We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
372
31
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
31
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbottle of wineon arrivalbrowniehunter valleywonderful hostscheese platerose bushesbircher mueslipool housebeautiful place to staybreakfast was amazingeach morninga wonderful stayblue mountainsthe main housebeautiful roomhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

The accommodation is first rate. We stayed in the cottage which has two bedrooms each with an ensuite. It's tucked away behind a grove of trees, beautifully private and peaceful. Breakfast in the pavilion by the pool is superb. We loved chatting with Donna and Stuart the new owners - so helpful and generous. Looking forward to my next stay

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Shauna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeCas51, Owner at Thistle Hill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2016

Thank you Shauna for bringing your wonderful American friends David and Cindy to stay at Thistle Hill. We enjoyed every minute of you being here and i felt sad when you left us! I know our paths will cross again and hope the year is kind to you all in the meantime, dx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Thistle Hill is an absolute gem and Donna and Stuart superb hosts.You really feel at home as soon as you arrive and meet the additional staff(Soxsy and Emile).
The cheese platter and bottle of wine were a welcome touch as where the brownies each afternoon.
Breakfast was outstanding and served in a lovely room that could be opened up on all sides to make the most of the weather.Unfortunately we were there when the Hunter was experiencing unprecedented rainfall but the warm sunny welcome we recieved more than made up for it.
We can't stop raving about what a wonderful find this is!

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie030983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeCas51, Owner at Thistle Hill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2016

Thank you Julie, it was a delight having you stay with us at Thistle Hill! As you say the weather certainly has been challenging of late but if we can make everything else sunny you almost don't notice it! I hope you will return one day and we will guarantee the sun will shine ha ha! Have a wonderful year in 2016 and Soxy and Emile send their best to one of their favourite guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Luxury country guest house set in its own grounds with a small vineyard. Cheese platter & own vineyard wine on arrival. Lovely rooms both inside and out. Stylish building for breakfast with decking and small pool.
Went on winery tour with Two Fat Blokes company who collected us from the guest house. Walking distance to the Botanica restaurant - 15-20 minutes, the drives to each property were the longest part of the walk - take a torch.
A couple of weeks after our stay the owner was retiring but from the reviews on here the new owners appear to be offering the same quality service

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Donna and Stuart are awesome owners. Their attention to detail, friendliness and helpfulness made our stay delightful and most enjoyable! Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast house was so lovely and food was creative and delicious! Highly recommend it!

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Darlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeCas51, Owner at Thistle Hill Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Thistle Hill. Its a pleasure having wonderful guests like the Double D's!!! Have a great 2016 and we hope life finds you at Thistle Hill again one day. Best wishes Donna and Stuart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by Donna and she was so kind during our stay. The rooms were pristine and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious and served in a room by the pool that opened up bringing the outside in. The property is close to lots of great wineries and restaurants. Everything was perfect and I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Raebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews