We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
S B

Badly needs renovation

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Oct 2023
The Staff we encountered were not friendly , over priced for what accommodation you get , outdated

Only thing nice about this place was the gardens … I do not recommend staying here , won’t be a repeat customer
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Premium Lodge Room
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$203
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$229
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
4.5 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
King verandah suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$280
  • Hotels.com
5.7 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$128
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
8.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Arrival Drive
Get rewarded with One Key
  • vocoHotels
    AU$203
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$179
  • Booking.com
4.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$328
  • Hotels.com
8.7 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
6.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$251
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$476
  • Hotels.com
9.2 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath hunter valley gardens elements restaurant walking distance private courtyard shopping village reception staff buffet breakfast king bed hope estate central location two night stay wineries wedding hv cellar sydney
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2023

Extremely dissappointed in this accomodation. Initially we were charged $718 for ONE NIGHT in a King Room with a Spa. My husband wanted to show me a lovely weekend away so was happy to pay it, if that was the price but for $718 our expectations were HIGH!
We walked into the room and it was normal to small size with just the bed and desk and a 2 seater lounge. There was a mini bar which was EMPTY! We are in the Hunter Valley! Where is the wine selection?? There wasnt even any bottled water in the fridge!! Ive stayed in $100 motels that even had water in the fridge!
I went looking for a tissue to blow my nose.... no tissues!!!
We paid an extra $100 for the spa which was amazing but we were still only provided with 2 towels! I would have expected at least 4 towels.
There was no extra toilet roll, just what was on the roll holder.
So to say we were blown away with dissappointment was an understatement!
The bed was comfortable, the shower and spa bath were wonderful, but those little luxuries you would expect for a $300 and over room were non existent! Even basics like water, tissues and an extra toilet roll.
I googled the motel on the apps to see what we were missing paying $718 for one night. My husband was told by a woman that booked him in that this was the weekend rate! So I googled the weekend rate for next weekend. The most expensive King Room was $370. Plus $100 extra for the spa which he was told was over and above the amount listed, Still only comes to $470 for a single night. No mention of a weekend rate.
I questioned it with the gentleman on duty and I quoted the prices shown on the app with my understanding that even with an exta $100 per room, it still didnt come to $718. He agreed we had been overcharged!! He gave us a $308 refund, but that room still cost us $410!!! With no toilet paper, no water, no tissues, just 2 towels when we paid an extra $100 for the spa bath.
If you want to stay in this place, dont expect to get anything that you might expect to be a normal service. Anything other than a bed and bathroom will cost extra. Terribly overpriced and terribly underserviced and dishonest in their charges!!!!

Room tip: Heads up about what you are getting for your money. Check your charges. Dont expect water in the bar fridge, bring your own, plus tissues.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jodi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2023 via mobile

My fourth stay at this resort.

We actually really like staying here. It’s well located next to the Hunter Valley Gardens.

The resort has a fantastic restaurant and bar. We had a lovely 2 course meal in Elements with outstanding service from Brodie.

The resort also has a wonderful pool area although the pool temperature is cold.

Our room was a spa king and the bed was super comfortable. It had a lovely little courtyard outside.

Resort is now getting on in age and it is reflected in the state of the furniture in the room (apart from the bed which was fantastic).

The curtains in our room could reallly have done with a clean.

Overall we had a lovely stay and will be back.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 584cassandral
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2023

Rude staff, badly in need of repairs, room not maintained. Outside patio was disgusting, breakfast plates left outside for days. Cut our stay short as it was not enjoyable at all. Emailed concerns and never received a reply. Not recommended .

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank G1112QVjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2023

Great hotel but terrible hostile management. The hotel room was lovely but not what we asked for. Ended up having to sleep on the sofa because someone at reception made a mistake and didn't allocate 2 beds, mistakes happen and that's okay but what made it a stressful experience was the horrible manager who implied we were lying and accepted no responsibility for their staff booking error, blaming it on anyone else including me as the customer. 10/10 for the events manager who managed to turn the bitter experience around, 10/10 for the facilities, 0/10 for the manager on duty!

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chantelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Thank you for your feedback Chantelle. I am sorry about how this was handled by the manager on duty. Delighted to hear however, that the team managed to turn this around and you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2023 via mobile

For an Accor property this was very disappointing- we had booked a romantic dinner and night in a king spa suite - what we got was not what is promoted on the website. I have to say the food while excellent and the staff service was also great the whole experience was let down by the cafeteria style restaurant loud, bright, where they served breakfast except they didn’t move any of the breakfast stuff they just covered it in sheets. No table cloths- nothing like the intimate Romantic dinning room portrayed on the website promotional pics- further our room had left off socks and half filled wine glasses from the previous guests, cobwebs galore and cakes on filthy dirt around the handles in the spa gross. I complained and they gave me an apology and $50 refund which is the room upgrade fee. The response from management has been generic and stated that th restaurant has been in the breakfast room for 6 years now!!! Perhaps they should update their website with more accurate pictures if that is the case very disappointing an Accor hotel

Room tip: good service from the reception and restaurant as well as delicious food but this is not a romantic dinner location better for loud groups a
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews