We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat with Amazing Breakfasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Could not fault our stay at the Hunter Valley Cooperage!

We dined out at all the 'hatted' restaurants for dinner (e.g. Muse, Rock) but I always found the breakfasts at HVC on par/outstanding (we had eggs benedict, ricotta pancakes with honeycomb butter sauce and gourmet scrambled eggs on the 3 days we stayed, all accompanied with additional self-serve options of poached pears, bircher muesli, fresh fruits etc. We never left the place hungry that's for sure!)

We stayed in the Champagne suite and found it very comfortable and quiet. Great sleeps and on one of the days we borrowed DVDs from the theatre room and just lounged around on the sofa with wine and cheeses from our earlier ventures. Our complimentary chocs and cookies were topped up every day without fail and the gourmet picnic hamper was superb.

In summary, very happy with our stay and would definitely go back. The hosts will truly do their best to accommodate your needs so just ask!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmn1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2011

Set in the grounds of a vineyard this B&B is in a lovley peaceful setting and it is nice to be surrounded by vines when you're staying in the Hunter Valley.

The owners, Warren and Gay, give you a wonderful warm welcome and do everything they can to make you comfortable. I felt at home. Our room was lovely and comfortable and there was a nice decking area to sit on, but the room was well protected with mozzy nets and screens so you could have the windows open without fear of invasion.

Gay gave us lots of good advice about what to do and where to eat and the breakfasts she cooks each morning are simply amazing. We only had one problem while we were staying and that was a pump got blocked under the decking outside our room and made a terrible noise all night. Warren was very apologetic and fixed it the next morning as soon as we told him. It was just one of those things but otherwise this place is well worth staying in.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonneil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This experience was by far the worst (of our many luxurious stays in other areas). To put it quite simply the staff weren't there as they had family drama, the theatre was sent away for service, the owners promised to refund the money should we live hours after arriving (based on our dissapointment and fear of being taken advantage of). The owner promised a refund until it came time to follow through with it. 4 hours later we were charged 433.00 even tho a refund was promised upon leaving. The owners justified the no refund by stating they'd fear we had ruined their property since we were left unattended, which is this most insulting comment I have ever heard, as long with their other comment of being 'high maintenance'. THINK VERY CAREFULLY BEFORE BOOKING, DO YOUR RESEARCH !! I attached 1 photo to show was resulted in a 433.00 charge, as this was the only part of the service we had used.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RomanceTravelers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

B & B set among Kelman Vineyards recommended by friend. Very beautiful home although we found the room small and too close to the main part of the house. The fridge was downstairs which did not suit.
Breakfast on the terrace was delightful and would have been divine had the owners not been playing the radio/TV so loudly. This was inconsiderate. Travellers do not want to be bombarded with noise first thing in the morning and definitely not at breakfast.
We wouldn't stay there again although it is a lovely setting.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dicey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We stayed here for three nights, and had a really lovely stay. The accommodation is really nice, and we had a room down the end of the hallway, so felt we had a little extra privacy.

They've got excellent facilities, and provide access to a theatre room, DVDs and books - which would be great for a winter stay.

As all the reviews indicate - the breakfast is lovely. They've got a great setup for summer breakfasts out on the veranda, with a window into the kitchen to access all your fruit salads and museli etc from. And they provide table service for your main breakfast - either eggs benedict, scrambled eggs or ricotta pancakes.

The hosts, Gay and her husband were lovely, too. They provided recommendations and booked restaurants for us too. They made us feel very welcome.

My only criticism would be - and it's a pet hate of mine - is that the 'king bed' was comprised on two smaller ones pushed together. I absolutely hate this, and it meant that you kind of sank into the middle when cuddling up in bed.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney_Bear_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
1.3 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
4.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.7 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
10.3 km away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
146 reviews
5.6 km away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Pokolbin

Been to Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 41 Kelman Vineyards, Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: $275 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing