We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, average service and ambience, overpriced.”

Amanda's on the Edge
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$25 - AU$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: With magnificent views from every table, our charming restaurant is located on the hill of Windsor’s Edge Vineyard. Here you can relax and enjoy flavourful tastes while looking over the picturesque vines and surrounding country land. Dine alfresco in the warmer months where you can nestle in the gardens or relax by sunset on the verandah, or get cosy by the fire in winter. Amanda’s has the vista in every season! Amanda’s On The Edge is fully licensed with a selection of the best wines the Hunter has to offer. Our cheerful and attentive staff will ensure your experience is a pleasure with recommendations offered when ordering to pair your meal with well suited wines. Our dedicated team of highly qualified and passionate chefs pride themselves in providing the highest quality food experience. With a menu combining a generous balance of fresh, quality ingredients you will find yourself lapping up the charm and delights of Amanda’s on the Edge.
Reviewed 24 March 2024

Starters and main courses were excellent, service was pretty average, ambiance was also pretty standard. It really just feels like a big house that has got lots of chairs and tables jammed in. We waited for an eternity for our desert to arrive, by which time we both wished we had just left after main course. The chef is very good, but the rest of the experience needs to be improved to charge the high price.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2024

We had a family dinner on 25th February 2024, to celebrate my fathers 75th birthday. Atmosphere: rated 2 as we were seated right in front of the bar in a small space that was not big enough for 11 of us. It was so close to the kitchen, we could see the kitchen staff and hear all the sounds from the kitchen. Next to us was another group of 12, the space can only fit one big group not two big groups.it was very congested. I felt the group of 12 were given a better seating with better views. We were told over email we will have views - a small window does not equate to views. No ambience just noise of staff scuffling about and big groups talking and laughing.
Service: rated 3 only because Hayley was kind and friendly. Luke was awkward and visibly under pressure or stress- he was not approachable , my group felt if they asked him anything he may explode. Hailey( if I have the right name) was friendly and efficient. Only two waitstaff for the entire restaurant which was fully booked. The other side with couples dining seemed to have more ambience. We were offered 2 bottles of wine for 7 paying adults but the rate included one bottle per two adults - so we should have been offered 3 bottles.
Definitely not value for money and definitely should not be advertised for groups bigger than 4 guests - it’s only equipped for 4 guests at a table.
Hope my feedback would be taken positively to improve the services .
Food : varied feedback some dishes were good others were bland , nothing extraordinary.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scenic08557970078
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024

This is the second time we have visited the restaurant, brought relatives with us, nothing surprised us, the food was excellent, the service excellent and price wise was extremely good value, would recommend to all when you visit the Hunter

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2024 via mobile

Had a family lunch for a special 50th birthday celebration. 3 course lunch excellent and we were well looked after at a larger table overlooking the vineyard. Amanda herself was a bit abrupt but our server was very warm and accommodating. Barramundi fish of the day was excellent and i was told the duck was very good also. Lovely local wines w the meal as part of the lunch package. A vegetarian menu was available, a GF member of the family had multiple options and the kids were given their own menu (with colouring) which helped cater for our larger party. Overall a great experience in the Hunter.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank peterradams
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

We received with a very warm welcome on arrival. Shown to our table - a window setting to look out over the vineyards. Amanda’s is a lovely relaxed country setting. They offered quite an extensive menu that is sure to provide choice for everyone…and could be difficult for some to choose from- it’s all amazing! Service was friendly and faultless, and the timing between meals was perfect. We chose Amanda’s Chardonnay which was light, crisp and dry - probably better suited to the seafood choices - but it was still lovely. I found that it helped to cut through the fat in my crispy pork belly & my duck meal. Do yourselves a favour and drive up to wine country and book a table at Amanda’s On The Edge! You definitely won’t regret it!

Date of visit: December 2023
2  Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Amanda's on the Edge also viewed

 

Been to Amanda's on the Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.