We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$380
Expedia.com
AU$380
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
AU$380
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
128
22
7
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
128
22
7
10
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2021

It doesn't match the hype on their website. Low points were:

1. Zero communication:
• We had to chase them up for the check-in details on the day of arrival as it was well-after the check-in time – they were very casual, just sent a text eventually.
• We had emailed before our arrival to ask a question and got zero response.
• No info in-room about the property and facilities - just call, they say, then don't answer so we wait for them to call back.

2. Lacked attention to detail:
• Pool unkempt, cleaning equipment left in the pool.
• Tired furniture/outdoor furniture dirty. Zero privacy on the balcony,
• Nowhere to unpack, the only cupboard was full of ‘stuff’.
• Noise travelled as it is all hard surfaces – we could hear the refrigerator buzzing on and off all night and could hear the guests next door.
• The bathroom is SO disappointing, not only is the bathtub not for two, but it is also hardly big for one and is blocked partly under a bench containing double sinks. The shower has no screen (but could!) so the entire floor was soaked – the shower had poor water pressure and the extractor fan was noisy/rattling. We did not ‘think Bali’ at all.

We wouldn't stay here again.

Room tip: The middle cabins 3 and 6, have no side windows (dark) and have guests on both sides (noise). Last-minute online discounts 25% off, too.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SYDNEYMISSLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2020 via mobile

After months of being inside I booked a weekend at Tonic with my husband for his birthday.
The view from the room was beautiful and peaceful, we loved watching the sun set in the afternoons we were there.
The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom was generous, and the breakfast items in the fridge were a nice touch.
I would recommend this place to someone looking for a romantic and relaxing getaway.
Although the place was fully booked, we almost felt like we were the only ones there.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank williamc671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2019 via mobile

We had such a fantastic stay at Tonic this weekend.

We had booked 6 of the 7 rooms available at Tonic and they were clean and comfortable.

We had exclusive use of the onsite lounge which had a beautiful fireplace and a massive kitchen stocked with all the crockery you could ever need!

The owners Ian and Janelle were lovely, they were hospitable, personable and approachable.

The included breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We really enjoyed ourselves. This place is made for small groups like ours.

I really recommend this place, it was perfect for our needs because we were able to be together with our group but we had the privacy of our own rooms and bathrooms.

Thanks for a wonderful stay! We will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rosiek84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2019

My wife and I recently stayed at Tonic Hotel as part of a concert weekend in the Hunter Valley. The accommodation was bit more rustic than we were expecting from the website and reviews. The room felt a little tired and in need of a bit of a makeover / sprucing up. It may have deserved a 5 star rating in years gone by but not now. The breakfast was a little disappointing in that for our second day our fruit wasn’t replenished and there was no herbal tea available. This is a "hands off" hotel so not much interaction with the owners. We met Janelle on the second morning when dropping off our breakfast but found her somewhat aloof.

Having said that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is great for concert weekends as the hotel is situated along Rover Coach Lines Route 11 with pick-up and drop-off at the end of the drive way. The room itself was nice and large with plenty of room to spread out, the bed was very comfortable and we had a nice view over the dam and surrounding countryside. The location itself was very quiet and peaceful and we woke up each morning to the sounds of local birds and watching kangaroos in the fields.

If visiting wineries is your reason for being here note that this part of Lovedale is on the edge of the wine growing area but there are numerous wineries close by and if you need to venture further afield the whole region is lovely to drive around.

Would we stay again? No, but we had a very pleasant and relaxing weekend nonetheless.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PRMandWEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019 via mobile

A very pleasant stay in this quite rural area just 5 minutes from the Hunter Valley.
It is quiet and we were visited by the local kangaroos.
We would definitely stay here again as it was so accessible to the vineyards.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank V2883MOchristopherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews