We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$208
Expedia.com
AU$208
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
AU$208
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sydneyfamily04
Sydney
Needs a huge makeover
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Feb 2023
Apart from the bed being clean and comfortable, which I guess is the main thing my room 102 was still living in the 1990’s even had the original curtains and dark brown furniture that wouldn’t have looked out of place in my grandmothers house. As another guest commented my bathroom sink drain was blocked also and smelt horrible. The resort itself would have been something in its heyday but its now dark and dingy. The upside is it’s close to the vineyards, hunter valley gardens and Harrigans Irish Pub.
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$263
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$263
  • Expedia.com
    AU$263
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge/Kitchenette
Booking.com
AU$251
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
  • Agoda.com
    AU$176
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Outdoor firepit
Booking.com
AU$299
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$299
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$299
1.8 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$242
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$249
  • Agoda.com
    AU$207
  • Expedia.com
    AU$249
4.5 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
Booking.com
AU$263
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$263
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$263
1.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$168
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$144
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
6.3 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
Harrigan's Hunter Valley
Booking.com
AU$124
  • Expedia.com
    AU$144
  • Agoda.com
    AU$107
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
vocoHotels
AU$224
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$224
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$224
  • Priceline
4.0 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$242
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$262
  • Agoda.com
    AU$212
  • Hotels.com
    AU$263
2.1 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Booking.com
AU$192
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$148
  • Hotels.com
    AU$197
7.9 km from Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (1,244)
Filter reviews
1,244 results
Traveller rating
389
499
227
73
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
389
499
227
73
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunken bath hunter valley gardens elements restaurant walking distance private courtyard shopping village reception staff buffet breakfast king bed hope estate central location two night stay wineries wedding hv cellar sydney
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,244 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2023

We were in a room with damaged paint work and curtains and not one coat hanger.
Management didn’t see this as a problem and another guest suggested a trip to Bunnings.
Meanwhile, friends were upgraded to a suite that was fabulous, definitely 4-5 stars.

Room tip: Ask for an updated ground floor room. Or suite.
Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank k0vchenk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback k0vchenk0.
I do currently have the rooms getting an upgrade the next two months, but this takes time. No sure why your room did not have coat hangers on arrival, this must have been an oversight by our housekeeping team that they have now rectified.
It seems that you were discussing this with a Guest service staff member not our management team, our team wear coat as part of their uniform, I apologise they did not elevate your feedback to a manager to solve for you. Hopefully you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2023

Stayed here with family for a night while going on a wine tour in Hunter Valley. The hotel itself is OK, the restaurant and breakfast was good, nice service. The rooms are somewhat dated and could do with an upgrade. The worst part, is the location of the rooms, all with outside corridors which were quite dirty and various insects and such on the floors. It gave the hotel a cheap motel feeling.

Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TheGypsyClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2023

Thank you for your feedback.
Delighted you had a lovely stay.
We are looking forward to our upgrades this year to our rooms, particularly our bathrooms. Would love for you to see them when you next travel.
Our outdoor structure, however, won't change, we like to loop with the gardens around our rooms to connect you with our display gardens.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2023 via mobile

There is a certain level of expectation for a room rate of $289 per night

Positives:

Good location, friendly staff, great pool area

Negatives:

Very small & uncomfortable double beds. I am 175cm tall & my hubby is 185cm, average sized and our feet were hanging off the end of the bed. The mattress was hard and uncomfortable so not a nice sleep. Not too bad for 2 kids sharing but not adults. I recently stayed at a Rydges Hotel (lower nightly room rate but they had the best mattresses, hence a good nights rest and no aching back the next morning).

Also the room is very dark & dated, scuff marks on the walls & bathroom cabinetry damaged. Shampoo ran out after 1 shower. Also the verandas and stairs need a good clean, not very welcoming. So overall quite disappointed with the value for money.

Having just read through other reviews I’m now wondering if we will be refunded our $10 credit card hold.

So note to self, read the reviews before booking

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank wendym404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2023

Thank you for your feedback. Delighted you had a nice time.

We have new beds in the room, but it is hard to satisfy all tastes. Our Accor experience beds, can be complimented with an additional topper if you prefer as slightly softer bed. Something to speak to us about when next you travel.

This year we are doing a painting refresh of our hotel, look out for this improvement.

The $10 pre authorisation is refunded by the banking institution you bank with. Should be no more than 7-10 days depending on the institution.

Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2023 via mobile

We are a family of 4 (including 2 young children) and stayed one night. There are a few improvements which could be done, change the twin rooms to have queens beds or at least one queen bed as double beds are pretty small for 2 adults, clean the balcony area, and decal the shower heads. We didn't eat dinner at the restaurant as did feel it catered for children. Otherwise the room was overall comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, we got to check-in early, breakfast was awesome, the gardens are gorgeous, and from the kids point of view the free games room rocked!

Room tip: We were in The Hunter to visit the Hunter Valley Gardens and compared to the last time we went at NYE, mid Jan was much more relaxed as less people.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2023

Thank you for your feedback, Tanya.
Highlight recommend with small children trying our king rooms with a sofa bed. Works nicely and gives the adults a bit of extra room.
We have just done a decal on the shower screens, yes, they were due, I apologise.
Thank you for your information and hope to see you again sooner.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2023

Can't say enough about how lovely and helpful the staff were. All had good energy and genuine smile without being too intrusive and overservicing. The food for dinner and breakfast was great value. The location is brilliant with easy access to the Hunter Valley Gardens shopping village and the gardens in general. Sunday morning I had the pleasure of watching the Balloon Tours prepare and leave across the road. The gardens and surrounds are fantastic and proximity to the wineries and fudge factory perfect. The only blemish in the experience was the scent of cleaning products after each room servicing. But at the same time reassuring that they are doing a good job cleaning post pandemic. Great stay and would definitely recommend to my friends.

Room tip: There is no minibar so feel free to shop at the local winderies for your checuterie and mini-bottles of wine. De Bortoli is close by.
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank davor f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julie Pettit, General Manager at Mercure Hunter Valley Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2023

Thank you for your feedback Davorf2014.
Delighted you had a lovely time at Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens and the Hunter Valley.
See you again soon.
Kind regards
Julie at Mercure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews