We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$227
Expedia.com
AU$227
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$215
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Anita H
Brisbane, Australia

Comfortable stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 June 2023
This hotel was designated as the stay for a work project and I had four separate stays here in May.

I found the check in process varied each time. The first two visits my Gold Status was not recognised though my number was in the system.
I found the staff member 'In Training' - a young women - provided the best front of house service I received the entire time, and it was the younger staff generally who outshine the more senior at this hotel - particular mention of Lauren (?) and the young man who worked the bar and delivered room service.

The rooms were sizeable and clean, as with most Accor hotels, the beds comfy, offering a good night sleep.

This property has a large library / meeting room for guests to gather and that was helpful for work breifings /debreifings.

It's well located in terms of what the Hunter offers in terms of wineries nearby.

There's also aa quaint shopping centre next door, with local crafts and eateries.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this review
Responded 14 June 2023
Thank you for your feedback Anitah469.

A really good look at our reception desk from your perspective is very helpful. Thank you.

Delighted you had a lovely stay and hope to see you back in the hunter soon for work or play.

Kind regards
Julie at Mercure
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lounge/Kitchenette
Booking.com
AU$529
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$434
  • Agoda.com
    AU$425
  • Expedia.com
    AU$433
3.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$259
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$241
  • Expedia.com
    AU$340
6.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Guest room
Booking.com
AU$490
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$489
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$489
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$399
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$364
  • Agoda.com
    AU$344
  • Expedia.com
    AU$381
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
vocoHotels
AU$467
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$517
  • Hotels.com
    AU$517
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Set on Bimbadgen's 50 year old vineyards on Palmers Lane
Booking.com
AU$393
  • Expedia.com
    AU$405
  • Agoda.com
    AU$350
  • Hotels.com
    AU$405
2.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Booking.com
AU$225
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$205
  • Expedia.com
    AU$290
1.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$286
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$243
  • Hotels.com
    AU$272
6.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$479
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
4.5 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Official Site
    AU$429
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
1.7 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
389
499
227
73
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
389
499
227
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath hunter valley gardens elements restaurant walking distance private courtyard shopping village reception staff buffet breakfast king bed hope estate central location two night stay wineries wedding hv cellar sydney
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2023

Stopped over night while in the Hunter Valley on business. I used the hotel as a business point & not a resort and in this regard I found the mi-week pricing fine, the wifi quick & reliable and the room comfortable and well appointed.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2023

Having completed my review out of absolute frustration, I am now happy to report that my points have been correctly deducted and my credit card reversed. Thank you Julie and Karen. Apart from the points experience, I made it clear that we had been very happy with our stay. Our room was lovely and had been refurbished, the gardens very impressive, our meals at Elegant restaurant were superb and all the staff we met were lovely. Pool was very welcoming. Location in the Hunter Valley just perfect and there were enough Vineyards close by to keep you busy. Would be equally as nice in Winter with the spa pool too.

Room tip: We had an end unit ground floor with a lovely patio area.
Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank helensroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2023

Delighted we could help you with this Helen.
Also happy to hear about your lovely stay.
See you in the hunter again soon.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2023

Apart from the bed being clean and comfortable, which I guess is the main thing my room 102 was still living in the 1990’s even had the original curtains and dark brown furniture that wouldn’t have looked out of place in my grandmothers house. As another guest commented my bathroom sink drain was blocked also and smelt horrible. The resort itself would have been something in its heyday but its now dark and dingy. The upside is it’s close to the vineyards, hunter valley gardens and Harrigans Irish Pub.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Sydneyfamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thankyou for your feedback. We have just replaced our beds, lounge suites and outdoor tables this past year. Currently rolling out some bathroom improvements, painting and an upgrade to our soft furnishings in our lounge and bar. While we will keep our wooden lodge feel deliberately, we hope this freshen up will compliment modern and classic tastes.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2023

We were in a room with damaged paint work and curtains and not one coat hanger.
Management didn’t see this as a problem and another guest suggested a trip to Bunnings.
Meanwhile, friends were upgraded to a suite that was fabulous, definitely 4-5 stars.

Room tip: Ask for an updated ground floor room. Or suite.
Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank k0vchenk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback k0vchenk0.
I do currently have the rooms getting an upgrade the next two months, but this takes time. No sure why your room did not have coat hangers on arrival, this must have been an oversight by our housekeeping team that they have now rectified.
It seems that you were discussing this with a Guest service staff member not our management team, our team wear coat as part of their uniform, I apologise they did not elevate your feedback to a manager to solve for you. Hopefully you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2023

Stayed here with family for a night while going on a wine tour in Hunter Valley. The hotel itself is OK, the restaurant and breakfast was good, nice service. The rooms are somewhat dated and could do with an upgrade. The worst part, is the location of the rooms, all with outside corridors which were quite dirty and various insects and such on the floors. It gave the hotel a cheap motel feeling.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheGypsyClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback.
Delighted you had a lovely stay.
We are looking forward to our upgrades this year to our rooms, particularly our bathrooms. Would love for you to see them when you next travel.
Our outdoor structure, however, won't change, we like to loop with the gardens around our rooms to connect you with our display gardens.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews