We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and experience”

The Gates Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 67 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: AU$45 - AU$125
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Gates Restaurant sits among the spectacular grounds of Leogate Estate. Taking pride in serving you modern Australian cuisine and to compliment your meal, we will be proud to serve you our beautiful Leogate Estate award winning wines. Here at The Gates Restaurant we showcase our 6 week Dry Aged beef from our local region.
Reviewed 3 April 2024

Had a fantastic lunch everything was cooked to perfection and had lots of flavour presentation was excellent and service was also great the girls were very helpful and knew their wine and food. Thank you all will be back again.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Jotanovic, Other at The Gates Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Thank you for your 5-Star review, we're so grateful that you took the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2024

The place is beautiful and we had a table with a view of the courtyard. My husband and I did the Easter 2 course set menu for $95. The portions were sizable and really good and satisfying. However we felt the staff were a bit uncoordinated with one another, with staff frequently coming to ask if someone had come to take our order after an earlier one already did, and asking us who did, as if expecting us to remember their names. Also when we asked for more info on the dishes, they had to run back to check their food notes. For the price we were paying we expected a bit more organised, knowledgeable and polished service. Having said that, they were very lovely and helpful. I had the Shipwreck Pie which was awesome and my husband had the Grilled Butcher's Cut which he said was done really well and he is seldom impressed with steak in Australia. The side vegetables were a tad disappointingly dry and did not have a drop of dressing on them though, which I did raise feedback about to the staff. The staff were wonderful and served a complimentary watermelon sorbet towards the end (but later on we realised that all other tables got it too) which was a nice touch. When it came to payment, we did find that 15% service charge was a really hefty charge and came up to $30 of the entire bill- we knew it was the Easter weekend service charge for public holidays which is standard but somehow it still felt like daylight robbery, the service fee was a bit much. We went to other restaurants that same day, e.g. Brokenwood Wines restaurant and theirs was only 10%.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sundrop2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2024

From the moment you arrive at Leogate you begin the complete dining experience. Wonderful in every way and of course the food is delicious …

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DebraC1656
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Jotanovic, Other at The Gates Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Thank you for your 5-Star review, we're so grateful that you took the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Leogate experience, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2024

It was my daughter’s 18th birthday dinner and was truly exceptional! The service was impeccable, and the food was absolutely delicious. Everything from start to finish exceeded expectations, making it a memorable and enjoyable evening for everyone. Thank you for such a wonderful experience!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Jotanovic, Other at The Gates Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2024

Thank you for your 5-Star review, we're so grateful that you took the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your dining experience, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

We had the most amazing meal tonight at the Gates restaurant. The staff were incredible, taking the time to talk to us about the meal, check dietary requirements and also recommend amazing wine.

We had the 3 course set menu, with fresh rock oyster and scallops for entree. Both lots of seafood were fresh and flavoursome.

For main, we had the lamb noisette and the grass feed eye fillet, with the burrata salad to share. Our plates were left clean and our stomachs full. Absolutely delicious food, cooked to our specifications.

For dessert, we both had the Caramel bombe Alaska - a standout dish. Worth the trip just to have this dessert.

We also had some of the Leogate wines with our meal including the Diamond Blanc de Blanc and the Malabar Reserve Shiraz (which was perfection).

We simply could not fault our meal. We also got to sample some beautiful housemade sourdough, a caramelised onion, ricotta and mascarpone tart and a house made plum sorbet - also exceptional.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wechy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tracey Jotanovic, Other at The Gates Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Thank you for your 5-Star review, we're so grateful that you took the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gates Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The Gates Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.