We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
192
48
8
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
192
48
8
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast basket each morning verandah suite own wine yogurt french doors country ham our room was spacious lovely grounds alistair fireplace vineyard weekend wineries kangaroos kettle serenity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2023

The turnoff to this hotel is located at the end of Halls Road (just over a kilometre off Broke Road). The actual residence is then a further 200/300 metres along an unsealed road past a vineyard and the owner's residence and around the lake to a large car park. The hotel's rooms appear to be in the same building with some being upstairs. A number of the rooms, including ours, fronted onto a lovely covered verandah with cane chairs and tables where we sat looking over the lovely grassed area towards the tennis courts and swimming pool.

We stayed for two nights in a verandah suite which was quite large and very comfortable. The suite was the width of the building with French doors at either end. The room was furnished with a queen bed (comfortable) that had a bedside table with a lamp on it on either side of the bed. There was also a wardrobe, two seater lounge, coffee table, dining table with a lamp and two chairs, a flat screen TV attached to the wall, a breakfast buffet with plates, cutlery, glasses, toaster, kettle, tea and coffee making facilities and a minbar. There was also a fireplace.

The bathroom had a vanity that was large enough to hold toiletries and a walk in shower (good pressure).

Both the room and the bathroom were very clean and serviced daily.

WIFI was included and worked well.

The breakfast basket that was brought to your room around 8-00am each morning was very good. It included bread (including Gluten Free if requested) for toasting, butter, a selection of jams, croissants, muesli, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, orange juice and milk. Very all encompassing.

The hotel also had bottles of its own wine for sale.

The only downside that I can see is also one of its advantages - the peace and quiet that you get from being out of the thick of the action. I would see a car as a definite requirement.

Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023

Quietly nestled away from the main thoroughfare, a perfect retreat for a peaceful time away. Lovely grounds, friendly hosts, comfortable accommodation to suit couples. A shared, yet private verandah, lends itself to long lazy mornings with a book in the Sun or a late afternoon platter of local fare and wine before strolling to nearby establishments.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dianah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2022 via mobile

The quaint cottage was clean, secluded and everything we needed for our weekend get away.. Our hosts were lovely & down to earth , their wine is delicious. We tried and bought some home with us😊 If you are looking for a quiet get away highly recommended place to stay

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Danielle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2022

We enjoyed two nights mid-week at Carriages. The location was great, just minutes from dozens of wineries and restaurants. Being midweek, only a few rooms had guests, which added to the peaceful feel of the garden locale. This would be a great place for a weekend away for a group of couples, particularly in warmer months when you could fully enjoy the pool and tennis courts. Our room was spacious, with a big breakfast feast delivered to our door each morning. The decor is French country, and is needing a bit of a refresh, but this adds to the country charm, to be honest.

Room tip: The verandah room closest to the pool has more outdoor space for morning coffee in the sun, or an evening glass of wine with cheese.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuskokaGirlDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2022

We booked a room with a fireplace. We called to confirm and left a voicemail but there was no answer and no call back. He called again the next day and got through and they confirmed yes room has fireplace. When we arrived about 20 mins early we picked up the keys from reception and checked the room. We noticed immediately there was NO fireplace and the room was cold and dirty and basically a outdated falling apart shanty and nothing like the photos in the booking listing and so went back to reception to find out what had happened. They advised they had no more rooms with fireplaces left but we would get a refund if we chose not to stay for this reason. We made the decision to find alternative accommodation although we had paid in full already they had assured us we would get a full refund so we weren’t worried. We left the room untouched and stayed at another hotel.
We called booking.com and emailed to confirm the conversation we had with the receptionist and they also confirm we would receive a full refund but that it was up to the carriages to process it through.
We waited for out refund but nothing came through.
Hubby contacted the carriages hotel again and they said that because we didn’t double check that the room we booked had a fireplace that we won’t be getting it a refund! Hubby explained that he did confirm and also that booking.com description listed fireplace on the site.
They still refused to refund us.
We went to fair trading who said they would only offer a maximum of half our money back despite promising us a full refund on the day!
Absolutely disgusted at the pathetic lack of customer service and blatant lies! Would not even rate one star but unfortunately it won’t let you do zero!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 6885leelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews