We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Chantelle T

Bitter sweet

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Aug 2023
Great hotel but terrible hostile management. The hotel room was lovely but not what we asked for. Ended up having to sleep on the sofa because someone at reception made a mistake and didn't allocate 2 beds, mistakes happen and that's okay but what made it a stressful experience was the horrible manager who implied we were lying and accepted no responsibility for their staff booking error, blaming it on anyone else including me as the customer. 10/10 for the events manager who managed to turn the bitter experience around, 10/10 for the facilities, 0/10 for the manager on duty!
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Thank you for your feedback Chantelle. I am sorry about how this was handled by the manager on duty. Delighted to hear however, that the team managed to turn this around and you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lounge/Kitchenette
Tripadvisor
AU$433
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
ZenHotels.com
AU$477
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$481
  • Trip.com
    AU$481
  • StayForLong
4.5 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$336
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
6.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Premium Lodge Room
Tripadvisor
AU$280
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
vocoHotels
AU$467
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$380
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Set on Bimbadgen's 50 year old vineyards on Palmers Lane
Tripadvisor
AU$405
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$405
2.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
Tripadvisor
AU$290
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
AU$272
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
6.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Guest room
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$510
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
389
499
227
73
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
389
499
227
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath hunter valley gardens elements restaurant walking distance private courtyard shopping village reception staff buffet breakfast king bed hope estate central location two night stay wineries wedding hv cellar sydney
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2023 via mobile

For an Accor property this was very disappointing- we had booked a romantic dinner and night in a king spa suite - what we got was not what is promoted on the website. I have to say the food while excellent and the staff service was also great the whole experience was let down by the cafeteria style restaurant loud, bright, where they served breakfast except they didn’t move any of the breakfast stuff they just covered it in sheets. No table cloths- nothing like the intimate Romantic dinning room portrayed on the website promotional pics- further our room had left off socks and half filled wine glasses from the previous guests, cobwebs galore and cakes on filthy dirt around the handles in the spa gross. I complained and they gave me an apology and $50 refund which is the room upgrade fee. The response from management has been generic and stated that th restaurant has been in the breakfast room for 6 years now!!! Perhaps they should update their website with more accurate pictures if that is the case very disappointing an Accor hotel

Room tip: good service from the reception and restaurant as well as delicious food but this is not a romantic dinner location better for loud groups a
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 August 2023

The Reception person was brusque and seemed to want to be elsewhere
The restaurant was like an episode out of Faulty Towers and the food very ordinary.
In the room the bathroom sink was blocked, the sheer curtain had been removed and the main curtain was grubby and torn. There was an unpleasant odour coming from the settee .On trying to phone the Office the phone continually gave an engaged signal, but after going to the office the Receptionist person was not on the phone
The whole place needs renovation. Somewhere I saw the Hotel is owned by Mr Roche who should be able to do something The worst hotel experience I can recall

Room tip: Do not go there before they renovate and employ some able, pleasant people
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Getaway28866811133
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2023

Thank you again for your feedback Graeme.
I have responded to your other feedback post. I apologise again for your personal experience.
But for this platform, I should point out that this is out of character feedback about our team and they were quite upset you felt this way despite their best efforts to accommodation your needs. The ongoing renovations happening at the moment, should show you what we are doing with the hotel as noted in my other correspondence.
Kind regards
Julie At Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2023 via mobile

The location is good, next to the Hunter Valley Gardens.
We had drinks from the bar in the lounge and then dinner at The Elements restaurant which was a fantastic experience. The food, service and atmosphere were great and very relaxing. We had a wonderful night.

Room tip: There is plenty of parking. I would recommend booking before.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CCBathrooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2023

Thank you for your feedback.
Delighted you had a lovely time.
See you in the Hunter again soon.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2023

This hotel was designated as the stay for a work project and I had four separate stays here in May.

I found the check in process varied each time. The first two visits my Gold Status was not recognised though my number was in the system.
I found the staff member 'In Training' - a young women - provided the best front of house service I received the entire time, and it was the younger staff generally who outshine the more senior at this hotel - particular mention of Lauren (?) and the young man who worked the bar and delivered room service.

The rooms were sizeable and clean, as with most Accor hotels, the beds comfy, offering a good night sleep.

This property has a large library / meeting room for guests to gather and that was helpful for work breifings /debreifings.

It's well located in terms of what the Hunter offers in terms of wineries nearby.

There's also aa quaint shopping centre next door, with local crafts and eateries.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2023

Thank you for your feedback Anitah469.

A really good look at our reception desk from your perspective is very helpful. Thank you.

Delighted you had a lovely stay and hope to see you back in the hunter soon for work or play.

Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2023

Stopped over night while in the Hunter Valley on business. I used the hotel as a business point & not a resort and in this regard I found the mi-week pricing fine, the wifi quick & reliable and the room comfortable and well appointed.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews