We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
dru842
Menai, Australia

Overnighting in the Hunter

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Apr 2023
Stopped over night while in the Hunter Valley on business. I used the hotel as a business point & not a resort and in this regard I found the mi-week pricing fine, the wifi quick & reliable and the room comfortable and well appointed.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Premium Lodge Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$203
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$228
  • Booking.com
4.5 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$128
  • Algotels
0.2 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
King verandah suite
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$278
  • Hotels.com
5.7 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Arrival Drive
Get rewarded with One Key
  • vocoHotels
    AU$203
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$179
  • Booking.com
4.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$244
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$328
  • Hotels.com
8.7 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$154
  • Hotels.com
6.4 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$248
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$476
  • Hotels.com
9.2 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,245)
Filter reviews
1,245 results
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
390
499
227
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath hunter valley gardens elements restaurant walking distance private courtyard shopping village reception staff buffet breakfast king bed hope estate central location two night stay wineries wedding hv cellar sydney
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,245 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2023

Having completed my review out of absolute frustration, I am now happy to report that my points have been correctly deducted and my credit card reversed. Thank you Julie and Karen. Apart from the points experience, I made it clear that we had been very happy with our stay. Our room was lovely and had been refurbished, the gardens very impressive, our meals at Elegant restaurant were superb and all the staff we met were lovely. Pool was very welcoming. Location in the Hunter Valley just perfect and there were enough Vineyards close by to keep you busy. Would be equally as nice in Winter with the spa pool too.

Room tip: We had an end unit ground floor with a lovely patio area.
Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank helensroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2023

Delighted we could help you with this Helen.
Also happy to hear about your lovely stay.
See you in the hunter again soon.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2023

Apart from the bed being clean and comfortable, which I guess is the main thing my room 102 was still living in the 1990’s even had the original curtains and dark brown furniture that wouldn’t have looked out of place in my grandmothers house. As another guest commented my bathroom sink drain was blocked also and smelt horrible. The resort itself would have been something in its heyday but its now dark and dingy. The upside is it’s close to the vineyards, hunter valley gardens and Harrigans Irish Pub.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Sydneyfamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thankyou for your feedback. We have just replaced our beds, lounge suites and outdoor tables this past year. Currently rolling out some bathroom improvements, painting and an upgrade to our soft furnishings in our lounge and bar. While we will keep our wooden lodge feel deliberately, we hope this freshen up will compliment modern and classic tastes.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2023

We were in a room with damaged paint work and curtains and not one coat hanger.
Management didn’t see this as a problem and another guest suggested a trip to Bunnings.
Meanwhile, friends were upgraded to a suite that was fabulous, definitely 4-5 stars.

Room tip: Ask for an updated ground floor room. Or suite.
Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank k0vchenk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback k0vchenk0.
I do currently have the rooms getting an upgrade the next two months, but this takes time. No sure why your room did not have coat hangers on arrival, this must have been an oversight by our housekeeping team that they have now rectified.
It seems that you were discussing this with a Guest service staff member not our management team, our team wear coat as part of their uniform, I apologise they did not elevate your feedback to a manager to solve for you. Hopefully you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2023

Stayed here with family for a night while going on a wine tour in Hunter Valley. The hotel itself is OK, the restaurant and breakfast was good, nice service. The rooms are somewhat dated and could do with an upgrade. The worst part, is the location of the rooms, all with outside corridors which were quite dirty and various insects and such on the floors. It gave the hotel a cheap motel feeling.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheGypsyClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback.
Delighted you had a lovely stay.
We are looking forward to our upgrades this year to our rooms, particularly our bathrooms. Would love for you to see them when you next travel.
Our outdoor structure, however, won't change, we like to loop with the gardens around our rooms to connect you with our display gardens.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2023 via mobile

There is a certain level of expectation for a room rate of $289 per night

Positives:

Good location, friendly staff, great pool area

Negatives:

Very small & uncomfortable double beds. I am 175cm tall & my hubby is 185cm, average sized and our feet were hanging off the end of the bed. The mattress was hard and uncomfortable so not a nice sleep. Not too bad for 2 kids sharing but not adults. I recently stayed at a Rydges Hotel (lower nightly room rate but they had the best mattresses, hence a good nights rest and no aching back the next morning).

Also the room is very dark & dated, scuff marks on the walls & bathroom cabinetry damaged. Shampoo ran out after 1 shower. Also the verandas and stairs need a good clean, not very welcoming. So overall quite disappointed with the value for money.

Having just read through other reviews I’m now wondering if we will be refunded our $10 credit card hold.

So note to self, read the reviews before booking

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank wendym404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2023

Thank you for your feedback. Delighted you had a nice time.

We have new beds in the room, but it is hard to satisfy all tastes. Our Accor experience beds, can be complimented with an additional topper if you prefer as slightly softer bed. Something to speak to us about when next you travel.

This year we are doing a painting refresh of our hotel, look out for this improvement.

The $10 pre authorisation is refunded by the banking institution you bank with. Should be no more than 7-10 days depending on the institution.

Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews