We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
31
7
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
7
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall lakeopen fireorganic winelovely weekendhunter valleylong weekendair conhampercottagevinespropertyfireplaceaccommodationkangaroosluxury
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Great cottages with ample separation between them in a great setting overlooking a small lake. Cottages are well equipped, comfortable and well built. However, we thought that the kitchenette could do with an update (broken cupboard door & old stove top) and the cottage was dusty in several areas (blinds, window sills etc). Overall we had a great stay and enjoyed our long weekend in the Hunter. Location wise, 10-15mins into town.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NeilTheWheel76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We booked Broken View "luxury" accommodation for our weekend stay in the Hunter Valley ... it sounded great when we read the reviews etc. The thought of the open fire, bottle of organic wine and "generous" breakfast "hamper" really helped us make our decision to stay there. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to our expectations.
We were provided with a small amount of wood for the fire and provided with instructions that if we needed more wood, we could purchase it from a shop in Pokolbin. The wood gave us a nice fire that lasted around one and a half hours if that. We sourced our own wood for the next night.
The weather was beautiful, but absolutely freezing during our stay, so we needed the heating on through the night, but the air con wouldn't go above 23 degrees and seemed to be blowing out cool air instead of warm air. We found a blanket in the wardrobe and put that over us, but it was impossible to stay warm through the night. The bathroom was the warmest place, but not conducive to sleep in.
The breakfast "hamper" consisted of a small packet of bacon (enough for 1 breakfast for 2 people), quite a few eggs, half a loaf of sliced bread and a small bottle of orange "juice?". When I think "luxury" and "hamper", I conjure up a lovely basket with some artisan bread, maybe some mushrooms, tomatoes, bacon, eggs and some lovely juice.
The cabin, although a little "tired", was very clean and had a lovely outlook over the vines at the back and the dams at the front.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete E, Owner at Broken View Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Hello Diana,

We are very sorry to hear your stay did not live up to your expectations, but would also like to add some comment, because we feel you may have misunderstood our product. We provide self-contained villa accommodation, and generally our guests come to BVE to get away from the big hotel experience. The breakfast is provided as a welcome gift as our guests often arrive late in the evening.

We work hard to keep the property well-maintained and looking nice, but of course everyone has different needs and expectations. Although we are a self-contained property, assistance is always available to guests at any time. I'm sorry you were not able to call us during your stay to allow us a chance to resolve your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Broken View estate while we went to a concert, it was really a lovely place. The scenery is great and we even met their sheep who was grazing near by. We loved our stay!!
The breakfast hamper was quite sufficient and the kitchen had all the hits an pieces you need.
We really wanted to the fire but alas it was summer and too hot, so we are planning on coming back in winter :)

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

What a lovely place to relax and unwind. Spa and open fire made for a romantic getaway. Breakfast and complimentary bottle of wine a added surprise. Will definitely be back Thank you Peter and Kim for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Oh my, what a beautiful place to stay. Quiet, tranquil, calm and just lovely. We had a fabulous cottage looking out on the Mountain range. The cottage was intermittent yet spacious, we were in our own world for a couple of nights and it felt like a month!! Definitely a place to go if you want to re-charge. They have thought of everything, breakfast was stunning!! Will certainly go back very soon.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa2077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews