We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow.”

Restaurant Botanica
Ranked #7 of 67 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: AU$70 - AU$95
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Australian yet regionally distinctive in style, the menu at Restaurant Botanica is focused on seasonality and freshness, perfectly complemented by an award-winning wine list and stunning views looking out across our private vineyard to the Brokenback Mountain Range. The restaurant's very own kitchen garden is the source of many of the herbs and vegetables that add a wholesome and healthy dimension to the dishes.
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

We are staying a few nights at the spicers vineyard resort and decided to treat ourselves in the on site restaurant for one night for a birthday celebration.
It’s was fantastic. The food, the service, view looking over the vineyards at sunset with the mountains behind all exceptional. Even the visit from some kangaroos sitting down outside The doors on the grass.

We pushed the boat out and had the five course degustation menu with wine flight. We could not fault any of it. The food was well thought out and very well matched to the wines.

The waitresses were excellent, well versed in the food and the tasting notes on the wines.

They even made an extra little course for my birthday.

Even the ciabatta bread with charcoal butter was amazing.

Yes the cost means this needs to be a very special occasion but we were not disappointed at all and will remember it for a long time.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank CAFCDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

We were excited to try Restaurant Botanical out as we have been wanting to come here for years. We opted for the 5 course degustation menu and were not disappointed.
Our favourites were the grilled octopus and lamb rump but the house made ciabatta and butter and the crudities were also delicious.
What was perhaps even better was the corn and cheddar fritters on the breakfast menu that (I think) is only open to the inhouse guests. They were amazing and the chilli jam that they also make in house that is in this dish is amazing!
We found the service to be friendly and efficient and would definitely come here again.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank natashac860
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2023

I dislike going to fixed-price restaurants because I find it too restrictive but , also, we will often book at the place where we are staying for the first evening to avoid having to look around for eateries. The meal we had here was just not up the the price charged. It was pleasant enough but in no way exceptional. Service was all rather snooty - most aggravating!

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W-Man77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023

We came to this restaurant, Restaurant Botanica, in the Hunter Valley wine region outside of Sydney, which has been getting rave reviews in all the major media outlets, and I seriously doubt that anyone reviewing it has ever had a good meal. This restaurant is one of the worst restaurants I've ever eaten at in my life, bar none, and swear to God, 110pp for a three course meal is considered charity on my part. The reasons are simple and are as follows:

1. the serving time was very slow; 2. the dishes that came up were cold; 3. the dishes that came up were very difficult to eat, from the duck liver of the appetizer to the lamb and fish of the main course, they were tasteless and difficult to swallow, not a qualified fine dining at all; 4. the service staff had no service, no one came to add water to me when my water ran out the whole time, and also didn't care at all about our dining experience; 5. the most outrageous thing was that the restaurant's manager was incredibly arrogant and racist, we asked him what was happening with this kind of service and he answered us that this is the way their service has always been and if we don't like it then that's our problem and threatened to call the police to arrest us and take us away.

It was an unprecedented and unbelievably painful memory, I have never been so aggravated in my life, and it's not the first time I've had fine dining like this, not once has a service person dared to talk to a customer like this and look them straight in the eye and say that's the way it is and if we don't like it we can leave. It's unbelievable, unfathomable, unforgivable.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shuyang Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023 via mobile

Outstanding service. We arrived earlier than expected from Sydney so sat on the outdoor setting near the restaurant. We were happy to wait until lunch service began. Instead a waiter appeared and offered the drinks menu while we sat outside. This was unexpected and greatly appreciated. We got to begin our lunch experience before we stepped inside. Food outstanding - the tuna entree just perfection - I can still picture the deep red flesh and smoked soy smell. A beautiful start. Murray cod to follow which was also perfect. Vibrant green from the pea element. The sides were even impressive - crisp kale with soft fennel and potatoes with black garlic. Went with the whipped feta to finish - another complete winner. Creamy feta and crispy sage leaves and chips. So impressed with the entire meal. Lots of wine to pick from and a lot available in a half bottle carafe. This was a return visit and we will definitely be back when next in the Hunter. This is exactly what a weekend lunch away from Sydney should be.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Botanica also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Botanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.