We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive cellar door”

Mount Pleasant Estate
Ranked #44 of 112 things to do in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: McWilliam's Mount Pleasant is an iconic Hunter Valley Winery situated at the foothills of the Marrowbone ranges, and an easy 2 hour drive from Sydney.The Mount Pleasant Cellar Door team offer a warm welcome and are able to provide an enjoyable and informative wine tasting by drawing on a large range of the Hunters finest wines. Iconic wines such as the Lovedale and Elizabeth semillons, as well as our premium Shiraz such as the Maurice O'Shea Shiraz, the Old Paddock and Old Hill Shiraz, and the Rosehill Shiraz.To complete your visit, the onsite restaurant Elizabeth's offer an array of dishes which have been matched to the iconic Mount Pleasant Wines.
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have been to most, if not all, the Hunter Valley cellar doors and we rate McWilliams Mount Pleasant as one of the very best.

The range and quality of the wines available for tasting is superb and the staff are very obliging and knowledgeable. One of their very best wines was marked 'not available for tasting' but when our host discovered that I had a couple of bottles of their prized "O'Shea" wines at home, she had no hesitation in providing us with tastings of this wine.

The tasting area is airy and quite attractive and there is never any pressure to buy. We regard it as an ideal winery to take friends from interstate or overseas.

Thank Lexus51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Hi - thank you for the review, our staff pride themselves on customer service and we put a lot of work into wine knowledge - not hard when you have a range of great wines at your disposal!
A whole new range of small parcel winemaker "freedom of expression" wines are now coming into the Cellar Door - would be worth another visit soon!
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Mount Pleasant Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

What an outstanding place! We stopped by Mount Pleasant Estate to do the vineyard tour. For only $5 we were walked through the whole wine making process and throughout the vineyard grounds. Our guide, Kurt, was very knowledgeable. As I don't know much about wine it was wonderful to be able to ask lots of questions and be walked through the whole tasting process too. We stayed on for lunch and were very pleasantly surprised by the delicious food and beautiful outlook. A definite highlight of my time in the Hunter!!!

Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hi Becky -well you certainly made the most of all our facilities and services! Great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed our winery tour - we pride ourselves on ensuring people are well and truly engaged, no matter what their level of wine knowledge.
And to finish off, a great meal with great views!
Come back again soon!!

Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We hadn't visited this cellar door for a couple of years and today's visit jogged the memory of just how excellent this place is - that is the staff, service, wine, glassware and value for money. I highly recommend a visit. Can't wait to take our friends next time to share this little gem.

Thank lady_lunchal0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hi and thanks for the review, we love it when all our efforts in providing great customer service all come together for a great customer experience. Look forward to seeing you and your friends next visit!
Cheers
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Whilst on a family outing to the Hunter Valley, we celebrated our parent’s 38th wedding anniversary at the Elizabeth Restaurant in Mt Pleasant. We all immensely enjoyed our lunch and impeccable service we received by Rebecca and staff. Also, our compliments go to the chef for our delicious meals. The great wines consumed, were recommended and complimented our meals superbly. What an amazing experience! It is a child friendly place as well, as the kids loved their meals and colouring activities provided. Looking forward to coming back soon!

Cheers and thank you all,

Joanne

1  Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Hi Joanne - thank you for your review of our estate and restaurant, and the kind comments on our staff. We are glad you enjoyed your time here - always happy to keep the kids happy to ensure the adults are even happier!
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Uncomplicated menu with a variety of food styles. On our visit, a "yummy" special dish of garlic king prawns accompanied with Jasmine Rice. A complimentary glass of their iconic Chardonnay finished the meal. Pleasant surroundings overlooking a section of the vineyard, and more importantly, friendly and attentive staff. "Chin chin"

Thank Mic_n_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at Mount Pleasant Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Hi- thanks for the review, it is a great time of year to sit on our verandah at Mount Pleasant and enjoy a meal and a glass of wine. The Garlic King Prawns with our Leontine Chardonnay has been very popular indeed - glad you enjoyed! See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Pleasant Estate also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Mount Pleasant Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing