was explained .

As people who don't care about what the cost is this ws certainly not worth the money .


Date of visit: June 2023
Thank balmaintigers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2023 via mobile

There are two dining options at Bimbadgen. Casual dining downstairs, and more refined upstairs in Esca. Cellar door available. It’s a lovely venue for a winery. What I absolutely love about the menu is something I’ve never seen before. It’s a course menu where you can choose the number of courses, but uniquely you can choose from whichever courses you want. So say if you want a three course menu, you can opt for three mains if you want to, or have an entrée with two desserts. Wild! I had the burrata, barramundi and sirloin, beautifully presented and delicious. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Shihoko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2023 via mobile

Almost all the food was over-salted, poorly cooked, and the pork belly was so dry it was inedible. The barramundi had a dry, gritty texture like it had been frozen, and definitely overcooked. The asparagus course was ordinary in flavour and some of the asparagus was stringy. We didn’t realise we had to have a minimum of 3 courses ($80). This would have been fine if it was good quality food. A two-star place now at best, with 5 star prices.
We will not be back.

Date of visit: January 2023
2  Thank Saggytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2022 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch at Esca restaurant at Bimbadgen Estate. The name apparently means “place with a good view”. Being on top of a hill, it has a great view of the surrounding area out to the mountain ranges in the west. We have been to many local wineries, but Bimbadgen has the best view.
The restaurant is set within the main winery building, with its tall bell tower… a bit reminiscent of a monastery. As you pass the beautiful hedges and fountain and enter the winery, you are greeted by the collection of massive stainless steel wine vats and a wonderful view to the west through the far windows. The restaurant is off to one side and has a terrace, where we sat to enjoy the views. The maître d’hôtel was very pleasant and shows us to our table and explained the menu (see picture below). The cost is dependent on whether you have 3, 4 or 5 courses. All of the items on the menu are the same price (including desserts) so there is no limit to the combinations you can have…. You could have 4 of the same thing, 3 mains, 4 desserts etc.
A waiter brought us house-made bread with lemon myrtle butter and Shiraz infused salt. It was scrumptious.
Between us we had a spring salad (so delicious), barramundi (Thai style), duck, spanner crab meat with toasted croutons (yum) and spring lamb. Photos of each course appear below. We paired these dishes with Bimbadgen wines, which were wonderful.
Overall, a wonderful dining experience. Not to be missed when your in the Hunter Valley.

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank AussieDoc4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 August 2022 via mobile

Amazing food, with great views across the Valley and the best service we received all trip. Finding knowledgeable and genuinely helpful staff at restaurants is definitely hard in these times, Esca has done well and the Pizza Cafe downstairs also.

Date of visit: August 2022
Thank Dazmaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Esca Bimbadgen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.