We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$218
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
AU$206
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
WarrenAus
Burleigh Heads, Australia

Well worth staying at the Mercure

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2024
This was our last stop on our road trip and it was a delight.
Alex was really great in booking the room for us (a last minute decision). All staff are very well informed and helpful.
The accommodation is dispersed across the grounds and we really enjoyed being located a little way away from the other units.
Rooms are very spacious, neat and comfortable. Bathrooms are clean, spacious and have all the accessories required. There is a seating area just outside the room that overlooks their gardens. It is quiet and relaxing.
We really enjoyed using the sauna, pool and spa - so great to have these facilities available.
It is a short walk to the Hunter Valley Shopping Village and Hunter Valley Gardens.
A must visit.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Keep in mind that many rooms have connecting doors and this can get quiet noisy if your...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lounge/Kitchenette
Booking.com
AU$529
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$434
  • Agoda.com
    AU$413
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$479
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$479
  • Agoda.com
    AU$345
  • Priceline
4.5 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
Priceline
AU$627
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$489
  • Hotels.com
    AU$489
  • Vio.com
    AU$499
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$388
  • Agoda.com
    AU$335
  • Priceline
    AU$355
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Arrival Drive
vocoHotels
AU$467
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$517
  • Priceline
    AU$517
  • Hotels.com
    AU$517
4.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Set on Bimbadgen's 50 year old vineyards on Palmers Lane
Booking.com
AU$391
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$405
  • Agoda.com
    AU$354
  • Hotels.com
    AU$405
2.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Booking.com
AU$227
  • Priceline
    AU$258
  • Vio.com
    AU$194
  • Hotels.com
    AU$290
1.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Lovedale
Booking.com
AU$429
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$429
  • Hotels.com
    AU$421
  • Priceline
    AU$429
1.7 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$292
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$237
  • Hotels.com
    AU$272
6.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
  • Trip.com
    AU$242
  • Booking.com
    AU$260
6.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
389
499
227
73
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
389
499
227
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath hunter valley gardens elements restaurant walking distance private courtyard shopping village reception staff buffet breakfast king bed hope estate central location two night stay wineries wedding hv cellar sydney
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Stayed here for two nights on business.
Staff were very friendly and accommodating, smooth check in.
Room was quite large but was dated and had a dubious (in terms of cleanliness) cushion on the bed.
Bathroom cleaning was not great, hair from the previous occupant and other remnants left in the bathroom which didn't create a great impression.
Location is good and parking at the door is always a bonus.
not sure if I would stay again...

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Warrens_of_Conder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2024

Back to our favourite hotel, this time to celebrate our 65th Wedding Anniversary!

We do love resorts, but as very senior seniors, some things have become most important to us, and our favourite room at Mercure Hunter Valley has all our needs. I now have mobility problems, just a walking stick so far, but very bad balance, and after a lifetime of travelling overseas and seeing the world on liners from 1956 till 2020 we are happy to live about an hour from Pokolbin, and experience a good hotel!!! This one now has our car handy at our front door, two lovely big beds, lots of space and a very good bathroom and best of all for my husband, a lovely swimming pool and jacuzzi right outside our back door, with a pleasant patio and lots of trees and greenery! And it is spotless to enjoy!

The breakfast buffet, another one of our very favourite travel musts is excellent, and though I normally order eggs done differently, this time I enjoyed the scrambled eggs twice!!! Wish I knew what chef puts in them to give that flavour and colour.

Staff here could not be more helpful and friendly, and I have made sure to bock our next visit for my 90th birthday!!! Many thanks Mercure Hunter Valley, see you soon!!!

Room tip: Enjoy!
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank febenine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Thank you for your feedback.
Happy Anniversary again! 65th is amazing!
We can't wait to have you back with us again.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

We had our ceremony and wedding reception at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley and we couldn’t have asked for anything more. The food and beverage package for us and our 16 guests were just superb. Danielle was our coordinator assigned to us for the night and there was nothing too hard and she went above and beyond the day after also. Our accommodation was faultless and although I concede it was getting on and needing refurbishment, it was clean and comfortable. We highly recommend this lovely venue for any couples looking to book a small wedding.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank marissat982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2023

We stayed recently for 3 nights. Check in was easy and all staff were very friendly. Yes, the place is getting dated but our room was nice and clean.The bed was comfortable, the TV worked well.
The dining room is quite small for such a big establishment, so first night we couldn't get a table. We wandered to The Wood Restaurant at Brokenwood Winery (10mins)
We didn't eat dinner the next night, we had a late lunch at Harrigans Irish Pub (20min walk)
Then on our last night there was 2 busses in house, so we walked across to Roche Estate (10mins) and dined at Oishii Thai/Japanese.
We did enjoy a few drinks at the bar each day tho.
We walked to Hunter Valley Gardens for the spectacular Christmas Lights Show (10mins)
We had an early pick up one morning for a Wine Tour so thought we'd have room service breakfast - only to find out room service is only available 12 midday to 8pm.
There's a fridge in the room but no mini bar and we were quite surprised that no Complimentary Water was provided in the room.
The best thing of this establishment is the location. Right next door is a small village with shops and some eateries etc.
We'd stay here again.


Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WenWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2023

I'm sure this hotel was nice a decade ago. Now it is in need of a renovation and a good clean. Our family had several rooms, one of which hadn't had the bathroom cleaned so cleaners had to be arranged to come back. My room had a broken cupboard door that wouldn't stay shut and needed a deep clean - there was dust and crumbs in the cupboard.

When we checked out another family member dropped our key cards off at reception for us. The man on reception called us and was very rude saying we hadn't paid an ugprade fee and for drinks we'd bought (and paid for) the previous day. We told him we already paid but he was rude, not listening to me when I insisted we paid and ignoring me when I said we were on the road to the airport and it wasn't an appropriate or safe time to talk. When we provided screenshots of our bank accounts proving we'd paid everything he was not particularly apologetic.

The gardens are beautiful and the pool/spa area is nice although the pool is freezing. There is a good gym as far as hotel gyms go.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2023

Dear Em,
Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not share this with us during your stay so we could resolve this for you. Certainly not ok to have these things missed in your room.
In regard to the refresh, it is currently underway but yes, we wish it was fully complete now too. TV's, beds, Lounges, outside tables have all been replaced. The external walls have all been repainted, roads resurfaced, Library, bar and restaurant furniture has been replaced and we have started working on bathrooms, desk chairs and our tiling around the hotel. It is certainly a process; we are proud of what we have been able to do but still a bit to go.
In regard to the receptionist, I can only apologise. This person does not work for us anymore and sadly in his last week this was the interaction with you. I cannot apologise enough.
I hope we can have you pass through again and show you far improved services for next time.
Thank you for sharing with us.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews