We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This locals favourite.”

The Gates Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$45 - AU$125
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Gates Restaurant sits among the spectacular grounds of Leogate Estate. Taking pride in serving you modern Australian cuisine and to compliment your meal, we will be proud to serve you our beautiful Leogate Estate award winning wines. Here at The Gates Restaurant we showcase our 6 week Dry Aged beef from our local region.
Reviewed 17 May 2024

We are locals and can safely say this is the best feed in town. The cuts of meat and their preparation are second to none…. Hats off to the chef. The service too cannot be faltered - it is truly exceptional. We have already been twice this month and will be back for sure!

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paradise32134290103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Jotanovic, Other at The Gates Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5-Star review, we're so grateful that you took the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2024

We had our 25th wedding anniversary dinner here and we weren't disappointed! The staff were so warm and welcoming and the food was absolutely delicious. A beautiful restaurant - would highly recommend. We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Jotanovic, Other at The Gates Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5-Star review, we're so grateful that you took the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2024

Remarkable food expeirence. Great ambience and excellant service. Decor is very warming and inviting and quiet. I would recomend dinner or lunch and a great range of wines to choose from.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 108mervyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Jotanovic, Other at The Gates Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Thank you for your 5-Star review, we're so grateful that you took the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Leogate experience, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2024

This was a response I wrote in response to their request for feedback, which to date I have received no acknowledgement of. This adds to the disappointing meal we experienced.

Good Evening,

Thank you for seeking feedback on our dining experience at The Gates Restaurant.

Unfortunately our dining experience was not up to the standard we had hoped for a restaurant with your reputation and for the cost if the meal.

For a Chef and restaurant which prides itself on it's knowledge of meat we chose the dry aged rib on the bone. We questioned the waitress how it would be cooked expressing that we would prefer it medium rare to rare but because of the reputation of the restaurant would go with how the chef would prepare it but definitely would prefer it on the rarer side with some medium rare pieces.

Unfortunately most of the meat came out well done or on the top end of the medium rare scale only just medium rare. This we feel did a disservice to the meat and our dining experience and quite honestly was a surprise. Because it was our anniversary we did not want to make it unpleasant by complaining and demanding another piece.

It was also very surprising that when our cheese course arrived the cheeses were not explained as to what they were or where they originated from, so to all intents and purposes they could have come from Woolworths.

That being said the cheese board was beautifully presented with a lovely anniversary message and the starters were very tasty and beautifully presented.

Hopefully this was just a one off and other diners will not experience the disappointment we did regarding the meat choice.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank luvt0travell0ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2024

Had a fantastic lunch everything was cooked to perfection and had lots of flavour presentation was excellent and service was also great the girls were very helpful and knew their wine and food. Thank you all will be back again.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Jotanovic, Other at The Gates Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Thank you for your 5-Star review, we're so grateful that you took the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gates Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The Gates Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.