We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
372
31
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
31
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle of wineon arrivalbrowniehunter valleywonderful hostscheese platerose bushesbircher mueslipool housebeautiful place to staybreakfast was amazingeach morninga wonderful stayblue mountainsthe main housebeautiful roomhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2016

absolutely wonderful experience. the guesthouse is gorgeous. Very homely, beautifully decorated with everything you could wish for. an iron, kettle, choice of tea, dreamy quiet, an individual table and 2 armchairs outside the room overlooking the garden. A fabulous guest lounge for a drink by the fire or breakfast. The choice of breakfast was wonderful. baked peaches; cereal, croissant, juices and an espresso machine. lovely thirsty fluffy towels - beautiful amenities in large containers. furnishings and cleanliness of resort exemplary. Great location. Easy walking.

Thistle Hill is a delight and highly recommended. Next to a restaurant - and an easy walk about the acreage of which there are 20 - Donna and Stuart fabulous hosts! love the place.

Room Tip: gorgeous garden rooms - blissfully quiet - all rooms on one level
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank antoinette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This guest house is conveniently located in the Hunter Valley, in a serenely beautiful location. The room was lovely, with everything we might have needed. The grounds were beautifully maintained and perfect for morning and evening walks. But Donna and Stuart were the best hosts ever, giving us advice that was always right on the mark and making us feel right at home. The breakfast was the best I have ever had in a hotel or guest house. If you want a tranquil and beautiful setting with warm and helpful hosts, this is the place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed lovely.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016

We stayed for 1 night in the cottage (2 rooms with ensuite) which was amazing. The rooms have a nice touch to it, smelled great and make you feel at home. We arrived late in the evening but were greeted with smiles from Donna and family, and of course many cuddles and tail whips from the dogs. (Love them all!) The bottle of wine and cheese plate were a nice and welcoming touch.

We would have liked to stay another night but it was full (depsite booking more than a month ago!) so we had to split up. My mum and sister stayed in their glorious guestroom while my boyfriend and I went to another accommodation. Despite being in different accommodation, Donna welcomed us to use her pool or to hang out at their place. Definitely 5 stars for her (and her family) amazing hospitality.

Would definitely head there again if I'm ever in HV. My advice is to book early to avoid disappointment! :)

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Quiet, luxurious, I could go on! We arrived late due to traffic, but were met after 9.30 with open arms and a big smile. The suites are spacious, clean, every detail from the welcome cheese plate and wine ( what else!) to the chocolates well thought out to make us feel at home. Beds very comfy, breakfast a leisurely, sumptuous pleasure to collect out thoughts and plan the weekend with our hosts help.
This was our second stay here,and I will come back, again, soon.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aldeb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeCas51, Owner at Thistle Hill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Thanks Deb and Alan, you were wonderful guests and it was such a great group of people that weekend thanks to you both as well! Hope mother liked the chocolates, we look forward to seeing you again and hope that 2016 is good to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We booked all 6 rooms and the cottage for 2 nights for our sons' wedding late January. The ceremony was held on site near the dam and as there were only 15 of us all told, we enjoyed a lovely evening on the deck outside the pool area. The rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious with additional sofa and armchairs, television, bar fridge, ensuite and air conditioning. The bed and pillows were super comfortable and everything was immaculately clean. A nice touch was the complimentary cheese plate and bottle of wine and also the brownies the following day. The grounds are beautifully manicured and large enough for a stroll around and the quietness added to the ambience, instant relaxation! Donna and Stuart the new owners were the perfect hosts and were so warm and friendly to us all, as were Emile and Soxie, the resident four legged staff members. We enjoyed breakfast both mornings in the pavilion, near the pool. A range of cereals, fruits, bircher muesli, fresh honey, baked pears (to die for), fruit compotes,toast, pastries, croissants, jams, (egg burritos as well on Sunday morning) and an espresso machine made for a terrific breakfast. Will definitely return and can only say you do yourself a favour and enjoy a stay here. An easy 2 1/2 hour drive from Sydney and 45 mins from Newcastle.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lizg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews