We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I found heaven!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thistle Hill Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2016

After hours of reading trip advisor reviews I booked Thistle Hill for a trip with 2 girlfriends. From the moment we arrived we all fell in love with the property and I knew I had made the right choice.
Our room was attached to the main house but we had our own entrance and beautiful veranda which we made use of every evening to sample our wine purchased that day.
The breakfast room is a separate building with doors opening out to beautiful views across the property and selection every morning was fantastic, Stuart even made us pancakes one of the mornings. The pool is beautiful and if wine tasting isn't your thing a day by the pool would be a great choice.
The owners, Donna and Stuart are natural hosts and go out of their way to assist with restaurant bookings, winery recommendations and spoilt us with treats. We received a lovely bottle of their wine on arrival, a cheese platter and homemade chocolate brownies on our second evening.
If you are animal lover they have 2 gorgeous dogs, Soxy and Emile. They brought so much joy to our stay.
I can't recommend Thistle Hill enough so look no further and get booked.
Donna and Stuart - thank you for your wonderful, genuine and heartfelt hospitality. We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: If you are a group of 4 - 5 people book the cottage.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank pcsweeney8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2016

absolutely wonderful experience. the guesthouse is gorgeous. Very homely, beautifully decorated with everything you could wish for. an iron, kettle, choice of tea, dreamy quiet, an individual table and 2 armchairs outside the room overlooking the garden. A fabulous guest lounge for a drink by the fire or breakfast. The choice of breakfast was wonderful. baked peaches; cereal, croissant, juices and an espresso machine. lovely thirsty fluffy towels - beautiful amenities in large containers. furnishings and cleanliness of resort exemplary. Great location. Easy walking.

Thistle Hill is a delight and highly recommended. Next to a restaurant - and an easy walk about the acreage of which there are 20 - Donna and Stuart fabulous hosts! love the place.

Room Tip: gorgeous garden rooms - blissfully quiet - all rooms on one level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank antoinette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This guest house is conveniently located in the Hunter Valley, in a serenely beautiful location. The room was lovely, with everything we might have needed. The grounds were beautifully maintained and perfect for morning and evening walks. But Donna and Stuart were the best hosts ever, giving us advice that was always right on the mark and making us feel right at home. The breakfast was the best I have ever had in a hotel or guest house. If you want a tranquil and beautiful setting with warm and helpful hosts, this is the place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

We stayed for 1 night in the cottage (2 rooms with ensuite) which was amazing. The rooms have a nice touch to it, smelled great and make you feel at home. We arrived late in the evening but were greeted with smiles from Donna and family, and of course many cuddles and tail whips from the dogs. (Love them all!) The bottle of wine and cheese plate were a nice and welcoming touch.

We would have liked to stay another night but it was full (depsite booking more than a month ago!) so we had to split up. My mum and sister stayed in their glorious guestroom while my boyfriend and I went to another accommodation. Despite being in different accommodation, Donna welcomed us to use her pool or to hang out at their place. Definitely 5 stars for her (and her family) amazing hospitality.

Would definitely head there again if I'm ever in HV. My advice is to book early to avoid disappointment! :)

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Quiet, luxurious, I could go on! We arrived late due to traffic, but were met after 9.30 with open arms and a big smile. The suites are spacious, clean, every detail from the welcome cheese plate and wine ( what else!) to the chocolates well thought out to make us feel at home. Beds very comfy, breakfast a leisurely, sumptuous pleasure to collect out thoughts and plan the weekend with our hosts help.
This was our second stay here,and I will come back, again, soon.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aldeb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeCas51, Owner at Thistle Hill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Thanks Deb and Alan, you were wonderful guests and it was such a great group of people that weekend thanks to you both as well! Hope mother liked the chocolates, we look forward to seeing you again and hope that 2016 is good to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.5 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
886 reviews
12.6 km away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.3 km away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
8.2 km away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
371 reviews
10.3 km away
Carriages Boutique Hotel & Vineyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Pokolbin

Been to Thistle Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hill Guest House

Address: 591 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: $241 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hill Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Thistle Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hill Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing