We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Scott L
Brisbane, Australia

Comfortable and convenient

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 June 2024
The hotel is comfortable, the service is very good and the location is perfect for exploring the Hunter region. Our Superior King room was spacious with all the facilities required. The King bed and pillows were comfortable and the bathroom had a large bath and walk-in shower. We had dinner in the restaurant on one night and casual dinner in the bar and lounge on the other nights. The breakfast selection wide and included cereals and fruit, pancakes, hot meals and pastries. The hotel is centrally located in Pokolbin and close to wineries and other attractions such as the Hunter Valley Gardens.
Date of stay: June 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$212
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
AU$228
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.5 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lovedale
AU$329
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$329
1.7 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
AU$219
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
AU$192
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
6.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Arrival Drive
AU$227
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$227
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
AU$141
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Set on Bimbadgen's 50 year old vineyards on Palmers Lane
AU$300
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
2.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$252
  • Priceline
1.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath hunter valley gardens elements restaurant walking distance private courtyard shopping village reception staff buffet breakfast king bed hope estate central location two night stay wineries wedding hv cellar sydney
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2024

This was our last stop on our road trip and it was a delight.
Alex was really great in booking the room for us (a last minute decision). All staff are very well informed and helpful.
The accommodation is dispersed across the grounds and we really enjoyed being located a little way away from the other units.
Rooms are very spacious, neat and comfortable. Bathrooms are clean, spacious and have all the accessories required. There is a seating area just outside the room that overlooks their gardens. It is quiet and relaxing.
We really enjoyed using the sauna, pool and spa - so great to have these facilities available.
It is a short walk to the Hunter Valley Shopping Village and Hunter Valley Gardens.
A must visit.

Room tip: Keep in mind that many rooms have connecting doors and this can get quiet noisy if your neighbours are noisy.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarrenAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Stayed here for two nights on business.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating, smooth check in.
Room was quite large but was dated and had a dubious (in terms of cleanliness) cushion on the bed.
Bathroom cleaning was not great, hair from the previous occupant and other remnants left in the bathroom which didn't create a great impression.
Location is good and parking at the door is always a bonus.
not sure if I would stay again...

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2024

Back to our favourite hotel, this time to celebrate our 65th Wedding Anniversary!

We do love resorts, but as very senior seniors, some things have become most important to us, and our favourite room at Mercure Hunter Valley has all our needs. I now have mobility problems, just a walking stick so far, but very bad balance, and after a lifetime of travelling overseas and seeing the world on liners from 1956 till 2020 we are happy to live about an hour from Pokolbin, and experience a good hotel!!! This one now has our car handy at our front door, two lovely big beds, lots of space and a very good bathroom and best of all for my husband, a lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi right outside our back door, with a pleasant patio and lots of trees and greenery! And it is spotless to enjoy!

The breakfast buffet, another one of our very favourite travel musts is excellent, and though I normally order eggs done differently, this time I enjoyed the scrambled eggs twice!!! Wish I knew what chef puts in them to give that flavour and colour.

Staff here could not be more helpful and friendly, and I have made sure to bock our next visit for my 90th birthday!!! Many thanks Mercure Hunter Valley, see you soon!!!

Room tip: Enjoy!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank febenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for your feedback.
Happy Anniversary again! 65th is amazing!
We can't wait to have you back with us again.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

We had our ceremony and wedding reception at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley and we couldn’t have asked for anything more. The food and beverage package for us and our 16 guests were just superb. Danielle was our coordinator assigned to us for the night and there was nothing too hard and she went above and beyond the day after also. Our accommodation was faultless and although I concede it was getting on and needing refurbishment, it was clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this lovely venue for any couples looking to book a small wedding.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank marissat982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2023

We stayed recently for 3 nights. Check in was easy and all staff were very friendly. Yes, the place is getting dated but our room was nice and clean.The bed was comfortable, the TV worked well.
The dining room is quite small for such a big establishment, so first night we couldn't get a table. We wandered to The Wood Restaurant at Brokenwood Winery (10mins)
We didn't eat dinner the next night, we had a late lunch at Harrigans Irish Pub (20min walk)
Then on our last night there was 2 busses in house, so we walked across to Roche Estate (10mins) and dined at Oishii Thai/Japanese.
We did enjoy a few drinks at the bar each day tho.
We walked to Hunter Valley Gardens for the spectacular Christmas Lights Show (10mins)
We had an early pick up one morning for a Wine Tour so thought we'd have room service breakfast - only to find out room service is only available 12 midday to 8pm.
There's a fridge in the room but no mini bar and we were quite surprised that no Complimentary Water was provided in the room.
The best thing of this establishment is the location. Right next door is a small village with shops and some eateries etc.
We'd stay here again.


Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WenWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews